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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing in accordance with Utah Code §59-1-

502.5, on February 21, 2012.  Petitioner (“Dealership”) is appealing a $$$$$ penalty imposed by Respondent 

(Division) for a violation under Utah Code §41-3-210 and Utah Admin. Rule R877-23V-7.  

APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah Code §41-3-210 prohibits a motor vehicle dealer from conducting certain acts, as follows: 

(1)The holder of any license issued under this chapter may not… 
(a) intentionally publish, display, or circulate any advertising that is misleading or inaccurate 
in any material fact or that misrepresents any of the products sold, manufactured, 
remanufactured, handled, or furnished by a licensee… 
(c) violate this chapter or the rules made by the administrator… 

 

 The Commission has issued further guidance on misleading advertisements in Administrative Rule 

R877-23V-7, as follows: 
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(2)  Violation of any of the following standards of practice for the advertising and  
selling of motor vehicles is a violation of Section 41-3-210… 
(bb)  An advertisement must disclose a salvage or branded title as prominently as the 
description of the advertised vehicle.   

 

Utah Code §41-3-702 provides civil penalties for violations: 
 
(1) The following are civil violations under this chapter and are in addition to criminal 
violations under this chapter: (c) Level III:  .  .  . (viii) Advertisement violation .  .  .  .  
(2) (a) The schedule of civil penalties for violations of Subsection (1) is: (iii) Level III: $250 
for the first offense, $1,000 for the second offense, and $5,000 for the third and subsequent 
offenses. 
 
 
 

DISCUSSION 

 The Division imposed the $$$$$ penalty against the Dealership for an advertisement violation under 

Utah Code §41-3-210 and Utah Admin. Rule R877-23V-7, for failing to disclose prominently that vehicles 

offered for sale had a salvage or branded title. The Dealership had advertised five vehicles for sale on 

WEBSITE, which had branded or salvage titles. It was the Division’s position that the advertisements did not 

disclose the branded title as prominently as the description of the advertised vehicle, a requirement of Utah 

Admin. Rule R877-23V-7(2)(bb).  

At the hearing, the representative for the Division provided printed copies of the advertisements. He 

explained that the WEBSITE displays a thumbnail add with photo of the vehicle, price, contact information 

and some description.  If the thumbnail is clicked then more information is provided, including line by line 

“Specifications.”  The Dealership did have listed under “Specifications,” on the line that should have included 

the VIN Number, that this car had a “branded title.” However, it was the Division’s contention that this was 

not prominent enough, as customers did not always click on the thumbnail to look at the complete 

advertisement. The Division also pointed out that stating “branded title” instead of the VIN number was an 

additional problem for prospective purchasers. 

 The representative for the Dealership explained that he had been selling these branded title vehicles for 

only one year.  He explained that he knew he was required to disclose in advertisements that the vehicle had a 

branded title.  He states that by putting this information on a separate line, he was actually trying to place it 

somewhere that would be better noticed by perspective buyers. He said that his vehicles were priced 

significantly less than a vehicle with a clean title, so if this was not disclosed it would result in numerous phone 

calls from prospective buyers who would not be interested after finding out the vehicle had a branded title. He 

said if it was clear in the advertising that this was a branded title vehicle, he would only get calls from people 

who might actually purchase the vehicle.  He also explained that he thought the advertisement complied with 
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the law and did not know that what he had done was a violation.  

 Based on the information presented at the hearing, it does appear that the Dealership did attempt to 

disclose the vehicle had a branded title in its on-line advertisements and there is no indication that the 

Dealership knew its advertisement would be a violation of the law.  However, Utah Code §41-3-210 prohibits 

misleading information in advertisements. Utah Admin. Rule R877-23V-7 states that an “advertisement must 

disclose a salvage or branded title as prominently as the description of the advertised vehicle” and failing to do 

so is “a violation of Section 41-3-210.”  Failure to meet the requirements of the rule is a violation regardless of 

the intent of the dealership. The penalties are structured in such a manner that the first time penalty is 

significantly lower than a second or third violation. From this it appears that the statutes take into account that 

a first time offender might not have understood his or her action to be a violation.  The penalty in this matter 

should be upheld.  

____________________________________ 
Jane Phan 
Administrative Law Judge 
 

DECISION AND ORDER 

Based on the forgoing, the Dealership’s appeal in this matter is denied. It is so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and Order will 

become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written request 

within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be 

mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2012. 
 
 
R. Bruce Johnson    Marc B. Johnson 
Commission Chair    Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun  
Commissioner     Commissioner 
     


