
12-309 

LOCALLY ASSESSED PROPERTY 

TAX YEAR: 2011 

SIGNED: 03-15-2012 

COMMISSIONERS: R. JOHNSON, D. DIXON, M. CRAGUN 

EXCUSED: M. JOHNSON 

 

 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

On January 24, 2012, Petitioner (the Property Owner) filed with the Utah State Tax Commission a 

Request to Reconvene the Board of Equalization, asking the State Tax Commission to order the Utah County 

Board of Equalization to reconvene to hear an appeal of the valuation of the above listed property for the 2011 

tax year.  The County Board of Equalization had not heard the Property Owner’s appeal because the Property 

Owner had failed to file the appeal within the statutory period. 

The law makes the property owner responsible for raising objections to property tax valuations in an 

appeal with the county within the time frame outlined in Utah Code Section 59-2-1004, which is generally 

September 15, of the tax year at issue. Section 59-2-1004 of the Utah Code and Utah Administrative Rule 

R884-24P-66 establish the circumstances under which a Board of Equalization may accept an appeal that has 

been filed after the statutory deadline. Under these provisions an extension of time for filing an appeal until 

March 31, of the following year is allowed for specified circumstances listed at Utah Admin. Rule R884-24P-

66. These include a medical emergency or extraordinary and unanticipated circumstances that occurred during 

the forty-five day statutory period for filing an appeal, which for this year at issue would have ended on 

September 15, 2011.  
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The Property Owner states in the Request to Reconvene, and then provided additional information in a 

letter dated February 7, 2012, that her spouse had divorced her on September 13, 2011 and that this was 

shocking and traumatic for her after 41 years of marriage.  Further she indicated that he had previously handled 

the tax matters and she was in a financial hardship situation. Additionally she indicated that her now ex-

husband had DISEASE, but it was unclear when that occurred.      

The County responded to the Property Owner’s Request to Reconvene by noting that the County had 

complied with the notice requirements and the Property Owner had failed to file an appeal within the statutory 

time.     

After reviewing the information presented by the parties in this matter, the situation with an 

unexpected divorce after a 41 year marriage occurring during the period to file the appeal would be an 

extraordinary or unanticipated circumstance under Utah Administrative Rule R884-24P-66 and the County 

Board should reconvene to hear this appeal. Financial hardship is not a basis to allow a late filed appeal. 

However, the Property Owner may contact Utah County Tax Administration about the qualifications and 

application process for property tax relief, circuit breaker or abatement programs that are based on financial 

hardship, if she has not already done so.     

 DECISION AND ORDER 

For the reasons stated, the Property Owner's Request to Reconvene the Board of Equalization to hear 

the late-filed appeal is granted.  The Utah County Board is to hear the Property Owner’s valuation appeal for 

the above listed property. It is so ordered.   

DATED this ___________ day of _______________________, 2012. 

 

 

R. Bruce Johnson   Marc B. Johnson 

Commission Chair   Commissioner 

 

 

 

D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun 

Commissioner    Commissioner 

 

 

Notice of Appeal Rights:  You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request for 

Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 63G-4-302.  A Request 

for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact.  If you do not file a 
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Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. You have thirty 

(30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Secs. 

59-1-601 et seq. and 63G-4-401 et seq. 

 
 


