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CORPORATE FRANCHISE TAX 

TAX YEAR: 2007 

SIGNED: 07-02-2012 

COMMISSIONERS: M. JOHNSON, D. DIXON, M. CRAGUN 

EXCUSED: R. JOHNSON 

 

BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 

 

PETITIONER, 

 

 Petitioner, 

 

vs. 

 

AUDITING DIVISION OF THE 

UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, 

 

 Respondent.  

 

 

ORDER ON RESPONDENT’S  

MOTION TO DISMISS 
 

Appeal No.    12-1 

 

Account No.  #####-1 

Tax Type:      Corporate Franchise Tax 

Tax Year:       2007 

 

 

Judge:             Phan  

 

 

Presiding: 
Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge  

        

Appearances: 
For Petitioner:   PETITIONER REP. 

For Respondent:  RESPONDENT REP., from Auditing 

 

 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on June 11, 2012, for a Hearing on 

Respondent’s (“Division”) Motion to Dismiss.  The Division based its Motion to Dismiss on the 

contention that Petitioner’s (“Taxpayer”) Petition for Redetermination was not timely filed.     

APPLICABLE LAW 

 Utah Code §59-1-501
1
provides that a taxpayer must file a petition for a redetermination of a 

deficiency within thirty days of the issuance of a notice of deficiency, as follows in pertinent part: 

(2) A person may file a request for agency action, petitioning the commission for 

redetermination of a deficiency. 

(3) Subject to Subsections (4) through (6), a person shall file the request for agency 

action described in Subsection (2): 

                                                 
1
 The Division cited to Utah Code Sec. 59-7-517 (2007) which was in effect during the audit period at issue. This 

section has been replaced by 59-1-501 in the current version of the code.  As these are procedural, rather than 

substantive provisions, the Commission applies the current section at 59-1-501 in this matter.  Regardless, either 

section provided that the Petition for Redetermination needed to be submitted within thirty days. 
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(a)  within a 30-day period after the date the commission mails a notice of deficiency 

to the person in accordance with Section 59-1-1405…   

 

The time for filing an appeal is governed by Rule R861-1A-20 of the Utah Administrative Rules, 

as follows in pertinent part: 

(2)  Except as provided in Subsection (3), a petition for redetermination must be received   

       in the commission offices no later than 30 days from the date of a notice that creates  

      the right to appeal.  The petition is deemed to be timely if: 

(a) the petition is received in the commission offices on or before the close of 

business of the last day of the 30-day period; or 

(b) the date of the postmark on the envelope or cover indicates that the request was 

mailed on or before the last day of the 30-day period. 

 

The time for filing a petition is governed by Rule R861-1A-22 of the Utah Administrative Rules, 

as follows in relevant part: 

A. Time for Petition.  Unless otherwise provided by Utah statute, petitions for 

adjudicative actions shall be filed within the time frames specified in R861-1A-20.  

If the last day of the 30-day period falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the 

period shall run until the end of the next Tax Commission business day. 

 

DISCUSSION 

The Division issued a Notice of Deficiency to the Taxpayer on June 9, 2011. The taxpayer 

acknowledged that the notice was sent to the address used on the Taxpayer’s returns. The notice explains 

the appeals procedures, and instructs the taxpayer that if they disagree with the audit, they must file a 

petition within 30 days of the date of the notice. The Division notes that based on the envelope 

maintained in the file which shows the postmark date, the Taxpayer’s Petition for Redetermination was 

not mailed until December 14, 2011. The Division’s representative asked the Commission dismiss the 

Taxpayer’s appeal because it was not received within the 30 day time period.     

The Taxpayer’s representative stated that although the notice had been sent to the correct address 

it had been misdirected within the Taxpayer’s business. He also explained that it had been received at a 

time when the Taxpayer’s tax small department was down one person because of maternity leave and it 

fell in the middle of the Taxpayer’s filing deadlines for their consolidated federal and state returns. The 

Taxpayer has some approximately 80 separate returns due during this period. The Taxpayer was also 

filing two years worth of amended state and federal returns because of the finalization of a federal audit.  

The Taxpayer’s second point was that if the appeal was denied as late filed, the Taxpayer would 

be allowed to request a refund after paying the tax, which request would then get back to the Division for 

consideration, and the Taxpayer would eventually be back to the same point to have their information 
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considered. He pointed out that it would just take more steps or procedures and more time, than if the 

Commission denied the Motion to Dismiss and allowed the late filed appeal to proceed. 

Upon review of the information provided by the parties and in the file, the Motion to Dismiss 

should be granted. The thirty-day requirement for filing an appeal is set by statute and is a jurisdictional 

requirement which is strictly construed. The Commission has not been granted discretion to extend the 

deadline, even if good cause were to be shown. In this case the Statutory Notice was issued by the 

Division on June 9, 2011. The Taxpayer’s Petition for Redetermination was not mailed to the 

Commission until December 14, 2011. This is beyond the 30-day deadline provided in Utah Code §59-1-

501.  

Although the appeal will be dismissed, there is another remedy available to the Taxpayer.  Utah 

Code §59-1-501(7) allows taxpayers who have not previously filed timely appeals to object to a final 

assessment by paying the tax and then filing a claim for a refund as provided in the statutes. The claim 

will be processed by the Division and the Taxpayer Services Division of the Utah State Tax Commission, 

who will either grant or deny the claim for a refund.  If these divisions deny the claim, then a taxpayer 

may appeal the denial by filing a petition with the State Tax Commission.  See Utah Code §59-1-1410(9).  

A taxpayer’s claim of refund must still meet the general deadline for all claims of refunds, which is 

generally two years from the date of payment.  See Utah Code §59-1-1410(8)(a)(ii).  At the hearing the 

Division representative was unsure whether these provisions would apply in this matter because the audit 

was for a period prior to the adoption of this provision. However, Utah Code §59-1-501(7) is applicable 

as the timing is determined based on when the tax amount would be paid and refund requested, not the tax 

year at issue.   

The Taxpayer’s Petition for Redetermination was untimely and the Commission is required to 

grant the Motion to Dismiss based on the applicable statutes, regardless of whether allowing the appeal to 

continue now would save time and avoid a number of other procedural steps for the Taxpayer and 

possibly the Division, if the Taxpayer pursued a refund under Utah Code §59-1-501(7). 

   

__________________________________ 

Jane Phan 

Administrative Law Judge 
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ORDER 

Based on the foregoing, the Commission hereby dismisses the Taxpayer’s appeal.  It is so 

ordered.   

DATED this ____________ day of ________________________, 2012. 

 

 

 

 

R. Bruce Johnson   Marc B. Johnson 

Commission Chair   Commissioner 

 

 

 

   

D'Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun 

Commissioner    Commissioner  

 

 

Notice of Appeal Rights:  You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request for 

Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sec. 63G-4-302.  A 

Request for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact.  If you do 

not file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. 

You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance 

with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-601 et seq. and 63G-4-401 et seq. 


