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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing on June 4, 2012.  

Petitioner is requesting a refund of the administrative impound fee assessed when his motorcycle was 

impounded following an arrest for driving under the influence.   

APPLICABLE LAW 

 A refund of the DUI administrative fee shall be granted under Utah Code §41-6a-1406(6)(c), as 

follows: 

The administrative impound fee assessed under Subsection (6)(a)(iv) shall be waived or 
refund by the State Tax Commission if the registered owner, lien holder, or owner’s agent 
presents written evidence to the State Tax Commission that: 

(i) the Driver License Division determined that the arrested person’s driver license 
should not be suspended or revoked under Section 53-3-223 or 41-6a-521 as 
shown by a letter or other report from the Driver License Division presented 
within 30 days of the final notification from the Driver License Division; or 

(ii) the vehicle was stolen at the time of the impoundment as shown by a copy of the 
stolen vehicle report presented within 30 days of the impoundment. 
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Utah Code §59-1-1417 provides, “[i]n a proceeding before the commission, the burden of 

proof is on the petitioner…” 

 DISCUSSION 

 Petitioner explained that the he had been in a motorcycle wreck on July 16, 2011. He states that 

he was pulling out onto the road and did not see who or what hit him.  The next thing he knew he was in 

the hospital trauma unit. He indicated that he had suffered a brain injury in the wreck.  The Police had 

impounded his vehicle and told him they were going to charge him with a DUI. Eventually charges were 

dismissed because his blood test came back negative. He stated that it cost him $$$$$ to get his 

motorcycle out of impound.  He has had a lot of additional expenses and financial issues because of the 

accident and he said it would be helpful to get a refund of the impound fee. He understands that he did go 

the Driver License Hearing and he got his Driver License back.  He said his niece had started helping him 

with some of the paperwork and had told him he needed to go to the hearing. He said he just was not good 

with paperwork generally and was under doctor’s care for the injury he suffered in the wreck.  He states 

that he was not aware that there was a deadline to file the request for refund until after the deadline had 

expired.    

 The Division noted that the Driver License Division had issued its “No Action Letter” to 

Petitioner on September 1, 2011. The letter indicates a hearing date of August 31, 2011. The letter does 

explain the process for obtaining a refund of the DUI impound fee and also that the request for refund 

must be submitted within 30 days. The refund request was sent in on October 6, 2011, after the thirty-day 

period had expired. It was the Division’s position that the thirty-day period was set by statute and strictly 

construed. There was no discretion to extend the deadline.  

 As noted by the Division, the deadline is set by statute and the Tax Commission was not given 

discretion to extend the deadline even if good cause is shown. Therefore, the request for refund was 

property denied. 

    _________________________ 
    Jane Phan 

       Administrative Law Judge 

DECISION AND ORDER 

Based on the foregoing, the Commission denies Petitioner’s request for a refund of the impound 

fee.  It is so ordered. 
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This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and 

Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a 

written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a 

request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and 

appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2012. 
 

 

R. Bruce Johnson    Marc B. Johnson 
Commission Chair    Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli    Michael J. Cragun 
Commissioner                               Commissioner 

  

 
 
 


