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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 
 
 This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for Formal Hearing on February 

8, 2011.  The Applicant is appealing the denial of a salesperson license to sell motor vehicles.  

Based on the testimony and evidence presented at the Formal Hearing, the Tax Commission 

hereby makes its 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. On or about November 1, 2010, the Applicant submitted a Motor Vehicle Salesperson 

Application to the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division (“Division”).  (Exhibit R-1).   

2. Question number three of the application asks, “During the past 10 years, have you been 

convicted of any misdemeanors or felonies in Utah or any other state?”  Applicant 

checked the box indicating “Yes”, and in the space provided wrote “See Attached”. 
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3. On the sheet attached to the application, the Applicant listed two misdemeanor 

convictions in Utah for possession of marijuana and attempted possession of a controlled 

substance.  He listed two felony and six misdemeanor convictions in the State of STATE 

1 that included theft by receiving stolen property, possession of a controlled substance, 

and driving under the influence.     

4. The Applicant testified he entered into a plea agreement on the charges in Utah.  He 

stated he was sentenced to 24 months probation on September 15, 2009, as a part of the 

plea agreement, and that he has since been released from probation.  The Applicant was 

given additional time to submit documentation of his release from probation.  On 

February 14, 2011, the Commission received copy of a Probation summary report as well 

as a Motion and Order of Termination of Probation dated December 16, 2010.  The Judge 

had not signed the Order; however, there was a hand-written notation that probation was 

successfully terminated on January 27, 2011.   

5. The Applicant was also sentenced to six months in the COUNTY 1 Jail.  He testified that 

since his release he has focused on his recovery.  He has completed an intensive 

outpatient program, a relapse prevention program, and a cognitive change program.  The 

Applicant was also the house manager of a safe/sober house in STATE 1.  He submitted 

copies of his certificates of achievement for the outpatient and relapse prevention 

programs.  (Exhibits P-2 and P-3).   

6. The Applicant remains on probation.  He was sentenced to seven years probation in 

STATE 1, and was allowed to return to Utah in February 2010 as part of an interstate 

compact.  The Applicant’s probation is currently being supervised by the Utah 

Department of Corrections.  The Applicant submitted a letter from his probation officer 

that indicates as of December 20, 2010, the Applicant had completed all requested 

conditions of his probation.  (Exhibit P-4).   

7. The Applicant testified that because of the interstate compact, it is difficult to get an early 

release from probation.  He explained that before Utah can release him from probation, 

the State of STATE 1 must approve the release.  He stated that his probation officer has 

submitted such a request to the State of STATE 1, and was given additional time to 

provide a copy of that request to the Commission.  On March 9, 2011, the Applicant 

submitted a letter from his probation officer indicating the Applicant has been submitted 

for early probation termination, and that a response was expected within the next two to 

three weeks on that request.     
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8. A telephone status conference was held on May 18, 2011 to review the Applicant’s 

probation status.  The Applicant stated at that time the State of STATE 1 had requested 

additional information, and that it could be up to a month before he received a decision 

on the request for early release from probation. 

9. The Applicant has the support of his family, friends, and employer.  He submitted letters 

from his general sales manager, his father, his former mother-in-law, and a friend on his 

behalf.  All of whom note the positive changes the Applicant has made to his life in the 

past two years.  (Exhibits P-1, P-5, P-6, and P-7).    

10. REPTITIONER REP. spoke on behalf of the Applicant.  He stated that there is a lot of 

alcohol and drug abuse in the car industry, and that he had been sober for seven and a 

half years.  He opined that the Applicant is very honest, and would make a great 

salesperson.   

11. For the Division, RESPONDENT REP. 2 testified the application was denied under Utah 

Code Ann. §41-3-209 because of the convictions involving controlled substances.  He 

also noted that the Division considers the DUI convictions and driving without privileges 

to be crimes involving a motor vehicle.   

12. RESPONDENT REP. 2 further noted that it is easier to enforce and monitor individuals 

who are granted a “conditional” salesperson license by the Commission due to the 

recently enacted statutory provisions that require Bureau of Criminal Identification 

(“BCI”) continually monitor licensed salespersons for convictions.   

APPLICABLE LAW 

 The denial, suspension, and revocation of a salesperson license are governed by Utah 

Code Ann. §41-3-209 as follows: 

(2) (a)  If the administrator finds that there is reasonable cause to deny, suspend, 
or  

             revoke a license issued under this chapter, the administrator shall deny, 
suspend,  
             or revoke the license.   

(b) Reasonable cause for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license 
includes, in relation to the applicant or license holder or any of its 
partners, officers, or directors… 
(vii)   a violation of any state or federal law involving motor vehicles; 
(viii)  a violation of any state or federal law involving controlled 

substances… 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
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The Division had reasonable cause to deny the Applicant’s salesperson license under 

Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209.  Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209 mandates that a license “shall” be 

denied, revoked, or suspended for reasonable cause, and has identified a violation of any state or 

federal law involving motor vehicles, and violation of any state or federal law involving 

controlled substances as reasonable cause.   

 Although the Division had reasonable cause to suspend the Petitioner’s license, in the 

past, the Commission has considered other factors, such as the passage of time since the most 

recent violation, completion of probation or parole, and payment of all fines and restitution.  In 

the past, the Commission has used clearing parole or probation to allow salesperson licenses to 

individuals who have been convicted of the crimes enumerated in Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209.   

 Although the Applicant remains on probation, the Commission finds there to be good 

cause to grant him a salesperson license.  It has been more than two years since his most recent 

conviction; he has completed the conditions of probation for both Utah and STATE 1 and been 

released from probation in Utah.  He has the support of his family, employer, and probation 

officer. 

 While typically, as a matter of practice, the Commission has relied on release from 

probation as a condition for granting a license, this is not absolute.  There may be situations 

where an applicant has taken sufficient steps to show that he or she is integrated into the 

community and paid his or her debt to society. Furthermore, the probation standard which has 

been relied on by the Commission has always been from the Utah court system; this is 

appropriate as the motor vehicle laws are in the Utah Code. To apply probation standards from 

another state that has different provisions and processes, as well as different motor vehicle laws, 

would invariably result in disparate treatment for identical crimes. 

 Finally, the Majority takes administrative notice of the State of STATE 1 Probation and 

Parole website and STATE 1’s participation in the Interstate Compact.  The STATE 1 website 

states, “Interstate compact is a supervision process which contributes to the offender's 

success and reduces likelihood of future criminal activity by providing an opportunity 

to seek improved residence, employment and social circumstances."1  We believe that 

this provision, although not dispositive, is consistent with our ruling. 

 We find that, given the totality of the Appellant’s record, he should be granted the 

license.  Finally, we note that the Applicant’s criminal report will continue to be monitored by 

BCI, and is subject to suspension or revocation if there are further violations. 

                                                 
1 http://www.idoc.STATE 1.gov/print/content/probation_and_parole/interstate_compact 
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DECISION AND ORDER2 

 Based on the foregoing the Commission abates the action of the Division, and grants the 

Applicant a salesperson license.  It is so ordered.   

 DATED this ________ day of _________________________, 2011. 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson     D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
 
 

DISSENT 

 We respectfully dissent from our colleagues.  The Tax Commission does not have 

jurisdiction to review or reconsider the STATE 1 court’s decision that placed the Applicant on 

probation for a specified period of time, nor its determination on when the Applicant should be 

released from probation.  We must give “full faith and credit” to those judicial proceedings.  See 

U.S. Constitution, Art. IV, Sec. 1.  In the past, the Commission has used clearing parole or 

probation to allow salesperson licenses to individuals who have been convicted of the crimes 

enumerated in Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209, and we no reason to deviate in this case.  It is our 

position that as long as the Applicant remains on probation, the Division should deny issuance of 

a salesperson license.   

 

 

R. Bruce Johnson      Michael J. Cragun 
Commission Chair      Commissioner  
 
 
 
Notice of Appeal Rights:  You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request 
for Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §63-
46b-13.  A Request for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of 
law or fact.  If you do not file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order 
constitutes final agency action.  You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue 
judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-601 and §63-46b-13 et. 
seq. 

                                                 
2 In the instance of a tie vote between the Commissioners, the decision is deemed to be in favor of the 
Petitioner.  See Utah Code Ann. §59-1-205. 


