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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

 This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on January 28, 2013 for an Initial 

Hearing in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5.  

PETITIONER requested a waiver of “underestimated prepayment penalties” that it incurred on its 

corporate franchise account for the tax year ending December 31, 2011.  On June 18, 2012, the Taxpayer 

Services Division (the “Division”) issued a Waiver Decision in which it denied the request to waive the 

penalties.   

The amount of the underestimated prepayment penalties at issue is $$$$$.  The Division explains 

that in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-7-504, the taxpayer was required to make four payments of 

estimated tax for the 2011 tax year.   The four estimated payments were due on April 15, 2011, June 15, 

2011, September 15, 2011, and December 15, 2011.  The taxpayer paid its 2011 liability by making a 

prepayment of $$$$$ on December 15, 2011 and a final payment of approximately $$$$$ on February 24, 

2012.  Because the taxpayer did not make any of the required prepayments that were due on April 15, 
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2011, June 15, 2011, and September 15, 2011, three penalties were imposed, one for each prepayment 

that was not made.  The penalties were determined in accordance with UCA §59-1-401(4) and total 

$$$$$. 

The taxpayer admits that it did not make the first three prepayments that were due for the 2011 

tax year.  It also admits that the $$$$$ amount of penalties was correctly calculated and imposed in 

compliance with Utah law.  The taxpayer, however, asks for a waiver of the penalties because the $$$$$ 

amount seems high in comparison to the remaining $$$$$ of tax that was due when it filed its 2011 return 

in early 2012.   

The Division stated that it checked to see if the taxpayer could qualify for a waiver of the 2011 

penalties due to its compliance history.  The Division stated that its policy is to check the taxpayer’s 

account for the last three years before the 2011 year at issue (in this case the 2008, 2009, and 2010 tax 

years).  If the taxpayer has no penalties for these three prior years, the Division’s policy would allow it to 

find that the taxpayer’s compliance history was sufficient to warrant a waiver of the 2011 penalties.  The 

Division found, however, that the taxpayer incurred the same underestimated prepayment penalties for 

2010 as it did for 2011 because it also failed to make the first three prepayments that were due for the 

2010 tax year.  For these reasons, the Division found that “reasonable cause” to waive penalties, as set 

forth in Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-42 (“Rule 42”), did not exist.  Given these circumstances, the 

Division asks the Commission to sustain its denial of the taxpayer’s request to waive the 2011 penalties.   

APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah Code Ann. §59-7-504 provides that corporate franchise taxpayers are required to make 

payments of estimated tax in certain circumstances, as follows: 

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, each corporation subject to taxation 

under this chapter having a tax liability of $3,000 or more in the current tax year, or 

which had a tax liability of $3,000 or more in the previous tax year, shall make payments 

of estimated tax at the same time and using any method provided under Section 6655, 

Internal Revenue Code. 

(2) The following are modifications or exceptions to the provisions of Section 6655, 

Internal Revenue Code: 

(a) for the first year a corporation is required to file a return in Utah, that corporation 

is not subject to Subsection (1) if it makes a payment on or before the due date of the 
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return, without extensions, equal to or greater than the minimum tax required under 

Section 59-7-104 or 59-7-201; 

(b) the applicable percentage of the required annual payment, as defined in Section 

6655, Internal Revenue Code, for annualized income installments, adjusted seasonal 

installments, and those estimated tax payments based on the current year tax liability 

shall be: 

  Installment     Percentage   

  1st      22.5   

  2nd      45.0   

  3rd      67.5   

  4th      90.0   

(c) large corporations shall be treated as any other corporation for purposes of this 

section; and 

(d) if a taxpayer elects a different annualization period than the one used for federal 

purposes, the taxpayer shall make an election with the Tax Commission at the same 

time as provided under Section 6655, Internal Revenue Code. 

(3) A penalty shall be added as provided in Section 59-1-401 for any quarterly estimated 

tax payment which is not made in accordance with this section. 

(4) There shall be no interest added to any estimated tax payments subject to a penalty 

under this section. 

 

UCA §59-1-401 provides for the calculation of penalties imposed on corporate franchise 

accounts, including those penalties arising under Section 59-7-504, as follows in pertinent part: 

(4) (a) Beginning January 1, 1995, in the case of any underpayment of estimated tax or 

quarterly installments required by Sections 59-5-107, 59-5-207, 59-7-504, and 59-9-104, 

there shall be added a penalty in an amount determined by applying the interest rate 

provided under Section 59-1-402 plus four percentage points to the amount of the 

underpayment for the period of the underpayment. 

(b) (i) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), the amount of the underpayment shall be the 

excess of the required installment over the amount, if any, of the installment paid 

on or before the due date for the installment. 

(ii) The period of the underpayment shall run from the due date for the 

installment to whichever of the following dates is the earlier: 

(A) the original due date of the tax return, without extensions, for the taxable 

year; or 

(B) with respect to any portion of the underpayment, the date on which that 

portion is paid. 

 (iii) For purposes of this Subsection (4), a payment of estimated tax shall be 

credited against unpaid required installments in the order in which the 

installments are required to be paid. 

(5) (a) Notwithstanding Subsection (2) and except as provided in Subsection (6), a person 

allowed by law an extension of time for filing a corporate franchise or income tax return 

under Chapter 7, Corporate Franchise and Income Taxes, or an individual income tax 

return under Chapter 10, Individual Income Tax Act, is subject to a penalty in the amount 

described in Subsection (5)(b) if, on or before the day on which the return is due as 

provided by law, not including the extension of time, the person fails to pay: 

(i) for a person filing a corporate franchise or income tax return under Chapter 7, 

Corporate Franchise and Income Taxes, the payment required by Subsection 59-

7-507(1)(b); or 
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(ii) for a person filing an individual income tax return under Chapter 10, 

Individual Income Tax Act, the payment required by Subsection 59-10-516(2). 

(b) For purposes of Subsection (5)(a), the penalty per month during the period of the 

extension of time for filing the return is an amount equal to 2% of the tax due on the 

return, unpaid as of the day on which the return is due as provided by law. 

 (6) If a person does not file a return within an extension of time allowed by Section 59-7-

505 or 59-10-516, the person: 

(a) is not subject to a penalty in the amount described in Subsection (5)(b); and 

(b) is subject to a penalty in an amount equal to the sum of: 

(i) a late file penalty in an amount equal to the greater of: 

(A) $20; or 

(B) 10% of the tax due on the return, unpaid as of the day on which the 

return is due as provided by law, not including the extension of time; and 

(ii) a late pay penalty in an amount equal to the greater of: 

(A) $20; or 

(B) 10% of the unpaid tax due on the return, unpaid as of the day on which 

the return is due as provided by law, not including the extension of time. 

 

UCA §59-1-401(13) provides that “[u]pon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable 

cause shown, the commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest imposed 

under this part.”   

The Commission has promulgated Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-42 to provide additional guidance 

on the waiver of penalties and interest, as follows in pertinent part: 

. . . . 

(3) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Penalty.  The following clearly documented 

circumstances may constitute reasonable cause for a waiver of penalty: 

(a) Timely Mailing… 

(b) Wrong Filing Place… 

(c) Death or Serious Illness… 

(d) Unavoidable Absence… 

(e) Disaster Relief… 

(f) Reliance on Erroneous Tax Commission Information… 

(g) Tax Commission Office Visit… 

(h) Unobtainable Records… 

(i) Reliance on Competent Tax Advisor… 

(j) First Time Filer… 

(k) Bank Error… 

(l) Compliance History: 

(i)  The commission will consider the taxpayer's recent history for payment, 

filing, and delinquencies in determining whether a penalty may be waived. 

(ii) The commission will also consider whether other tax returns or reports are 

overdue at the time the waiver is requested. 

(m) Employee Embezzlement… 

(n) Recent Tax Law Change… 

(4) Other Considerations for Determining Reasonable Cause. 
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(a) The commission allows for equitable considerations in determining whether 

reasonable cause exists to waive a penalty. Equitable considerations include: 

(i) whether the commission had to take legal means to collect the taxes; 

(ii) if the error is caught and corrected by the taxpayer; 

(iii) the length of time between the event cited and the filing date; 

(iv) typographical or other written errors; and 

(v) other factors the commission deems appropriate. 

(b) Other clearly supported extraordinary and unanticipated reasons for late filing or 

payment, which demonstrate reasonable cause and the inability to comply, may 

justify a waiver of the penalty. 

(c) In most cases, ignorance of the law, carelessness, or forgetfulness does not 

constitute reasonable cause for waiver. Nonetheless, other supporting circumstances 

may indicate that reasonable cause for waiver exists. 

(d) Intentional disregard, evasion, or fraud does not constitute reasonable cause for 

waiver under any circumstance. 

 

Utah Code Ann. §59-1-1417 provides, “[i]n a proceeding before the commission, the 

burden of proof is on the petitioner. . . .” 

DISCUSSION 

 Section 59-1-401(13) authorizes the Commission to waive penalties upon a showing of 

reasonable cause.  The Commission has promulgated Rule 42 and USTC Publication 17 to outline the 

circumstances that the Commission may consider “reasonable cause” to justify a waiver of penalties. 

 The taxpayer admits that the Division correctly imposed the $$$$$ of penalties that are at issue 

for the 2011 tax year.  The taxpayer, however, asks for a waiver because the amount of penalties seems 

high in comparison to the approximately $$$$$ of remaining tax that was due when the taxpayer filed its 

2011 return.  The Division explained how the each of the three penalties was calculated on the basis of the 

date that a prepayment was due, but not made.  Accordingly, the penalty imposed for the first missed 

prepayment was higher than the penalty imposed for the second missed prepayment, and the penalty 

imposed for the second missed prepayment was higher than the penalty imposed for the third missed 

prepayment.  The taxpayer stated it understood the penalties to be correctly imposed, but wanted to be 

considered for a waiver.   

 Under these circumstances, Rule 42(3)(l) is the only subsection of the rule under which the 

taxpayer can show “reasonable cause” and qualify for a waiver of the 2011 penalties.  Rule 42(3)(l) 

provides that a taxpayer's compliance history may be considered when determining whether “reasonable 
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cause” exists to waive a penalty.  The taxpayer incurred underestimated prepayment penalties for failing 

to make the first three prepayments that were due for the 2010 tax year, yet failed to make the first three 

prepayments again for the 2011 tax year.  This compliance history is insufficient to qualify for a waiver of 

the 2011 penalties under Rule 42(3)(l).  Accordingly, the Division’s denial of the waiver request should 

be sustained.   

   ______________________________ 

   Kerry R. Chapman 

   Administrative Law Judge 

DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing, the Commission sustains the Division’s action and denies the taxpayer’s 

request to waive the underestimated prepayment penalties imposed on the taxpayer’s corporate franchise 

account for the 2011 tax year.  It is so ordered.    

 This decision does not limit a party’s right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and 

Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a 

written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a 

request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner’s name, address, and 

appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 

 Appeals Division 

 210 North 1950 West 

 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

 DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2013. 

 

 

 

R. Bruce Johnson  D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 

Commission Chair  Commissioner 

 

 

 

 

Michael J. Cragun   
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Commissioner         


