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BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION

TAXPAYER, INITIAL HEARING ORDER
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Tax Types: Sales and Use Tax /
Tourism (Restaurant) Tax

Audit Period:  10/01/09 — 07/31/12

Judge: Chapman

AUDITING DIVISION OF THE
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION,

Respondent.

Presiding:
Kerry Chapman, Administrative Law Judge

Appearances:
For Petitioner: TAXPAYER, Taxpayer (by telephone)
For Respondent: REPRESENTATIVE FOR RESPONDENT, Utah Assistant Attorney General
RESPONDENT-1, from Auditing Division
RESPONDENT-2, from Auditing Division

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the
provisions of Utah Code Ann. 859-1-502.5, on April 9, 2014.

TAXPAYER (“Petitioner” or “taxpayer”) has appealed the Auditing Division’s (“Division”)
assessment of sales and use tax and tourism (restaurant) tax for the period October 1, 2009 through July 31,
2012 (“audit period”). On December 28, 2012, the Division issued a Statutory Notice — Sales and Use Tax
(“Statutory Notice), in which it imposed additional sales and use tax, tourism (restaurant) tax, and interest

(calculated through January 27, 2013)" for the audit period, as follows:

1 Interest continues to accrue until any tax liability is paid.
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Tax Type Tax Penalties Interest Total
Sales and Use $E$$$ P55 $$$3$ $$5$$
Tourism (Restaurant) $$5$% $$3$$ $$33$ $$33$

The taxpayer does not contest the $$$$$ of sales and use tax that the Division assessed. He only
contests the Division’s assessment of $$$$$ of tourism (restaurant) tax, as shown on Schedule 3 of the
Statutory Notice.? The taxpayer admits that his records will show that he charged and collected $$$$$ of
restaurant tax from his customers that he did not remit to the Tax Commission. However, he believes that he
was justified in not remitting this tax and that in the interest of fairness, the Commission should reverse this
portion of the Division’s assessment.

The taxpayer operates a BUSINESS in CITY-1, Utah as a sole proprietorship. Most of the items that
the taxpayer sells are subject to both sales and use tax and restaurant tax. However, a few of the items that he
sells are subject to sales and use tax, but not restaurant tax. The taxpayer explained that until recently, his
cash registers were not capable of charging more than one tax rate. As aresult, the taxpayer charged a single
tax rate that included both the sales and use ax rate and the restaurant tax rate on all of his sales, including
those not subject to restaurant taxation. For those transactions not subject to restaurant taxation, the taxpayer
remitted the sales and use taxes he had charged and collected from his customers. However, he did not remit
the restaurant tax he had also charged and collected from these customers.

The Division does not contest the taxpayer’s assertion that the transactions at issue were not subject
to restaurant taxation. However, because the taxpayer’s customers paid “excess” restaurant taxes, the
Division argues that Utah law requires the taxpayer to either refund these excess taxes to the customers or
remit the excess taxes to the Tax Commission. Because the taxpayer has not refunded these excess restaurant
taxes to the customers, the Division asks the Commission to sustain its restaurant tax assessment. The

Division points out that the policy of requiring a seller to remit excess taxes is needed because the Tax

2 The tourism (restaurant) tax will be referred to as the “restaurant tax” in the remainder of the decision.
-2
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Commission would have refunded the restaurant tax directly to any customer who submitted a refund request
along with their receipt that showed that they were improperly charged restaurant tax on their transaction.

The taxpayer stated that he was aware that his cash registers would not accommodate the dual rate of
taxation. As a result, he claims he had to collect restaurant tax on all transactions. However, to ensure that
customers who were not lawfully subject to the restaurant tax were not harmed, he claims that he did not
increase prices on items not subject to restaurant tax as much for inflation as he increased prices on items that
were subject to the tax. As aresult of these “artificially low” prices, he claims that his customers who bought
items not subject to restaurant taxation actually paid the same “total amount” that they would have paid had
he increased the items’ prices and not charged restaurant tax. For these reasons, he kept the restaurant tax on
these transactions to compensate himself for keeping the prices on these items artificially low. The taxpayer
contends that this approach was fair because the Tax Commission received the restaurant tax that was
lawfully due and because his customers paid the same total price they would have had to pay had his cash
registers been able to accommodate dual taxation rates. For these reasons, the taxpayer believes that it is only
fair that the Tax Commission overturn that portion of the Division’s audit imposing restaurant taxes.

APPLICABLE LAW

1. Utah Code Ann. §59-12-103(1) (2012)3 provides for the imposition of sales and use tax on
certain transactions, as follows in pertinent part:

(1) Ataxisimposed on the purchaser as provided in this part for amounts paid or charged

for the following transactions:

() retail sales of tangible personal property made within the state;

(e) sales of prepared food,;

2. UCA 859-12-603(1)(a)(ii) imposes a restaurant tax on sales of certain items sold by a

restaurant, as follows:

3 All citations are to the 2012 version of the Utah Code and the Utah Administrative Code, unless
-3-
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(1)(a)(ii) a county legislative body of any county may impose a tax of not to exceed 1% of
all sales of the following that are sold by a restaurant:

(A) alcoholic beverages;
(B) food and food ingredients; or
(C) prepared food[.]
3. Section 59-12-603(7)(a)(i) provides that the restaurant tax “shall be administered, collected,
and enforced in accordance with: (A) the same procedures used to administer, collect, and enforce the tax

under: (1) Part 1, Tax Collection; or (II) Part 2, Local Sales and Use Tax Act; and (B) Chapter 1, General

Taxation Policies.”

4. UCA 859-12-107(3) provides for a seller to remit taxes it collects to the Tax Commission,

even if it collects an amount in excess of the taxes that are due, as follows in pertinent part:

(e) Taxes collected by a seller pursuant to this chapter shall be held in trust for the benefit of
the state and for payment to the commission in the manner and at the time provided for in
this chapter.

(F) If any seller, during any reporting period, collects as a tax an amount in excess of the
lawful state and local percentage of total taxable sales allowed under this chapter, the seller
shall remit to the commission the full amount of the tax imposed under this chapter, plus any

eXCess.

5. Utah Admin. Rule R865-19S-4(5) (“Rule 4”) provides that ““[a] seller that collects an excess
amount of sales or use tax must either refund the excess to the purchasers from whom the seller collected the
excess or remit the excess to the commission.”

6. Utah Admin. Rule R865-19S-16(A) (“Rule 16”) provides for the remittance of excess tax
collections, as follows in pertinent part:

A. The amount paid by any vendor to the Tax Commission with each return is the greater of:

1. the actual tax collections for the reporting period, or

2. the amount computed at the rates imposed by law against the total taxable sales for
that period.

otherwise indicated.
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7. UCA 859-1-1417 (2013) provides that the burden of proof is generally upon the petitioner in
proceedings before the Commission, with limited exceptions as follows:

(1) Ina proceeding before the commission, the burden of proof is on the petitioner except for

determining the following, in which the burden of proof is on the commission:
(a) whether the petitioner committed fraud with intent to evade a tax, fee, or charge;
(b) whether the petitioner is obligated as the transferee of property of the person that
originally owes a liability or a preceding transferee, but not to show that the person that
originally owes a liability is obligated for the liability; and
(c) whether the petitioner is liable for an increase in a deficiency if the increase is
asserted initially after a notice of deficiency is mailed in accordance with Section 59-1-
1405 and a petition under Part 5, Petitions for Redetermination of Deficiencies, is filed,
unless the increase in the deficiency is the result of a change or correction of federal
taxable income:

(i) required to be reported; and

(ii) of which the commission has no notice at the time the commission mails the
notice of deficiency.

DISCUSSION

The taxpayer claims that the restaurant tax assessment has arisen because he charged and collected
restaurant tax on sales that were not subject to this tax. The receipts for these sales showed that the taxpayer’s
customers were charged a tax rate that improperly included the restaurant tax. Accordingly, the taxpayer
charged excess restaurant taxes to some of his customers. Section 59-12-107(3)(e) provides that where a
seller collects excess tax (which includes restaurant tax), the seller will either refund the excess tax to its
customers or remit the excess tax to the Tax Commission.* Because the taxpayer has not refunded the excess
restaurant taxes to his customers, Utah law requires him to remit the taxes to the Tax Commission, which he
also has not done. Accordingly, the Division properly imposed restaurant taxes on the taxpayer.

The taxpayer explained that he collected the excess restaurant taxes and kept them in an attempt to

rectify the inability of his cash registers to accommodate more than one tax rate. The taxpayer’s actions,

4 See also Rule 4(5) and Rule 16(A). Moreover, Section 59-12-603(7)(a)(i) provides that the restaurant
tax will be administered, collected, and enforced with the same procedures used to administer, collect, and
enforce sales and use tax.
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however, are not permissible under Utah law. His customers have paid the restaurant taxes at issue. As a
result, he must either refund the tax to his customers or remit it to the Tax Commission. Because he has done

neither, the Division’s audit assessment should be sustained in its entirety.

Kerry R. Chapman
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission sustains the Division’s audit in its entirety. It isso ordered.
This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision and Order
will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written
request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a request
shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal
number:
Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2014,
R. Bruce Johnson D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commission Chair Commissioner
Michael J. Cragun Robert P. Pero
Commissioner Commissioner
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Notice: If a Formal Hearing is not requested as discussed above, failure to pay the balance resulting from this
order within thirty (30) days from the date of this order may result in a late payment penalty.



