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GUIDING DECISION 
 

BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 

 

PETITIONER, 

 

 Petitioner, 

 

vs. 

 

SALT LAKE COUNTY COUNCIL-TAX 

ADMINISTRATION PROPERTY TAX 

COMMITTEE, STATE OF UTAH, 

 

 Respondent.  

 

 

 

INITIAL HEARING ORDER  
 

Appeal No.    13-363 

 

Parcel No.  ##### 

Tax Type:      Circuit Breaker   

    Tax Year:      2012 

   

 

Judge:             Phan  

 

  Presiding: 

 Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge 

Appearances: 

 For Petitioner:  PETITIONER, By Telephone 

 For Respondent:  RESPONDENT, Deputy Salt Lake County Attorney 

  

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing in accordance with Utah 

Code §59-1-502.5, on December 12, 2013.  Petitioner (“Property Owner”) is appealing the 

decision of Respondent (“County”) to disallow a Circuit Breaker/Tax Abatement rebate for the 

2012 tax year. The Property Owner had timely applied for the rebate and it was denied by the 

County on the basis that the Property Owner’s household income was over the statutory limit.  

The Property Owner appealed the decision to the Utah State Tax Commission.  

APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah Code 59-2-1208(1)(a) provides for a homeowner’s credit for low income residents 

in pertinent part:  

“for calendar years beginning on or after January 1, 2007, a claimant may claim a 

homeowner’s credit that does not exclude the following amounts: 

If household income is  Homeowner’s credit 

$0 - $9,159   $798 

$9,160 - $12,214  $696 

$12,215 - $15,266  $597 
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$15,267 - $18,319  $447 

$18,320 - $21,374  $348 

$21,375 - $24,246  $199 

$24,247 - $26,941  $98 

 

Utah Code 59-2-1202(5) defines “Household income” as, “all income received by all 

persons of a household in: (a) the calendar year preceding the calendar year in which property 

taxes are due: or (b) for purposes of the renter’s credit authorized by this part, the year for which 

a claim is filed. 

Utah Code 59-2-1202(6) then defines “income” to be, “(6)(a)(i) “Income” means the sum 

of: (A) federal adjusted gross income as defined in Section 62, Internal Revenue Code; and (B) 

all nontaxable income as defined in Subsection (6)(b) . . . (b) For purposes of Subsection 6(a)(i), 

“nontaxable income” means amounts excluded from adjusted gross income under the Internal 

Revenue Code including: . . . (viii) payments received under the Social Security Act; . . .  

 

DISCUSSION 

In this matter the Property Owner had timely filed an application for the circuit breaker 

rebate for the 2012 tax year. The amount of the rebate is based on the “household income,” as 

defined in Utah Code 59-2-1202 for the prior year.  In determining household income based on 

the statutory definition the County must consider the adjusted gross income which the Property 

Owner had claimed on her return for the prior year and add to that her nontaxable Social Security 

benefits.  In this matter the County calculated that the Property Owner’s household income for 

purposes of the rebate was $$$$$, based on $$$$$ in adjusted gross income on the 2011 federal 

return and $$$$$ of nontaxable Social Security benefits for 2011.  This household income was 

over the amount set by statute for the circuit breaker rebate and the County had denied the rebate. 

At the hearing the Property Owner explained that she had filed the request because she 

did have substantial financial hardship based on her limited income and her expenses including 

the property taxes and other expenses associated with the residence.  She explained that she was 

not able to keep up with all the expenses so she had sold her residence in July 2013 and had 

moved into an apartment.  She did not dispute the County’s conclusion regarding the amount of 

her household income or provide any further argument for her request.   

It was the County’s position that based on the express statutory provisions set out Utah 

Code 59-2-1201 et al, the Property Owner did not qualify for the credit because her household 

income was over the limit set out in those provisions and the provisions do not allow the County 

to take into consideration the Property Owner’s expenses.  



Appeal No. 13-363 

 

 3 

 

After reviewing the law and the facts in this matter, the Property Owner did not qualify 

for the credit for the 2012 tax year and her application was properly denied by the County.    

  

   Jane Phan 

   Administrative Law Judge 

 

DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing, the Commission denies the Property Owner’s appeal in this 

matter.  It is so ordered.    

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision 

and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this 

case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a 

Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the 

Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 

 Appeals Division 

 210 North 1950 West 

 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

  

DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2014. 

 

 

 

 

R. Bruce Johnson  D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 

Commission Chair  Commissioner 

 

 

 

 

Michael J. Cragun  Robert P. Pero 

Commissioner      Commissioner   
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