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TAX TYPE: PRIVILEGE TAX—LOCALLY ASSESSED
TAX YEAR: 2011

DATE SIGNED: 4-26-2013

COMMISSIONERS: D. DIXON, M. CRAGUN, R. PERO
EXCUSED: B. JOHNSON

BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION

PETITIONER,
INITIAL HEARING ORDER
Petitioner,
Appeal No. 12-1634
V.
Parcel No. #####
BOARD OF EQUALIZATION OF Tax Type: Privilege Tax/Locally Assessed
SALT LAKE COUNTY, STATE OF UTAH, Tax Year: 2011
Respondent. Judge: Chapman

This Order may contain confidential ""commercial information' within the meaning of Utah Code
Sec. 59-1-404, and is subject to disclosure restrictions as set out in that section and regulation
pursuant to Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-37. Subsection 6 of that rule, pursuant to Sec. 59-1-
404(4)(b)(iii)(B), prohibits the parties from disclosing commercial information obtained from the
opposing party to nonparties, outside of the hearing process.

Pursuant to Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-37(7), the Tax Commission may publish this decision, in its
entirety, unless the property taxpayer responds in writing to the Commission, within 30 days of this
notice, specifying the commercial information that the taxpayer wants protected. The taxpayer
must mail the response to the address listed near the end of this decision.

Presiding:
Kerry R. Chapman, Administrative Law Judge

Appearances:
For Petitioner: REPRESENTATIVE FOR PETITIONER-1, from PETITIONER.
REPRESENTATIVE FOR PETITIONER-2, from PETITIONER
For Respondent:  RESPONDENT, from Salt Lake County Assessor’s Office (by telephone)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

PETITIONER (“Petitioner”) brings this appeal from the decision of the Salt Lake County Board
of Equalization (“County BOE”). This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing

pursuant to the provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5, on February 11, 2013.
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At issue is the privilege tax value of the subject property as of the January 1, 2011 lien date.! The
subject property is used as a X-1 and is located at ADDRESS in CITY, Utah. The subject property is
owned by PROPERTY OWNER, which is an exempt entity. As of the 2011 lien date, the subject
property was leased to PETITIONER (taxpayer”), who operated a business on the property named
BUSINESS NAME. The taxpayer pays the privilege taxes and has filed the appeal.

The County BOE sustained the $3$$$ value at which the subject property was assessed for the
2011 tax year. Both parties ask the Commission to reduce the subject’s 2011 value. The taxpayer asks
the Commission to reduce the subject’s value somewhere between $$$$$ and $$$$$. The County asks
the Commission to reduce the subject’s value to $$$$$.

APPLICABLE LAW

Utah Code Ann. 859-4-101 imposes a privilege tax, as follows in pertinent part:

(1) (a) Except as provided in Subsections (1)(b) and (c), a tax is imposed on the
possession or other beneficial use enjoyed by any person of any real or personal
property which for any reason is exempt from taxation, if that property is used in
connection with a business conducted for profit.

(2) The tax imposed under this chapter is the same amount that the ad valorem property
tax would be if the possessor or user were the owner of the property. The amount of any
payments which are made in lieu of taxes is credited against the tax imposed on the
beneficial use of property owned by the federal government.
(3) A tax is not imposed under this chapter on the following:

(e) the use or possession of any lease, permit, or easement unless the lease, permit, or
easement entitles the lessee or permittee to exclusive possession of the premises to
which the lease, permit, or easement relates. . . ;

(4) A tax imposed under this chapter is assessed to the possessors or users of the property
on the same forms, and collected and distributed at the same time and in the same
manner, as taxes assessed owners, possessors, or other claimants of property which is
subject to ad valorem property taxation. The tax is not a lien against the property, and no

! For purposes of this Initial Hearing Order, it is assumed that PETITIONER (the “taxpayer”) is

subject to the privilege tax because it did not argue that it was exempt from the privilege tax on the basis
that it was not in “exclusive possession” of the property. See Alliant Techsystems, Inc. v. Salt Lake Cnty.
Bd. Of Equalization, 2012 UT 4 (Utah 2012). The Commission is not inclined to rule on the “exclusive
possession” issue in this decision and decide whether or not the taxpayer is exempt from taxation. Not
only was the issue not raised, but also neither party submitted a copy of the lease between the taxpayer
and the property owner so that its provisions could be fully analyzed.
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tax-exempt property may be attached, encumbered, sold, or otherwise affected for the
collection of the tax.

Utah Code Ann. §859-2-103(1) provides that “[a]ll tangible taxable property shall be assessed and
taxed at a uniform and equal rate on the basis of its fair market value, as valued on January 1, unless
otherwise provided by law.”

UCA 859-2-102(12) defines “fair market value” to mean “the amount at which property would
change hands between a willing buyer and a willing seller, neither being under any compulsion to buy or
sell and both having reasonable knowledge of the relevant facts.”

UCA 859-2-301.1(2) provides guidance concerning the assessment of golf courses or hunting
clubs, as follows:

(@) In assessing the fair market value of a golf course or hunting club, a county assessor
shall consider factors relating to the golf course or hunting club and neighboring property
that affect the fair market value of the golf course or hunting club, including:
(i) wvalue that transfers to neighboring property because of the presence of the golf
course or hunting club;
(ii) practical and legal restrictions on the development potential of the golf course or
hunting club; and
(iii) the history of operation of the golf course or hunting club and the likelihood that
the present use will continue into the future.
(b) The valuation method a county assessor may use in determining the fair market value
of a golf course or hunting club includes:
(i) the cost approach;
(ii) the income capitalization approach; and
(iii) the sales comparison approach.

UCA 859-2-1006(1) provides that “[a]ny person dissatisfied with the decision of the county board
of equalization concerning the assessment and equalization of any property, or the determination of any
exemption in which the person has an interest, may appeal that decision to the commission . . . .”

For a party who is requesting a value that is different from that determined by the County BOE to
prevail, that party must: 1) demonstrate that the value established by the County BOE contains error; and
2) provide the Commission with a sound evidentiary basis for reducing or increasing the valuation to the

amount proposed by the party. Nelson v. Bd. of Equalization of Salt Lake County, 943 P.2d 1354 (Utah

1997); Utah Power & Light Co. v. Utah State Tax Comm’n, 590 P.2d 332, (Utah 1979); Beaver County v.
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Utah State Tax Comm’n, 916 P.2d 344 (Utah 1996); and Utah Railway Co. v. Utah State Tax Comm’n, 5
P.3d 652 (Utah 2000).
DISCUSSION

The subject property consists of ##### acres and improvements associated with a X-1, which
include IMPROVEMENTS REMOVED. The subject property is adjacent to a X-3 that is not subject to
this appeal. The subject property is also adjacent to the property owner’s FACILITIES.

The taxpayer began its business on the subject property in 1992 and negotiated a 30-year lease
with the property owner at that time. The lease contained a provision allowing the property owner to take
or “reclaim” land back as needed to accommodate expansion of its facilities or other needs. The taxpayer
proffered that several times since the lease was signed in 1992, the property owner has reclaimed portions
of the land that the taxpayer has leased. For example, in 2009, the property remaining land subject to the
lease totaled ##### acres. Under the rent escalation clause of the lease, the taxpayer’s owner reclaimed
#iHH## acres that had been leased to the property owner. As of the 2011 lien date, the 2011 lease payment
to the property owner was $$$$$ for the subject property alone (i.e., not for the X-3).

In April 2012, the taxpayer sold its business to a third party for $$$$$. This new party
renegotiated the lease with the property owner for an annual lease payment of only $$$$$. This lease
payment, however, covers not only the lease of subject property, but also the lease of the adjacent X-3.
The taxpayer states that when this $$$$$ annual lease payment is apportioned between the subject
property and the X-3 by acreage, the new annual lease payment for the subject property is $$$$$ .

The County BOE’s value is based the subject’s ##### acres of land being assessed at $$$$$ and
its improvements being assessed at $$$$$. The land’s assessed value of $$$$$ equates to $$$$$ per acre,
which is the rate at which the County assessed land associated with other X-2 in the County. The
improvements value was determined with the cost approach. The County’s proposed value of $$$$$ is
based on its reducing the subject’s land value to $$$$$ per acre and sustaining the current improvements

value of $$$$$.
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The County states that it has not assessed the subject’s land at the value it would likely sell
without restrictions. The County stated that when the property owner reclaimed ##### acres of the
subject property in 2009, the property owner sold this acreage for $$$$$ (approximately $$$$$ per acre).
The County explained that once Section 59-2-301.1 was enacted in 2010 concerning the assessment of X-
2, it reviewed its assessments of X-2 and X-3 and decided to value all such land as “open space” at $$$$$
per acre. The County further explained that it is proposing a 50% reduction from $$$$$ to $$$$$ per acre
for the subject’s land because the lease between the taxpayer and the property owner precludes the
taxpayer from using the subject property for anything other than a X-2 and because the property owner
retains the right to reclaim any portion of the subject property at any time.

The County further believes that the reduction is fair because the County Assessor’s Office
decided to reduce the land value from $$$$$ to $$$$$ per acre for a X-2 that could not otherwise be built
on. The County also states that in USTC Appeal No. 11-2144 (Initial Hearing Order Dec. 11, 2012),? the
Tax Commission reduced the land value for another in Salt Lake County from $$$$$ to $$$$$ per acre.
The Commission reduced this property’s land value down to $$$$$ per acre because there were
restrictions on the future development of the land and because the County had used the $$$$$ per acre
rate for the X-2 that could not otherwise be built on.

The taxpayer contends that subject’s current value is too high for several reasons. First, the
property owner has placed restrictions on its use of the subject property so that it cannot be used for
anything other than a X-1. Second, the property owner has the right to reclaim any portion of the subject
property at any time. Third, odors from the nearby FACILITY come onto the subject property.

Fourth, the taxpayer sold its business to a third party for $$$$$ in April 2012. The taxpayer
contends that the subject’s value should not be more than the amount at which the business sold. Fifth,

the party that bought the taxpayer’s business in April 2012 renegotiated the lease with the property owner

2 A redacted version of this decision can be viewed on the Tax Commission’s website at

http://www.tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions.
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and significantly reduced the lease payment for the subject property. The taxpayer states that the newly
renegotiated lease payment of $$$$$, once apportioned by acreage, reflects a lease payment of $$$$$ for
the subject property alone. If the $$$$$ lease payment is capitalized at 10%, it would result in a value for
the subject property of $$$$$. The taxpayer states that when its $$$$$ sales price of its business and the
$3$$$ value obtained from the new lease are considered together, a value for the subject that is
somewhere between $$$$$ and $$$$$ seems fair.

The taxpayer’s information is not convincing. First, the price at which a business sells is not
necessarily related to the value of the real estate on which the business is located, especially where the
business is leasing the real estate. The value of the business would likely incorporate the value of the
lease, not the value of the real estate subject to that lease. Second, the taxpayer has not provided a copy
of the 2012 renegotiated lease so that its terms could be analyzed. Without reviewing the lease, it is
difficult to determine how the lease payment was determined and how it might relate to the fair market
value of the subject property. Furthermore, the new lease did not exist until more than a year after the
2011 lien date. As a result, it is difficult to argue that the subject’s fair market value, as of January 1,
2011, should be established with the 2012 lease because no buyer and seller of the subject property would
have been aware of the lease on the January 1, 2011 lien date. Given the evidence available at the Initial
Hearing, the taxpayer has not shown that the subject’s value should be less than the $$$$$ amount
proposed by the County. The County’s proposed value appears to be consistent with reductions made by
the County and the Tax Commission for other X-1 with development restrictions. For these reasons, the

subject’s 2011 value should be reduced to $$$$3.

Kerry R. Chapman
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER
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Based on the foregoing, the Commission finds that the subject’s privilege tax value should be
reduced from $$$$$ to $$$$$ for the 2011 tax year. The Salt Lake County Auditor is ordered to adjust its
records in accordance with this decision. It is so ordered.

This Decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. Any party to this case may file a
written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a
request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and
appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2013.
R. Bruce Johnson D’ Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commission Chair Commissioner
Michael J. Cragun Robert P. Pero
Commissioner Commissioner



