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STATEMENT OF THE CASE
This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 63G-4-204

through 63G-4-302, for a Formal Hearing on November 19, 2012. Petitioner (the “Applicant”) had timely
filed an appeal of Respondent’s (“Division”) action to deny a license to the Applicant. The matter
proceeded to a Formal Hearing before the Tax Commission. On the basis of the evidence and testimony
presented at the hearing, the Tax Commission makes its:
FINDINGS OF FACT
1. The Applicant is appealing an action by the Division to deny the Applicant a Motor Vehicle

Salesperson License. The letter from the Division denying the license had been issued on July 26, 2012.
2. The Applicant had filled out an application for a Motor Vehicle Salesperson License, which
he signed and dated on June 25, 2012.
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3. Question number two of the application asks if the Applicant has “been charged with, found
in violation of, or convicted of any misdemeanors or felonies in Utah or any other state,” in the past ten
years. There are boxes where the applicant would check “Yes” or “No”. The Applicant checked the
“Yes” box. The application form goes on to state, “If yes, list each including dates” and provides a space
to do so. The Applicant had listed “False Insurance information” in the space provided, without a date.

4. Question number three of the application asks if the Applicant was currently on probation or
parole. The Applicant had checked “Yes” as the answer to this question. The second part of that question
asked if the applicant still owed restitution. The Applicant answered “No” to that question.

5. This application was returned by the Division on June 29, 2012 with a form TC-457, which
is used when an applicant has failed to provide all required information. The Division’s reason indicated
to the Applicant for returning the application was checked as “Other” and the explanation provided by the
Division, “Please have PETITIONER list his conviction verbage exactly as it is stated on his criminal
history and return so we may review his application for licensing. Also because his application will be
returned after July 1 you will only need to submit a total of $$$$3.”

6. The Applicant did not submit a new application form with new date and signatures, but
instead added to the June 25, 2012 form, in the space to list each conviction the statement, “false
fraudulent insurance claim.” It was unclear when this was resubmitted.

7. On July 26, 2012 the Division issued its denial of the license. The Division stated in the
denial, “This action is being taken in response to your answer to question #2 and/or #3 on the salesperson
application concerning criminal convictions within the last 10 years or probation/restitution.” The letter
goes on to state, “Utah state law 41-3-209 requires the division to deny or suspend licenses if an applicant
has violations of state or federal law regarding controlled substances, fraud, registerable sex offense, or
motor vehicle related crimes.”

8. Applicant had started working as a motor vehicle salesperson at least by 2004. The Division
had records of issuing the Applicant a license in 2004 and he had remained licensed up through
November 2011.

9. The Applicant had pled guilty to a 3" Degree Felony, False or Fraudulent Insurance Claim
and the conviction was entered on December 17, 2009. He was ordered to report to Adult Probation and
Parole for a period of 36 months.

10. On May 20, 2010, Applicant had submitted an application form to transfer to
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DEALERSHIP. On that form he listed that he had no convictions. Then he terminated from that
employment one month later. He reapplied for a motor vehicle salesperson license in November 2010. He
also stated on this application form that he had no convictions. Because of the law change new
fingerprints were submitted to the Bureau of Criminal Identification at this time. An additional
application form had been submitted in July 2011 and again he had stated that there were no convictions
on this form.

11. The Applicant testified that he did not disclose the conviction on the three application forms
because he was embarrassed about the conviction. He said he had been working with his father and he did
not want him to find out.

12. In December 2011 BCI reported that they had received fingerprints due to the conviction,
but also in December 2011 the Division had received notification that the applicant was no longer
employed as a salesperson.

13. There had been warrants issued against the Applicant for failure to comply with probation.
On January 24, 2012 the Applicant’s probation was revoked and reinstated for a period of 36 months
beginning January 24, 2012.

14. The Applicant testified that he had been a motor vehicle salesperson for about 9 years. He
said that he loves selling cars and that he knows cars. To take away the license was a big thing for him.
He indicated that he needs to continue to work to take care of his kids. He also said that he would not do
anything wrong again. It was his testimony that if he could get his license he would have a good job as a
salesperson at the DEALERSHIP.

15. The Applicant stated that the probation had been reinstated for the full three-years because
he missed a probation hearing. He also testified that his probation officer was working to get him off
probation. He stated that he had paid his restitution and did submit at the hearing a letter from NAME,
dated August 14, 2012, which stated that the Applicant had “paid-in-full” the $$$$$ of restitution to the
Insurance Fraud Division for investigative costs.

16. When the Applicant submitted the most recent application form, the Division had denied
that based on the disclosure provided the Applicant, and had not submitted the Applicant’s fingerprints to
BCI for a criminal history report. The Division did not, therefore, know if there were other convictions on
the Applicant’s criminal history report.

17. The Applicant had represented at the hearing that his probation officer was working to get
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him off probation. He stated at the hearing that he could obtain a letter from his probation officer
regarding this and offered to provide additional information in support of his position. The Applicant was
given a deadline of November 26, 2012 to provide letter and additional information, but nothing was

submitted by the Applicant in this matter.

APPLICABLE LAW

The denial, suspension, and revocation of a salesperson license are governed by Utah Code 841-

3-209(2), as follows in relevant part:

(b) If the administrator finds that there is reasonable cause to deny, suspend, or revoke a
license under this chapter, the administrator shall deny, suspend, or revoke the
license.

(c) Reasonable cause for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license includes, in
relation to the applicant or license holder or any of its partners, officers, or directors:

(vi) making a false statement on any application of a license under this chapter or for
special license plates;

(vii) aviolation of any state or federal law involving motor vehicles;

(viii) a violation of any state or federal law involving controlled substances;

(ix) charges filed with any county attorney, district attorney, or U.S. attorney in any
court of competent jurisdiction for a violation of any state or federal law
involving motor vehicles;

(x) aviolation of any state or federal law involving fraud; or

(xi) a violation of any state or federal law involving a registerable sex offense under
Section 77-27-21.5; or

(xii) having had a license issued under this chapter revoked within five years from
the date of application.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Division properly suspended the Applicant’s salesperson license under Utah Code Utah
Code §41-3-209(2). The Applicant was convicted of a 3" Degree Felony False or Fraudulent Insurance
Claim on December 17, 2009. This is a violation of a state or federal law involving fraud. Therefore, this
conviction was one that was specifically listed as reasonable cause to suspend or deny the license under
Utah Code 841-3-209(2). Additionally, at the time the Applicant had submitted the application for a
motor vehicle salesperson license he was still on probation. The Applicant had been sentenced to three

years probation with the original conviction. However, there was a probation violation or violations and
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the Probation was revoked and reinstated for a period of 36 month period beginning January 24, 2012.

2. Although the Division’s action to deny the license was consistent with the statutory
provisions, the Commission may consider factors like the lapse of time from the most recent conviction,
whether Applicant has been released from parole or probation and the payment of restitution. In this case,
the original offense did occur several years ago and the original conviction December 17, 2009, but there
were subsequent probation violations and the probation was reinstated for three years beginning in
January 2012. While the Applicant had stated that he was going to be released from probation early, the
Applicant failed to provide a letter from his probation officer or additional information to support his
case. Additionally, there were prior instances of making a false statement on applications for a
salesperson license or to transfer a salesperson license. Insufficient mitigating factors were provided by
the Applicant for the Commission to overturn the Division’s decision to deny this license. The applicant
may reapply once he is released from probation, and a decision will be made on whether the license will
be issued based on the facts and circumstances at that time.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

On the basis of the forgoing, the Commission denies Applicant’s appeal. It is so ordered.

DATED this day of , 2012.
R. Bruce Johnson Marc B. Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner

Michael J. Cragun
Commissioner

COMMISSIONER DIXON CONCURS IN PART AND DISSENTS IN PART

I concur in denying the license because the Petitioner failed to disclose his felony conviction for

fraud on three prior transfer applications. In addition, not enough time has passed from the Petitioner’s
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conviction for me to see a definite change in the Petitioner’s behavior, decisions, and actions. However, I

did not deny the license because the Petitioner is on probation; on that point I dissent.

D’ Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commissioner

Notice of Appeal Rights: You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request for
Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 63-46b-13. A
Request for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact. If you do
not file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action.
You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance
with Utah Code Sec. 59-1-601 et seq. and Sec. 63-46b-13 et seq.



