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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the
provisions of Utah Code § 59-1-502.5, on January 24, 2013. Petitioners (the “Taxpayers”) are appealing the
audit deficiency issued by Respondent (the “Division”) of individual income tax and the interest accrued
thereon for the 2007 tax year. The audit made three changes to the Taxpayers’ Utah Individual Income Tax
Return for that year. It denied the health care insurance premium deduction, the Utah capital gains deduction
and increased the Utah portion of adjusted gross income by adding back a moving expense deduction. The
Division issued the Notice of Deficiency and Audit Change (“Statutory Notice) on December 16, 2010, to the
Taxpayers, in which it imposed additional tax and interest, as follows:

Year Tax Penalties Interest Total
2007 $$$$$ $$5$$ $$5$$ $$5$$
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APPLICABLE LAW
Utah Code § 59-10-114 (2007) provides for certain additions to and subtractions from the federal

taxable income of an individual when calculating that person’s Utah state taxable income including a limited
deduction for capital gains reinvested into Utah small businesses and for amounts paid for health care
insurance as follows:

(2) There shall be subtracted from federal taxable income of a resident or
nonresident individual:

(g) subject to the limitations of Subsection (3)(e), amounts a taxpayer pays
during the taxable year for health care insurance, as defined in Title 31A,
Chapter 1, General Provisions:

(iy for:
(A) the taxpayer;
(B) the taxpayer’s spouse; and
(C) the taxpayer’s dependents; and

(i) tothe extent the taxpayer does not deduct the amounts under Section
125, 162, or 213, Internal Revenue Code, in determining federal
taxable income for the taxable year.

() (i) for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2003, the total
amount of a resident or nonresident individual’s short-term capital
gain or long-term capital gain on a capital gain transaction: (A) that
occurs on or after January 1, 2003; (B) if 70% or more of the gross
proceeds of the capital gain transaction are expended: (I) to purchase
qualifying stock in a Utah small business corporation; and (1) within
a 12-month period after the day on which the capital gain transaction
occurs; and (C) if, prior to the purchase of the qualifying stock
described in Subsection 2(1)(i)(B)(1), the resident or nonresident
individual did not have an ownership interest in the Utah small
business corporation that issued the qualifying stock; . ..

(3) (e) For purposes of Subsection (2)(g), a subtraction for an amount paid for
health care insurance as defined in Title 31A, Chapter 1, General
Provisions, is not allowed:

(i) for an amount that is reimbursed or funded in whole or in part by the
federal government, the state, or an agency or instrumentality of the
federal government or the state; and

(ii) for ataxpayer who is eligible to participate in a health plan maintained
and funded in whole or in part by the taxpayer's employer or the
taxpayer's spouse's employer.
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Under Utah Admin. Rule R865-91-7(E) the deduction for moving expense is limited as
follows:

Moving expenses deducted on the federal return may be deducted from the
Utah portion of FAGI only to the extent that they are for moving into Utah
and within Utah.

Utah Code § 59-10-537(1)(a) (2010) (prior version at § 59-10-537(1) (2007)) provides for the
imposition of interest for failure to pay tax when due, as follows:

Subject to the other provisions of this section, if any amount of income tax is
not paid on or before the last date prescribed in this chapter for payment,
interest on such amount at the rate and in the manner prescribed in Section
59-1-402 shall be paid.

Utah Code Ann. § 59-1-1417 (2010) provides that the burden of proof is upon the petitioner (taxpayer)
in income tax matters before the Commission as follows:

In a proceeding before the commission, the burden of proof is on the
petitioner . . .
DISCUSSION

When the Division audited the Taxpayers’ Utah Part-Year Individual Income Tax Return for the 2007
tax year the Division disallowed two deductions taken by the Taxpayers on the return, as well as made a
change to the Taxpayers’ Utah portion of federal adjusted gross income. At the hearing the Division argued
that the Taxpayers had misunderstood the Utah law on all these points. The Division did not assess any
penalties with the audit.

The first item noted as disallowed on the Statutory Notice was the amount of $$$$$ the Taxpayers had
claimed as a health care insurance premium deduction. The Taxpayers explained that TAXPAYER-1 had
worked for BUSINESS-1 in Utah from prior to the beginning of 2007 and up through September 2007. While
working for BUSINESS-1, the employer did provide a health insurance plan to the Taxpayers, although
TAXPAYER-1 did have to pay a portion of the premium. Then in MONTH 2007, TAXPAYER-1 changed
employers to BUSINESS-2 and the Taxpayers moved out of state. TAXPAYER-1 stated that although the
employer provided a company health insurance plan, for the first three months the new employer only paid
%%%%% of the premium and TAXPAYER-1 had to pay %%%%%. It was the Taxpayers’ calculation that
the total premiums paid for their health insurance for 2007 had been $$$$$, although some of this had been
paid by the employers and only a portion was paid out of pocket by the Taxpayers. The total amount of $$$$$
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claimed as a health care premium deduction actually included a number of other medical expenses that would
not be allowed under this deduction.

The Division explained that the health care insurance premium deduction is limited by Utah Code §
59-10-114 (3) and is not allowed for a taxpayer who is eligible to participate in a health plan maintained and
funded in whole or in part by the taxpayer's employer or the taxpayer's spouse's employer." In this case there
was no dispute that the Taxpayers were eligible under both BUSINESS-1 and BUSINESS-2 to participate in a
plan sponsored by the employer and funded in part by the employer. Under this limitation, none of the
premium amounts claimed by the Taxpayers qualified for this deduction, not even the portion that the
Taxpayers had to pay out of pocket for the insurance premiums. The Taxpayers claimed this deduction in
error on their Utah Individual Income Tax return and it was properly disallowed by the Division.

The second deduction disallowed in the audit was the Utah Capital Gains Deduction. At the hearing
the Taxpayers explained that they had cashed out some BUSINESS-1 stock from a stock incentive plan. They
had claimed a deduction in the amount of $$$$$ on their Utah return, which represented the total cost or
transaction expense. They explained that the sale price of the shares had been $$$$$, but their expenses in the
transaction had been the $$$$$, which is the amount that they deducted. Their total net proceeds had been only
$$$$$. The Taxpayer acknowledged that they did not use the proceeds from this sale to purchase stock in a
Utah small business corporation.

The Division pointed out that the deduction that they had claimed on their Utah Individual Income Tax
return had been under Utah Code Sec. 59-10-114(2)(l) and that provision allows a deduction only if 70% or
more of the gross proceeds of the capital gain transaction are expended to purchase qualifying stock in a Utah
small business corporation within a 12-month period after the transaction and if the taxpayer did not previously
have an ownership interest in the Utah small business. Again it was the Division’s position that the Taxpayers
did not qualify for this deduction under the statutory provisions.

The final item was a $$$$$ difference in the Utah portion of the Taxpayers’ adjusted gross income,
due to a subtraction for moving expenses. The Taxpayers had moved out of Utah in MONTH 2007 when
TAXPAYER-1 began work for BUSINESS-2. They had deducted moving expenses from their Utah portion of

adjusted gross income on their part-year resident return. The Division pointed to Utah Admin. Rule R865-91-

1 The Division did cite to prior Tax Commission decisions on this point including Utah State Tax Commission
Initial Hearing Order 11-296, issued October 14, 2011, that case in turn cites to Appeal No. 03-1675, 06-0036, 06-
0788, 08-1534. Many decisions issued by the Tax Commission are available to the public in a redacted format at
tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions.
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7(E) which provides that moving expenses deducted on the federal return may be deducted from the Utah
portion of FAGI only to the extent that they are for moving into Utah and within Utah. In this case the
expenses were for moving out of the state and the Taxpayers are not allowed to deduct them from their Utah
portion of federal adjusted gross income.

Upon review of the information and the law at issue, it appears that the Taxpayers did not understand
the Utah law in claiming the deductions or revision to their Utah portion of federal adjusted gross income
which they had claimed on their return. There was no indication that this was intentional disregard of the law
on the part of the Taxpayers and no penalties to that affect were assessed with the audit. The audit tax and

interest should be sustained in its entirety for the 2007 tax year.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge
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DECISION AND ORDER

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission sustains the Division’s audit deficiency of both tax and the

interest accrued there on for the 2007 tax year. The Taxpayers’ appeal is denied. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision and Order will
become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written request
within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be
mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2013.
R. Bruce Johnson D’ Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commission Chair Commissioner
Michael J. Cragun Robert P. Pero
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice: If a Formal Hearing is not requested as discussed above, failure to pay the balance resulting from this
order within thirty (30) days from the date of this order may result in a late payment penalty.



