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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Comamisiir an Initial Hearing pursuant to the
provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5, on Fetyrd4, 2012.

On April 18, 2011, PETITIONER 1 and PETITIONER ZPgtitioners” or “taxpayers”) filed an
original 2006 Utah individual income tax returnwhich they claimed a refund of $$$$$. On July2@L1,
Taxpayer Services Division (the “Division”) issuadNotice of Expired Refund or Credit (“Notice”),which
it informed the taxpayers that the time to claimefund or credit for the 2006 tax year had expirddhe
Notice informed the taxpayers that “Utah law linttie time allowed to claim a refund or credit te thter of

three years from the due date of the return, plasktension period, or two years from the payrdete.”
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The Division states that the period for claimingefund or credit of taxes for the 2006 tax yeariggpon
October 15, 2010 and asks the Commission to sussaaction to deny the refund request.

The taxpayers recognize that their 2006 refundesigs untimely if the 2006 tax year is considdngd
itself. However, the taxpayers ask the Commisgiaonsider the following circumstances and to agoe
2006 refund to amounts that they owe for subseqresnts. The taxpayers explain that PETITIONER & wa
hospitalized in 2007, when the 2006 tax return dias, and that he was unable to work or do “much of
anything” for six months after the hospitalizatio®PETITIONER 1 explained that he “got behind on
everything” because of his medical problems andhdidget around to completing and filing the taxgray
2006 through 2010 tax returns until April 18, 20Wvhen they filed their returns for all five years.

The 2006 and 2009 returns showed that the taxpayerpaid their taxes for these two years, while
the 2007, 2008, and 2010 returns showed that tipayars owed taxes for these years. The Divisioied a
refund or credit of the 2006 overpayment of $$$88ich has given rise to this appeal. In additibre,
Division determined that the taxpayers timely rexjee a refund or credit of the 2009 overpaymeStHES
and granted them a credit of the $$$$$ overpaymérich was applied to their 2007 liability.

The amounts of taxes shown due on the 2007, 20@B2@10 returns, plus penalties and interest

(calculated as of February 14, 2012) that the Rixisias imposed are as follows for each of theaesye

Year Tax Due From Return Penalties Interest Total Amount Due
2007 RN $555% $555% #55$
2008 RN $555% $555% $555%
2010 $555S $555% $555S $555%

$555S $555% $555% $3333$

The Division points out that it entered into a payrtplan with the taxpayers where the taxpayerddvoay

$$3$$$ per month until they have paid all amountsfduthese years. As of February 14, 2012, tkgsigers
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have paid enough to reduce their liability for #®7 tax year to $$$$3$. No payments have yet &ppbed to
their 2008 or 2010 liability.

The taxpayers ask the Commission to consider PEENER 1's illness and their willingness to
“catch up” on their tax filings and to allow themapply the $$$$$ of taxes they overpaid in 2006 @=dit
to the tax liability they owe for the 2007, 200882010 tax years. The Division, however, contéhdsthe
2006 overpayment must be considered separatelthabit cannot be refunded or applied as a credinly
portion of the taxpayers’ liability for subsequeetrs.

APPLICABLE LAW

UCA 859-10-514 provides for the filing of a Utattdividual income tax return, as follows in pertinen

part:

@....
(a) an individual income tax return filed for a fiaxposed in accordance with Part 1,
Determination and Reporting of Tax Liability anddrmation, shall be filed with the
commission:
(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(a)(ii),arrbefore the 15th day of the
fourth month following the last day of the taxpdye¢axable year; . . . .

UCA 859-10-516(1) provides that the Commissionllsiiiow an extension of time for filing an
individual income tax return, as follows in pertm@art:
(1) (a) The commission shall allow a taxpayer demsion of time for filing returns.
(b) The extension under Subsection (1)(a) mayeroeed six months.
UCA §59-1-1410(8) limits the period during which a taxpayer may resfua refund or credit of
overpaid taxes, as follows in pertinent part:
(8) (a) Except as provided in Subsection (8)(l3ection 19-2-124, 59-7-522, 59-10-529, or

59-12-110, the commission may not make a cred#fand unless a person files a claim with
the commission within the later of:

1 This subsection, which became effective in 2008faias similar restrictions concerning refunds
or credits that were previously found in Utah Céae. §59-10-529(7).
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(i) three years from the due date of the returcluiging the period of any extension
of time provided in statute for filing the retumr,
(ii) two years from the date the tax was paid.
(b) The commission shall extend the time perioddgperson to file a claim under
Subsection (8)(a) if:
(i) the time period described in Subsection (8@ not expired; and
(i) the commission and the person sign a writtgreament:
(A) authorizing the extension; and
(B) providing for the length of the extension.

UCA 859-1-1417 provides that the burden of proafpien the petitioner in proceedings before the
Commission, with limited exceptions as follows:
In a proceeding before the commission, the burdearamf is on the petitioner except for
determining the following, in which the burden @bpf is on the commission:
(1) whether the petitioner committed fraud witheimtto evade a tax, fee, or charge;
(2) whether the petitioner is obligated as thedfamree of property of the person that
originally owes a liability or a preceding trangfer but not to show that the person that
originally owes a liability is obligated for thiability; and
(3) whether the petitioner is liable for an incieeasa deficiency if the increase is asserted
initially after a notice of deficiency is maileda&tcordance with Section 59-1-1405 and a
petition under Part 5, Petitions for Redetermimatid Deficiencies, is filed, unless the
increase in the deficiency is the result of a cleamrgcorrection of federal taxable income;
(a) required to be reported; and
(b) of which the commission has no notice at theetthe commission mailed the
notice of deficiency.
DISCUSSION
Section 59-1-1410(8)(a) provides that a taxpayentgled to receive a refund or credit of overpaid
taxes within three years from the due date oféhérn (including any statutory extension) or withim years
from the date the tax was paid. For the 2006 é&x gt issue, all overpaid taxes were withheldpsid on or
before April 15, 2007. Two years from this datanddbe April 15, 2009. The due date of a 2006rretwith
extensions, is October 15, 2007. Three years thigrdate is October 15, 2010. As a result, agsgior a
refund or credit of overpaid taxes for 2006 is fyranly if made by October 15, 2010. The taxpayhdsot
submit their request for a refund or credit of @aéd taxes for the 2006 tax year until April 18,120

Accordingly, the request for a refund or creditiigimely pursuant to Section 59-1-1410(8)(a).
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Although the Commission is sympathetic to the tgepsi circumstances, Utah law not only denies a
refund (i.e., the issuance of a check) of the caierfaxes under these circumstances, but it alscifsgally
denies a credit of the overpaid taxes from beirajres a taxpayer’s current or future liabilitie&ccordingly,

the taxpayer’s request for a refund or credit afrpaid taxes for the 2006 tax year should be dénied

Kerry R. Chapman
Administrative Law Judge

2 Although the 2006 overpayment cannot be appii¢ie taxpayers’ liabilities for subsequent taarge
the taxpayers may discuss with the Division whetierot they qualify for a waiver of penalties untte Tax
Commission’s “Fresh Start Program,” which is ddssdi on the Tax Commission’s website at
http://tax.utah.gov/extension/freshstart

Furthermore, once a taxpayer has paid a tax,divdda payment of penalties or interest, the tagpay
has two years to request a refund of the amouhh#sabeen paid. If the Division denies the refregliest,
the taxpayer can file an appeal and ask for a eeabtation of the Division’s action. If a taxpayies an
appeal concerning a request to waive penaltie€; timemission would determine whether “reasonable&au
exists to waive the penalties. Information abaegsonable cause” to waive penalties and inteegsbe
found on the Tax Commission’s websitén&tp://tax.utah.gov/forms/pubs/pub-17.pdf
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DECISION AND ORDER

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission sustaiadivision’s action to deny the taxpayers’
request for a refund or credit of overpaid taxedtie 2006 tax year. Itis so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right taosrfral Hearing. However, this Decision and Ordéir wi
become the Final Decision and Order of the Comuanissiless any party to this case files a writteuest
within thirty (30) days of the date of this decisito proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a requnesi Ise
mailed to the address listed below and must incthddPetitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will precludg further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of ,2012.
R. Bruce Johnson Marc B. Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli Michael J. Cragun
Commissioner Commissioner



