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TAX TYPE:  SALES TAX 

TAX DATE:  2011 

DATE SIGNED:  10-1-2012 

COMMISSIONERS:  B. JOHNSON, D. DIXON, M. CRAGUN 

EXCUSED:  M. JOHNSON 

 

BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 

 

TAXPAYER, 

 

 Petitioner, 

 

v. 

 

AUDITING DIVISION OF THE UTAH 

STATE TAX COMMISSION,  

 

 Respondent.  

 

 

INITIAL HEARING ORDER  
 

Appeal No.    12-353 

 

Account No.  ##### 

Tax Type:      Audit – Sales Tax 

Tax Year:       2011 

 

Judge:             Jensen  

 

 

Presiding: 

 Clinton Jensen, Administrative Law Judge 

 

Appearing: 

 For Petitioner:  TAXPAYER, Taxpayer 

             For Respondent: REPRESENTATIVE FOR RESPONDENT, Assistant     

Attorney General 

    RESPONDENT, for the Auditing Division   

  

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

 This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on July 11, 2012 for an Initial 

Hearing in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5. Petitioner (the “Taxpayer”) requested a 

waiver a $500 fraud penalty it assessed as the result of a sales tax audit on the purchase of a 

vehicle. On December 23, 2011, the Auditing Division of the Utah State Tax Commission (the 

“Division) assessed the Taxpayer $$$$$ in additional tax, a $500 fraud penalty, and interest, 

which continues to accrue.    

APPLICABLE LAW 

 Utah Code Ann. §59-12-103(1)(a) provides for a tax on retail sales of tangible personal 

property made within the state. 

Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(7)(a)(iv) provides for penalties on certain tax underpayments 

as follows: 

If the underpayment is due to fraud with intent to evade the tax, the penalty is the 

greater of $500 per period or 100% of the underpayment.   
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 Interest on any underpayment, deficiency, or delinquency of any tax or fee administered 

by the commission shall be computed from the time the original return is due, excluding any 

filing or payment extensions, to the date the payment is received.”  Utah Code Ann. §59-1-

402(5). 

 Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable cause shown, the commission 

may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest imposed under this part. Utah 

Code Ann. §59-1-401(13).   

DISCUSSION 

 On or about June 7, 2011, the Taxpayer purchased a TYPE OF VEHICLE for $$$$$ (the 

VEHICLE).  The bill of sale bill of sale that the Taxpayer used to register the VEHICLE 

indicated “GIFT/TRADE WORK” as the purchase price. On the basis of this bill of sale, the 

Taxpayer paid no sales tax when he registered the VEHICLE.  

 The Taxpayer does not dispute the tax liability or interest, but disputes the 

characterization of the transaction as “fraud,” and believes the amount of the penalty is too high.  

The Taxpayer does not dispute that he used a document indicating that the VEHICLE was a gift 

or a trade for work when, in fact, he bought the VEHICLE for $$$$$. However, he indicated that 

it was the seller, not him, that completed the bill of sale. He indicated that he did not think of the 

implication of using the bill of sale to register the VEHICLE. He said he paid some fees at the 

counter and said that he thought that he had paid sales tax. He did acknowledge that the person at 

the counter at the DMV told him that using the bill of sale would trigger an audit of the 

transaction.  

 Although not directly related to the purchase transaction, the Taxpayer added that some 

time after the Division’s audit, the VEHICLE was in an accident and considered a total loss.  

 It is the Division’s position that the Taxpayer did not make a mistake in using a bill of 

sale indicating a gift or trade, knowing that the purchase price was $$$$$. The Division asked 

that the Commission sustain the penalty, noting that Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(7) provides for a 

penalty of the greater of $500 or 100% of the underpayment of tax.   

   Reviewing the evidence in this case, there is no dispute that the bill of sale that the 

Taxpayer used to register the VEHICLE falsely indicated that the VEHICLE was a gift or 

exchanged for work. The Taxpayer had full knowledge of this, yet used the bill of sale to register 

the VEHICLE. This use of a false document with full knowledge that the purchase price was 

other than indicated amounts to fraud. The evidence, taken as a whole, supports the Division’s 
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position that the Taxpayer’s actions were fraud with intent to evade the tax, which supports the 

assessment of sales tax, interest, and a penalty.  

 

    Clinton Jensen 

    Administrative Law Judge 

 

DECISION AND ORDER 

 On the basis of the foregoing, the Commission sustains the Division’s audit assessment of 

sales tax, penalty, and interest. It is so ordered.   

 This decision does not limit a party’s right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision 

and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this 

case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a 

Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the 

Petitioner’s name, address, and appeal number: 

Utah State Tax Commission 

Appeals Division 

210 North 1950 West 

Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

 DATED this __________ day of ______________________, 2012.  

 

 

 

R. Bruce Johnson   Marc B. Johnson 

Commission Chair   Commissioner 

 

 

 

D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun 

Commissioner    Commissioner 

 

NOTICE: Failure to pay the balance due as a result of this order within thirty days from the date 

hereon may result in an additional penalty.  

 


