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 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on October 25, 2011 for a Hearing on 

Respondent’s (“Division”) Motion to Dismiss.  The Division based its Motion to Dismiss on the 

contention that Petitioner’s (“Taxpayer”) Petition for Redetermination was not timely filed.     

APPLICABLE LAW 

 Utah Code Ann. §59-1-501 provides that a taxpayer must file a petition for a redetermination of a 

deficiency within thirty days of the issuance of a notice of deficiency, as follows in pertinent part: 

(2) A person may file a request for agency action, petitioning the commission for 

redetermination of a deficiency. 

(3) Subject to Subsections (4) through (6), a person shall file the request for agency 

action described in Subsection (2): 

(a)  within a 30-day period after the date the commission mails a notice of deficiency 

to the person in accordance with Section 59-1-1405…   
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The time for filing an appeal is governed by Rule R861-1A-20 of the Utah Administrative Rules, 

as follows in pertinent part: 

(2)  Except as provided in Subsection (3), a petition for redetermination of a deficiency 

must be received in the commission offices no later than 30 days from the date of a 

notice that creates the right to appeal.  The petition is deemed to be timely if: 

(a) in the case of mailed or hand-delivered documents:   

(i)  the petition is received in the commission offices on or before the close of 

business of the last day of the 30-day period; or  

(ii)  the date of the postmark on the envelope or cover indicates that the request 

was mailed on or before the last day of the 30-day period; or  

(b)  in the case of electronically-filed documents, the petition is received no later 

than midnight of the last day of the 30-day period. 

 

The time for filing a petition is governed by Rule R861-1A-22 of the Utah Administrative Rules, 

as follows in relevant part: 

(1) Time for Petition.  Unless otherwise provided by Utah statute, petitions for 

adjudicative actions shall be filed within the time frames specified in R861-1A-20.  

If the last day of the 30-day period falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the 

period shall run until the end of the next Tax Commission business day. 

 

DISCUSSION 

The Division issued a Notice of Deficiency to the Taxpayer on February 9, 2011 based on a non-

filing audit.  Taxpayer does not contend the notice was sent to the wrong address.  The notice explains the 

appeals procedures, and instructs the Taxpayer that if they disagree with the audit, they must file a 

petition within 30 days of the date of the notice.  The Division maintains that the Taxpayer’s Petition for 

Redetermination was not received by the Commission until May 12, 2011, the date of the postmark.  The 

Division’s representative asked the Commission dismiss the Taxpayer’s appeal because it was not 

received within the 30 day time period.     

The Taxpayer filed state and federal returns before the hearing on motion, but the Division had 

not accepted the state return by the time of the hearing because the Division was waiting for the IRS to 

accept the federal return.  The Division said it would continue to work with the Taxpayer outside of the 

appeals process if the Taxpayer contacted the Division when the Taxpayer learned the IRS has accepted 

the federal return. 

The representative of the Taxpayer explained that she responded to the Notice of Deficiency 

within a few days of when the Taxpayer brought the notice to her office.  The representative was 

concerned that the Taxpayer’s response would not be timely according to the Notice of Deficiency, but 

the representative sent the response anyway, hoping for leniency.  The representative said she wanted to 
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relieve the Taxpayer of the stress of liens and levies because the Taxpayer would probably not owe tax 

after the Taxpayer filed the return and the return was accepted.   

The thirty-day requirement for filing an appeal is set by statute and is a jurisdictional requirement.  

The Statutory Notice was issued by the Division on February 9, 2011.  The Taxpayer’s Petition for 

Redetermination was received by the Commission on May 12, 2011. This is beyond the 30-day deadline 

provided in Utah Code Ann. §59-1-501.  Utah Administrative Code R861-1A-20 provides that a Petition 

for redetermination must be received in the commission offices, or postmarked, no later than 30 days 

from the date of the statutory notice.  This language is not discretionary, and the appeal should be 

dismissed absent extraordinary circumstances that interfered with Taxpayer’s due process rights.  In 

general, such extraordinary circumstances involve actions by the Tax Commission that interfered with a 

taxpayer’s due process rights.  In this case, there is no evidence that the Taxpayer was not given due 

process, and the appeal should be dismissed.   

However, the Taxpayer may still work with the Division outside of the Appeals Process to have 

the state return accepted.  In particular, the Taxpayer may contact the Auditing Division if the Taxpayer 

learns the IRS has accepted the federal return.        

Lastly, there may be one more remedy available to the Taxpayer although the appeal is dismissed.  

Utah Code Ann. §59-1-501(7) allows taxpayers who have not previously filed timely appeals to object to 

a final assessment by paying the tax and then filing a claim for a refund as provided in the statutes.  The 

Tax Commission will either grant or deny the claim for a refund.  If the Tax Commission denies the 

claim, then a taxpayer may appeal the denial by filing a petition with the commission within 30 days of 

the denial.  See Utah Code Ann. §59-1-1410(9).  A taxpayer’s claim of refund must still meet the general 

deadline for all claims of refunds, which is generally two years from the date of payment.  See Utah Code 

Ann. §59-1-1410(8)(a)(ii).  Taxpayer’s Petition for Redetermination was untimely; therefore, this remedy 

is available to the Taxpayer.  Accordingly, if the tax is paid, the Taxpayer may still pursue administrative 

remedies by filing a claim for refund at any time within two years of that payment.  

 

__________________________________ 

Aimee Nielson-Larios 

Administrative Law Judge 
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ORDER 

The thirty-day requirement for filing an appeal is set by statute and is a jurisdictional requirement.  

Because the Taxpayer did not file a Petition for Redetermination within the thirty days provided by Utah 

law, the Commission hereby dismisses the Taxpayer’s appeal.  It is so ordered.   

DATED this ____________ day of ________________________, 2011. 

 

 

 

 

R. Bruce Johnson   Marc B. Johnson 

Commission Chair   Commissioner 

 

 

 

   

D'Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun 

Commissioner    Commissioner  

 

 

Notice of Appeal Rights:  You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request for 

Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sec. 63G-4-302.  A 

Request for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact.  If you do 

not file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. 

You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance 

with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-601 et seq. and 63G-4-401 et seq. 


