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PETITIONER        INITIAL HEARING ORDER 

  

Petitioner,  Appeal No.  12-2021 

  

v.   Tax Type:  Advertisement/Dealership Violations 

MOTOR VEHICLE ENFORCEMENT  

DIVISION OF THE UTAH STATE  

TAX COMMISSION, 

 Judge:  Phan 

Respondent. 

  

________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Presiding: 

Jane Phan, Administrative Judge 

        

Appearances: 

For Petitioner:  REPRESENTATIVE FOR PETITIONER, By Telephone  

For Respondent:  RESPONDENT, Assistant Director, Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division 

 

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing in accordance with Utah Code §59-1-

502.5, on August 28, 2012.  Petitioner (“Dealership”) is appealing a $1,000 penalty imposed by Respondent 

(Division) for a violation under Utah Code §41-3-210 and Utah Admin. Rule R877-23V-7.  This was the 

second Level III violation within twelve months. 

APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah Code §41-3-210 prohibits a motor vehicle dealer from conducting certain acts, as follows: 

(1)The holder of any license issued under this chapter may not… 

 

(b)   intentionally publish, display, or circulate any advertising without identifying the seller 

as the licensee by including in the advertisement the full name under which the licensee is 

licensed or the licensee’s number assigned by the division; 
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 . . . 

 

(g)  engage in a business respecting the selling or exchanging of new or new and used motor 

vehicles for which he is not licensed, including selling or exchanging a  new motor vehicle for 

which the licensee does not have a franchise, but this Subsection (1)(g) does not apply to a 

special equipment dealer who sells a new special equipment motor vehicle with a gross 

vehicle weight of 12,000 or more pounds after installing special equipment on the motor 

vehicle;  

        . . . 

 

 (t)    sell, display for sale, offer for sale, or exchange any new motor vehicle if the licensee 

does not: (i) have a new motor vehicle dealer’s license under Section 41-2-202; and (ii) 

possess a franchise from the manufacturer of the new motor vehicle sold, displayed for sale, 

offered for sale, or exchanged by the licensee;    

.  .  . 

 

 Utah Code §41-3-702 provides civil penalties for violations: 

(1) The following are civil violations under this chapter and are in addition to criminal 

violations under this chapter: (c) Level III:  .  .  . (ii) selling a new motor vehicle without 

holding the franchise; . . .  (iv) selling from an unlicensed location; (vii) assisting an 

unlicensed dealer or salesperson in sales of motor vehicles; (viii) advertisement violation .  .  . 

 .  

(2) (a) The schedule of civil penalties for violations of Subsection (1) is: (iii) Level III: $250 

for the first offense, $1,000 for the second offense, and $5,000 for the third and subsequent 

offenses. 

 

Utah Code §41-3-704 provides the Tax Commission with authority regarding the penalties as follows: 

 

Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable cause shown, the commission may 

waive, reduce, or compromise any of the civil penalties imposed by the division under this 

chapter. 

 

The Commission has enacted, effective June 14, 2012, Utah Admin. Rule R877-23V-22 regarding 

reasonable cause for waiver. This rule provides in pertinent part: 

(1) (b) A person seeking to reduce or compromise a penalty under Subsection (1)(a) shall: (i) 

demonstrate that there is reasonable cause to reduce or compromise the penalty; and (ii) 

recommend the amount by which the penalty should be reduced or compromised.  

(2) A penalty that is reduced or compromised under Subsection (1) may not be reduced or 

compromised below the penalty imposed for a first offense for that violation. 

(3) Reasonable cause to waive, reduce, or compromise a penalty imposed by the division 

under Title 41, Chapter 3 does not include: ignorance of the law; or (b) inability to pay a 

penalty imposed. 

(4) Nothing in this rule prevents a person form appealing the appropriateness of a penalty 

imposed by the division under Title 41, Chapter 3. 

 

DISCUSSION 

 The Division imposed the $1,000 penalty against the Dealership for a violation under Utah Code §41-
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3-210.  This was imposed by letter from the Division dated July 23, 2012. In the letter the Division noted two 

different bases for the penalty under Utah Code §41-3-210. The Division cited Utah Code §41-3-210(1)(b), 

which prohibits advertisements that fail to include the full name of the dealership or dealership number. The 

Division also cited Utah Code §41-3-210(1)(g), which prohibits a dealership from selling a new motor vehicle 

for which the dealership does not have the franchise.  The penalties are imposed under Utah Code 41-3-702, 

which provides a graduated schedule for a first offense, second offense or third or more offenses. In the letter 

the Division’s representative stated that the dealership had published an advertisement for a MODEL OF 

VEHICLE for sale on WEBSITE and that the ad did not state the Dealership’s name or number.  Further, that 

the Dealership is not franchised to sell new vehicles.  Because this was the second Level III violation in a 

twelve month period, the amount of the penalty was $1000. 

It was the Dealership’s position that it had not posted the advertisement. The Dealership’s 

representative, REPRESENTATIVE FOR PETITIONER, stated that NAME-2 was the one who owned the 

VEHICLE and he was the one who had posted the ad.  NAME-1 stated that NAME-2 had brought the new 

VEHICLE to the Dealership and asked them to look at it because there was water in the break line.  She stated 

that because he was a friend of her (X), who was the owner of the Dealership, they agreed to take a look at the 

VEHICLE.  Then she stated that NAME-2 had become ill and had not been able to retrieve the vehicle from 

their sales lot.  It was her contention that NAME-2 was the one who had placed the advertisement on 

WEBSITE listing this vehicle for sale. It was his name and telephone number on the advertisement.  NAME-1 

did not dispute that the VEHICLE was on the Dealership’s sales lot for a period of time with the Dealerships 

own vehicles displayed for sale. She had also stated on the Petition for Redetermination form, “I had a few 

people ask about it when it was here. I did tell them a few stats on the unit but told them they would have to 

contact NAME-2 because it doesn’t belong to us.”  According to NAME-1, the Dealership employed five 

salespersons in total. 

The Division’s representative provided the information that NAME-2 was licensed as a motor vehicle 

salesperson for the Dealership at the time the advertisement was posted and that the license had just recently 

been renewed by the Dealership in July.  He also indicated that the telephone number for NAME-2 listed on 

the advertisement was the same number used on his licensing for the Dealership. He indicated that an 

investigator for the Division had called or text about the vehicle because there were a number of ads posted by 

NAME-2. When the investigator asked where he could take a look at the vehicle, NAME-2 directed him to the 

sales lot at the Dealership.  The investigator then went to the Dealership’s sales lot and the vehicle was on the 

sales lot with the other vehicles being sold by the Dealership.  

The Division’s representative asked about NAME-2’s son and NAME-1 acknowledged that he was 

also a licensed salesperson for the Dealership.  The Division’s representative stated that he had spoken with 
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NAME-2 who confirmed that he was the owner of the vehicle and that it was his intent to see if there was a 

market for this type of vehicle.  It was the Division’s position that the Dealership is not allowed to have other 

people sell vehicles from the Dealership’s lot in this manner. 

Upon review of the information submitted and the law at issue, the Dealership represented that it did 

not publish the advertisement listing the VEHICLE, that the advertisement had been posted by NAME-2. 

There was no information from the Division to refute this point.  The advertisement was tied to the Dealership 

by the fact that it had been placed by a licensed salesperson for the Dealership, the telephone number provided 

ties to his salesperson license for the dealership and the fact that the vehicle was displayed for sale at the 

Dealership’s lot.  Utah Code 41-3-210(1) (b) prohibits dealerships from intentionally publishing 

advertisements that fail to identify the seller by giving the full name of the dealership or license number.  From 

the information presented, the Dealership did not publish this advertisement so there was no intent to publish 

and no violation of Utah Code 41-3-210(1) (b).   

However, by allowing the vehicle to be displayed for sale on its lot with the Dealership’s own vehicles, 

the Dealership violated Utah Code 41-3-210(g) engaging in a business respecting the sale of a new motor 

vehicle without having a franchise. Allowing the car to remain on the lot displayed for sale, providing 

information to prospective customers, even if they were also referred to NAME-2, is a violation of this 

provision.
1
  Therefore, the $1,000 penalty was properly imposed.  

The Commission may then consider if there is reasonable cause for waiver of the penalty under Utah 

Code 41-3-704 and Utah Admin. Rule R877-23V-22.  In this case the Dealership had indicated that the reason 

the VEHICLE was on its lot for a period of time was because NAME-2 had been ill and was unable to retrieve 

the vehicle.  However, the information provided also indicated that NAME-2 son was a licensed salesperson 

for the business and no information was provided why he, or someone else from the Dealership could not have 

delivered the vehicle to NAME-2. Further, the vehicle was being displayed at the business with the 

Dealership’s other vehicles that were being offered for sale. The Dealership was answering questions about the 

vehicle in addition to referring prospective purchasers to NAME-2.  This may be a situation where the 

Dealership employees were unaware they were in violation of the law, but that is not basis for waiver of the 

penalty under Utah Admin. Rule R877-23V-22.  Given the circumstances in this matter the penalty should be 

upheld. 

 

____________________________________ 

Jane Phan 

Administrative Law Judge 

 

                         

1 The Dealership may also be in violation of Utah Code 41-3-210(t) which prohibits displaying for sale or offering 

for sale any new motor vehicle without a franchise. 
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DECISION AND ORDER 

Based on the forgoing, the Dealership’s appeal in this matter is denied. It is so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and Order will 

become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written request 

within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be 

mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 

 Utah State Tax Commission 

 Appeals Division 

 210 North 1950 West 

 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2012. 

 

 

 

 

R. Bruce Johnson    Marc B. Johnson 

Commission Chair    Commissioner 

 

 

 

D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun  

Commissioner     Commissioner 
     


