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INITIAL HEARING ORDER  
 

    Appeal No. 11-1762 
 
Tax Type:   Motor Vehicle Dealer License 
 
 
Judge:         Phan  
 

 
  
Presiding: 

Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge 
 

Appearances: 
For Petitioner: PETITIONER REP., Attorney at Law 
 PETITIONER 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REP. 1, Assistant Attorney General 
 RESPONDENT REP. 2, Sergeant, Motor Vehicle Division 
 RESPONDENT REP. 3, Motor Vehicle Division 

 
STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

 
 This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on  August 1, 2011 for an Initial 

Hearing in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5.  Petitioner (“Applicant”) is appealing 

the suspension by the Respondent (“Division”) of his motor vehicle dealer license and his motor 

vehicle no-fee owner license.   

APPLICABLE LAW 

 The denial, suspension, and revocation of a salesperson license are governed by Utah 

Code Ann. §41-3-209(2), as follows in relevant part: 

(b) If the administrator finds that there is reasonable cause to deny, suspend, or 
revoke a license under this chapter, the administrator shall deny, suspend, or 
revoke the license. 
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(c) Reasonable cause for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license includes, 
in relation to the applicant or license holder or any of its partners, officers, or 
directors: 
.  .   .  . 
 
(vii)  a violation of any state or federal law involving motor vehicles; 
(viii)  a violation of any state or federal law involving controlled substances; 
(ix) charges filed with any county attorney, district attorney, or U.S. attorney 

in any court of competent jurisdiction for a violation of any state or 
federal law involving motor vehicles; 

(x) a violation of any state or federal law involving fraud;  or 
(xi) a violation of any state or federal law involving a registerable sex offense 

under Section 77-27-21.5 
 

DISCUSSION 

 The Applicant has originally submitted an application for a motor vehicle dealer’s license 

on or around October 2002. The license was issued to the Applicant and the Applicant has been 

operating the business since that time. At the time of the application and granting a license the 

Applicant had no criminal convictions. Subsequent to the issuance of the license, the Applicant in 

February 2005 entered a plea in abeyance to two felony charges involving the sale of unregistered 

securities. From the information provided, the date of the actual offense had been in 1998, years 

earlier. Information proffered by the Applicant and his representative, which was un-refuted, 

indicated that the case was complicated. They stated that the primary defendant was convicted on 

federal securities violation counts and sentenced to federal prison, in part due to the cooperation 

of the Applicant. Court records support the Applicant’s contention that the plea arrangement was 

for the felony convictions to be held in abeyance for a period of 36 months, after which, if certain 

terms were met involving the payment of restitution and no additional offenses, the convictions 

would be amended to two Class A misdemeanors.  The records indicate that, in fact, in April 

2008, the convictions were amended to Class A misdemeanors of Attempted Sale of Unregistered 

Security. The Applicant was placed on Informal Court Probation and was required to continue 

making restitution payments. The applicant currently remains on Informal Court Probation and 

continues to make payments of $$$$$ per month. 

 In 2011 the Division re-ran the Applicant through the Bureau of Criminal Identification 

and obtained the Applicant’s Criminal History Report.  The Division represents that the report 

indicated the convictions noted above. Because of the conviction the Division suspended the 

Applicant’s dealer license effective June 25, 2011. The Division argues that Utah Code Ann. §41-

3-209 mandates that a license “shall” be denied, revoked, or suspended for reasonable cause. The 

statute specifically identifies as “reasonable cause” violations of a state law involving fraud 

among other crimes.  
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In this matter, the Applicant argues his convictions did not involve fraud. The 

Applicant’s representative argued the conviction was under Utah Code Sec. 61-1-7, which is in 

the Utah Uniform Securities Act and prohibits the sale of unregistered securities. The Division 

argued the criminal conviction relating to securities could be under Part 5. Fraud, of the Utah 

Criminal Code.  The Applicant’s representative also argues that it was anticipated that the 

Applicant would be able to continue to operate his business when the parties entered into the plea 

arrangement, so that the applicant could make restitution payments. Additionally, although the 

Applicant was still on probation, it was his representative’s position that the probation should 

have been terminated in April 2011 and he was going to file a pleading with the court to request 

termination. 

The Division also originally argued that the Applicant should not receive a license 

because he was still making restitution payments. However, upon further review of Utah Code 

Sec. 41-3-201(7) which does prohibit the issuance of license until full restitution has been paid to 

someone who has been convicted of any law relating to motor vehicle commerce or motor vehicle 

fraud. There was no indication in this case that the Applicant had ever been convicted of any 

crimes other than the sale of unregistered security offenses listed above. Therefore, this provision 

would not prevent the Applicant from receiving a license.  

As noted by the Division, for purposes of Utah Code Sec. 41-3-209(2)(c)(x), the 

Commission has previously determined that “violations of state and federal law involving fraud” 

are not necessarily limited to fraud crimes listed under Part 5. Fraud of the Utah Criminal Code, 

but instead encompass a broader range of crimes that involve fraud.  In Appeal No. 09-0771 the 

Commission concluded that “a conviction for the illegal use of a credit card is ‘violation of any 

state or federal law involving fraud.”’ In this appeal the convictions were for Attempted Sale of 

Unregistered Security. The court docket information does not specify under which code section 

this conviction had been made, but it is not clear that fraud would be an element of the crime.  

After reviewing the applicable law and the evidence submitted in this matter, the license 

should be reinstated to the Applicant. Generally, the Commission does not grant a license to 

someone who is still on probation. In this case, the Applicant is still on informal court probation 

and paying restitution, which may continue for some time.  However, the facts in this appeal are 

significantly dissimilar to the typical appeals that come before the Commission. In this case the 

Applicant’s only convictions are two misdemeanors and the actual offenses occurred more than 

12 years ago. The Applicant has been operating the motor vehicle dealership since 2002 and there 

is no indication of any charges or complaints relating to the business. For these reasons the 
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Commission should make a departure from its general policy and reissue the license to the 

Applicant.        

_________________________ 
 Jane Phan 
 Administrative Law Judge 

 

DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing the Commission reinstates the Applicant’s motor vehicle dealer 

license and motor vehicle no-fee owner license. It is so ordered.   

 This decision does not limit a party’s right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision 

and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless either party to this 

case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a 

formal decision.  Such request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the 

Petitioner’s name, address, and appeal number: 

Utah State Tax Commission 
Appeals Division 

210 North 1950 West 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

 

 Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.   

DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2011. 
 

 

R. Bruce Johnson   Marc B. Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
 

 
 
 
 


