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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Comamisfir an Initial Hearing pursuant to the
provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5, on MayAT11.

PETITIONER (“Petitioner” or “taxpayer”) has filed 2005 Utah individual income tax return on
which she claimed a refund of $$$3$3$ for the 20@5&ar. Taxpayer Services Division (“Division"ceved
the return on September 20, 2010. On NovembezH), the Division issued a Notice of Expired Reffon
Credit (“Notice”), in which it informed the taxpaythat the time to claim a refund or credit for #6905 tax
year had expired. The Notice informed the taxp#yatr“Utah law limits the time allowed to clainmefund or
credit to the later of three years from the due déthe return, plus the extension period, onears from the

payment date.”



Appeal No. 11-115

The Division states that the period for claimingfnd or credit of taxes for the 2005 tax yeqired
on October 15, 2009 and asks the Commission taisugt action to deny the refund request. Thpdg®r
explains that she is raising her daughter on heravd has not received any child support in segarsy She
also explains that her daughter is frequentlynd ¢hat she had lost some of her tax papers whemgivom
home to home. For these reasons and given théh&dcthe was also the caregiver for her stepfatherdied
in 2005, the taxpayer explained that she was unalfile her 2005 return until September 2010. Stmains
that she and her daughter are in need of the regis=fund and asks the Commission to refundtieto

APPLICABLE LAW

UCA 859-10-514 provides for the filing of a Utattdividual income tax return, as follows in pertinen

part:

@....
(a) an individual income tax return filed for a fiaxposed in accordance with Part 1,
Determination and Reporting of Tax Liability anddrmation, shall be filed with the
commission:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(a)(ii),arrbefore the 15th day of the
fourth month following the last day of the taxpdyd¢axable year; . . . .
UCA 859-10-516(1) provides that the Commissionllsiiiow an extension of time for filing an
individual income tax return, as follows in pertm@art:
(1) (a) The commission shall allow a taxpayer demsion of time for filing returns.
(b) The extension under Subsection (1)(a) mayeroted six months.
UCA §59-1-1410(8) limits the period during which a taxpayer may resfua refund or credit of
overpaid taxes, as follows in pertinent part:
(8) (a) Except as provided in Subsection (8)(l3ection 19-2-124, 59-7-522, 59-10-529, or

59-12-110, the commission may not make a cred#fand unless a person files a claim with
the commission within the later of:

1 This subsection, which became effective in 2008faias similar restrictions concerning refunds
or credits that were previously found in Utah Céae. §59-10-529(7).
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(i) three years from the due date of the returcluiging the period of any extension
of time provided in statute for filing the retumr,
(ii) two years from the date the tax was paid.
(b) The commission shall extend the time period dgperson to file a claim under
Subsection (8)(a) if:

(i) the time period described in Subsection (8@ not expired; and
(i) the commission and the person sign a writtgreament:

(A) authorizing the extension; and

(B) providing for the length of the extension.

UCA 859-1-1417 provides that the burden of proafpisn the petitioner in proceedings before the
Commission, with limited exceptions as follows:

In a proceeding before the commission, the burdgaramf is on the petitioner except for
determining the following, in which the burden @bpf is on the commission:
(1) whether the petitioner committed fraud witheimt to evade a tax, fee, or charge;
(2) whether the petitioner is obligated as thedfaree of property of the person that
originally owes a liability or a preceding trangfer but not to show that the person that
originally owes a liability is obligated for theahility; and
(3) whether the petitioner is liable for an incieasa deficiency if the increase is asserted
initially after a notice of deficiency is maileda&tcordance with Section 59-1-1405 and a
petition under Part 5, Petitions for Redetermimatid Deficiencies, is filed, unless the
increase in the deficiency is the result of a cleasrgcorrection of federal taxable income;
(a) required to be reported; and
(b) of which the commission has no notice at theetthe commission mailed the
notice of deficiency.

DISCUSSION
Section 59-1-1410(8)(a) provides that a taxpayeniitled to receive a refund of overpaid taxesvit
three years from the due date of the return (inolyeny statutory extension) or within two yeaosiirthe date
the tax was paid. For the 2005 tax year at isslligxes were withheld and paid on or before Apil 2006.
Two years from this date would be April 15, 2008e due date of a 2005 return, with extensior@cteber
15, 2006. A request for a refund or credit of padgd taxes for 2005 is timely if made by October2@09.
The taxpayer did not submit her refund request 8etember 20, 2010. Accordingly, the refund esis

untimely pursuant to Section 59-1-1410(8)(a).
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Although the taxpayer’'s circumstances are onegiiclwthe Commission is sympathetic, Utah law
does not grant the Commission the authority to e statute of limitations concerning refund exis
under such circumstances. Accordingly, the taxpayefund request should be denied, and the @imisi

action to deny the refund request should be swetain

Kerry R. Chapman
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission sustagBivision’s action to deny the taxpayer’s refund
request for the 2005 tax year. The taxpayersnefiequest is denied. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right taosrfral Hearing. However, this Decision and Ordéir wi
become the Final Decision and Order of the Comunissnless any party to this case files a writteuest
within thirty (30) days of the date of this decisitn proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a reqnedi Ise
mailed to the address listed below and must incthddPetitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will precludg further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of ,2011.
R. Bruce Johnson Marc B. Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
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D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli Michael J. Cragun
Commissioner Commissioner
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