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 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission from a Petition for Redetermination 

form filled by Petitioner (Dealership) on January 24, 2012.  The Dealership had filed the form to appeal 

the decision of Respondent (Division) in which the Division assessed a fine against the Dealership of 

$$$$$ for a violation of Utah Code Sec. 41-3-210.  The letter assessing the fine was issued on October 

20, 2011. The Division representative states in the letter, “You have the right to appeal this decision 

pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act.” It goes on to provide instructions on how an appeal 

would be filed as well as provide that the deadline to file an appeal to be, “within 30 days of the date of 

this notice.”  

As the Dealership had failed to file the appeal within the 30 day period, an Order to Show Cause 

why Appeal Should Not Be Dismissed was issued on February 15, 2012. The Dealership responded by 

explaining that there had been a change in the Dealership’s secretarial employee position and mail had 

been mismanaged or misplaced.  

APPLICABLE LAW 

 The Administrative Procedures Act at Utah Code §63G-4-201(4) provides in pertinent part: 

 . . . the request for agency action seeking review must be filed with the agency 
within the time prescribed by the agency’s rules. 

 



Appeal No. 12-360 

 
 -2- 

The time for filing a petition is governed by Rule R861-1A-22 of the Utah Administrative Rules, 

as follows in relevant part: 

(1) Time for Petition.  Unless otherwise provided by Utah statute, petitions for 
adjudicative actions shall be filed within the time frames specified in R861-1A-20.  
If the last day of the 30-day period falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the 
period shall run until the end of the next Tax Commission business day. 

 
Utah Administrative Rules Rule R861-1A-20(2) provides as follows: 

Except as provided in Subsection (3), a petition for redetermination of a 
deficiency must be received in the commission offices no later than 30 days from 
the date of a notice that creates the right to appeal .  .   .  
 

DISCUSSION 

The Division issued its notice assessing the fine on October 20, 2011. The notice explained the 

appeal procedures and the 30 day deadline. The Dealership missed the deadline to file an appeal as the 

Petition for Redetermination was not received by the Commission until January 24, 2012.  

The thirty-day requirement for filing an appeal is set by rule. The mishandling of the mail on a 

part of an employee of the dealership is not basis to allow a late filed appeal. Utah Administrative Code 

R861-1A-22 provides that a Petition for redetermination must be received in the commission offices, or 

postmarked, no later than 30 days from the date of the notice.  This language is not discretionary, and the 

appeal should be dismissed.   

ORDER 

The Dealership failed to file an appeal within the thirty days provided by Utah Administrative 

Rule. The Commission hereby dismisses the Dealership’s appeal.  It is so ordered.   

DATED this ____________ day of ________________________, 2012. 
 
 
 
 
R. Bruce Johnson   Marc B. Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
   
D'Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun 
Commissioner    Commissioner  
 
 
Notice of Appeal Rights:  You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request for 
Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sec. 63G-4-302.  A 



Appeal No. 12-360 

 
 -3- 

Request for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact.  If you do 
not file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. 
You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance 
with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-601 et seq. and 63G-4-401 et seq. 


