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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Compnigsi an Initial Hearing pursuant to the provision

of Utah Code Sec. 59-1-502.5, on December 12, Z@dtitioner (Taxpayer) is appealing an audit deficy of

Utah individual income tax for the year 2006. Btatutory Notice of Deficiency and Estimated Incohae

had been issued on March 7, 2011. Taxpayer tiagggaled the audit. Respondent (“Division”) hadraged

to amend the audit just prior to the hearing, batamended audit was to be issued on Decembed 15, Phe

amended audit would give the Taxpayer credit feesgpaid to STATE 1. The amount of the originaliaud

deficiency and the amended audit deficiency akisse as follows:
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Tax Penalty Interest Total as of Notice Date
2006 Original  $$$$$ $$5$$ $$5$$ $$$$$
2006 Amended $$$$$ $$55$ $$$$$ $$5$$

APPLICABLE LAW
Utah imposes income tax on individuals who aredesstis of the state, in Utah Code Sec. 59-10-104(1)
(20077 as follows:

...a tax is imposed on the state taxable incomegéised in Section 59-10-112, of every
resident individual...

Resident individual is defined in Utah Code Seel189103(1)(v) (2007)as follows:

(K)() "Resident individual" means:

(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state fmy period of time during the taxable year,
but only for the duration of such period during @fthe individual is domiciled in this state;
or

(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this stdtut: (I) maintains a permanent

place of abode in this state; and (Il) spendséreiijgregate 183 or more days of the
taxable year in this state.

(i) For purposes of this Subsection (1)(v)(i)(B)raction of a calendar day shall be
counted as a whole day.

For purposes of determining whether an individsallomiciled in this state the Commission has
defined "domicile" in Utah Administrative Rule R8852(1) as follows:

(1) Domicile
(@) Domicile is the place where an individual hggermanent home and to which
he intends to return after being absent. It isglage at which an individual has
voluntarily fixed his habitation, not for a speataltemporary purpose, but with the
intent of making a permanent home.
(b) For purposes of establishing domicile, an viatlial’s intent will not be
determined by the individual's statement, or theunence of any one fact or
circumstance, but rather on the totality of thédfand circumstances surrounding the
situation.

(i) Tax Commission rule R884-24P-52, Criteria B@termining Primary
Residence, provides a non-exhaustive list of factor objective evidence
determinative of domicile.

1 Interest continues to accrue on the unpaid balanc

2 The Utah Individual Income Tax Act has been rediand provisions renumbered subsequent to thé @eritod.
The Commission cites to and applies the provisibaswere in effect during the audit period on sabtve legal
issues.
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(i) Domicile applies equally to a permanent howithin and without the
Untied States.
(c) A domicile, once established, is not lost lutitere is a concurrence of the
following three elements:

(i) a specific intent to abandon the former dofgici

(ii) the actual physical presence in a new domj@hd

(iii) the intent to remain in the new domicile pemently.
(d) An individual who has not severed all tieshittie previous place of residence
may nonetheless satisfy the requirement of abanddhi previous domicile if the
facts and circumstances surrounding the situafiociuding the actions of the
individual, demonstrate that the individual no lenmptends the previous domicile to
be the individual's permanent home, and place tichvhe intends to return after
being absent.

The applicable statutes specifically provide thattaxpayer bears the burden of proof in procgsdin
before the Tax Commission. Utah Code Sec. 59-1%ptavides:

In a proceeding before the commission, the burdgmanf is on the petitioner. . .

Upon making a record of its actions, and upon nealsie cause shown, the commission may waive,
reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or ésteimposed under this part. (Utah Code Sec. 59-1-
401(13).)

DISCUSSION

Respondent based its audit on the assertion ttiibRer was a resident of Utah for tax purposes fo
all of 2006. Petitioner had not filed resident Utalividual Income Tax Returns and maintains tteahad
moved to STATE 1 in May 2006 and remained theré babruary of the following year. He had filed ap
year Individual Income Tax Return in STATE 1 foi0B0and paid taxes to that state. These taxesabatis
of the credit allowed by the Division in the amed@edit. The issue in this appeal is whether Batti was a
"resident individual" in the State of Utah for therposes of Utah Code Sec. 59-10-103(1)(k) duriingf a
2006, or whether he changed his domicile to STATEe@inning in May 2006. From the information
presented Petitioner did not spend in the aggregate than 183 days per year in Utah during 2086.
resident individual, in the alternative, is one vikiddomiciled" in the State of Utah.

The question of whether one establishes or mamtaithomicile in Utah is a question of fact. The
Commission has considered this issue in numerquessdgpand whether someone is a "resident individoral

state tax purposes has been addressed by theasppmiurts in Utah.As discussed by the courts in

3 The issue of domicile for Utah individual incomaex purposes has been considered by the Utah i@apteurt
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considering this issue, the fact finder may acdbel party’s activities greater weight than his er h
declaration of intert. In this case the Taxpayer had been domiciled tah Uprior to May 2006. Once
domicile has been established in Utah three thimgst be shown to establish a new domicile: 1) aifipe
intent to abandon the former domicile; 2) the algthgsical presence in a new domicile; and 3) tierit to
remain in the new domicile permanently. See Utamihd Rule R865-91-2(1).

At the hearing the Taxpayer stated that it wasirftisnt to leave Utah and move to STATE 1
permanently. The information provided by the Taxgragdicated that he had met the second critehard
was an actual physical presence in STATE 1. Thetoqueis whether the facts show the first and third
criteria; the intent to abandon the Utah domicitel dhe intent to remain in the STATE 1 domicile
permanently. The Taxpayer had been working in Utah STORE in MALL. He had been renting an
apartment in Utah with a roommate prior to May 2086 did not own a residential property. He had tw
vehicles registered in Utah prior to May 2006. BI€©ORE chain for which he was working offered him a
position to open a new store in STATE 1 and bentheager of the store. He moved to STATE 1 in May
2006 for that purpose. Additionally, his fiancéoateoved to STATE 1 and found a job there.

The Taxpayer rented an apartment in STATE 1. Theager's roommate in Utah took over the
lease on the Utah apartment. He also left onesofétiicles in Utah for the roommate. The Taxpayevel
his CAR 1 out to STATE 1. He stated that this viehilied in STATE 1 so he did not register it thédace
in STATE 1 he purchased a CAR 2 in June 2006. Heel this vehicle registered in STATE 1 on tempora
tags which he kept renewing as it would not pas®thissions test. The Taxpayer stated that heodiopen
a bank account in STATE 1, but also that he hadhvadtone in Utah. He did work to open the new SEOR
in STATE 1 and worked there as planned. Howevendied up that he had to open and close the sterng e
day and that he was not able to leave the store Wwhvas open and he was working 7 days a weektéied
that it was 80 hour work weeks. He states thalith@ot obtain an STATE 1 Driver License becausthef
long hours he was at work or register to vote IABE 1. His fiancé did, however, obtain an STATE 1
Driver License. Mail was sent to STATE 1 as thegayer did not have a residence in Utah during this

period. Because of the job situation not beingeabad hoped and that the Taxpayer and his fisgwided

and the Court of Appeals in the following cademssche v. State Tax Comma66 P.2d 618 (Utah Ct. App. 1993);
Clements v. State Tax Comm@389 P.2d 1078 (Utah Ct. App. 1996jRourke v. State Tax Comm'830 P.2d
230 (Utah 1992), an@rton v. State Tax Comm’864 P.2d 904 (Utah Ct. App. 1993).

4 SeeClements v. Utah State Tax Comr898 P.2d 1078 (Ct. App. 1995); aAllen v. Greyhound Lines, Inc.,
583 P.2d 613, 614 (Utah 1978);
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they did not like living in STATE 1 because of theat and the traffic, the Taxpayer returned to Wi&007
to look for new employment.

After reviewing the facts, the weight does supp@ststatements that he intended to abandon Utah
and intended to establish a permanent domicileTWWTE 1. The Taxpayer did not own a residence &t thi
time in any state. He leased in Utah. He was aliestke arrangements for that lease so that he omd to
STATE 1, where he also leased an apartment begjiviaty 1, 2006. He did not maintain a place of abinde
Utah while he was living and working in STATE 1. pigrchased a car in STATE 1, he obtained temporary
registrations for the car in STATE 1. He lived finlle in that state and worked more than full timehiat
state. His mail was sent to STATE 1 while he wasaehThe Taxpayer has stated that it was his ittent
move there permanently, it just did not work oupksned. The audit should be revised to a Utatiyesar
resident status, with the Taxpayer as a residedtaif from January 1, 2006 through the end of A006
and a resident of STATE 1 from May 1, 2006 throtlghend of the year.

Regarding penalties, these would be adjusted basdte new tax amount resulting from the part-
year Utah resident status. Since the Taxpayer wawdgdtax in Utah only for the period that he washabded
in Utah, January 1 through April 30, 2006, the gggwould still be the 10% failure to file timedynd 10%
failure to pay timely penalties, but reduced basethe reduced tax amount due on the part-yearrgtam.
Because the Taxpayer had previously been a Utatergsand had been filing and paying taxes in dadh
had filed a part-year resident return in STATEd should have been aware that he would also ndiel &0
part-year resident return in Utah for the firstfooonths of the year and these revised penaltigsighe

upheld.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based upon the information presented at the heahiedCommission orders the Division to revise its

audit based on the Taxpayer being a part-yearaesaf Utah from January 1, 2006 through April 2006
and the penalties and interest are to be reduasmidingly. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right teamal Hearing. However, this Decision and Order
will become the Final Decision and Order of the @aasion unless any party to this case files a @mritt
request within thirty (30) days of the date of ttiézision to proceed to a Formal Hearing. Suelgyagst shall

be mailed to the address listed below and mustidecthe Petitioner's name, address, and appealetumb
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Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will precludg further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of ,2012.
R. Bruce Johnson Marc B. Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli Michael J. Cragun
Commissioner Commissioner

NOTICE: If a Formal Hearing is not requested, failure &y the balance due as determined by this order
within thirty days of the date hereon, may resultilate payment penalty. Petitioner may contagipayer
Services at (801) 297-7703 to make payment arraegtsm



