10-2675

REFUND REQUEST

TAX YEAR: 2010

SIGNED: 03-21-2011

COMMISSIONERS: R. JOHNSON, M. JOHNSON, M. CRAGUN

EXCUSED: D. DIXON
BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION

PETITIONER, INITIAL HEARING ORDER

Petitioner, Appeal No. 10-2675
VS. Impound No. ###

Tax Type: DUI Administrative Fee

MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION OF THE UTAH Tax Year: 2010
STATE TAX COMMISSION,

Respondent. Judge: Marshall
Presiding:

Jan Marshall, Administrative Law Judge
Appearances:

For Petitioner: PETITIONERRro S

PETITIONER REP., Representative

For Respondent: RESPONDENT REP. 1, Motor VeHidigsion
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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Comamdsir an Initial Hearing on March 8, 2011.

Petitioner is requesting a refund of the administeaimpound fee assessed when his vehicle was

impounded following an arrest for driving under thuence.

APPLICABLE LAW

A refund of the DUI administrative fee shall beagied under Utah Code Ann. 841-6a-

1406(6)(c), as

follows:

The administrative impound fee assessed under &titns€6)(a)(iv) shall be waived or
refund by the State Tax Commission if the registenner, lien holder, or owner’s agent
presents written evidence to the State Tax Comaridsiat:

(i)

the Driver License Division determined that theeated person’s driver license
should not be suspended or revoked under SectieB+ZB or 41-6a-521 as
shown by a letter or other report from the Drivecdnse Division presented
within 30 days of the final notification from theiler License Division; or
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(ii) the vehicle was stolen at the time of the impounadnas shown by a copy of the
stolen vehicle report presented within 30 daysefimpoundment.
DISCUSSION

Taxpayer's representative is his mother, and s¢sees as his conservator. She explained that in
2007 the Taxpayer suffered a brain injury as alteda stroke and heart attack. She stated thati$o
suffers from short-term memory loss, anxiety, amem disability. She sent a letter dated Octol@gr 1
2010 that outlined the Taxpayer’s refund request.

The Driver License Division issued a letter dafgulil 1, 2010 to the Taxpayer, which stated they
were not taking any action on his driver licenSéhe letter included instructions on how to apply do
refund. The Taxpayer did not receive the lettéte testified that he telephoned the Driver License
Division in mid-May to inquire about the letter awdbtaining a refund, and was told the letter was
returned to the Driver License Division and thatcdeelld come in and get a copy of the letter foea. f
The letter was addressed to the Taxpayer, and vedledto an address of ADDRESS in CITY. The
Taxpayer and his representative explained thisemddivas actually a post office box at a UPS Stmé,
the owners/operators declared bankruptcy and tire stas closed without any notice to the holders of
post office boxes. The Taxpayer stated that hendideceive the letter from the Driver License iBian
until the thirty day period had expired.

For the Division, RESPONDENT REP. 1 stated theuestjwas denied under Utah Code Ann.
841-6a-1406(6)(c), which provides the administeiimpound fee will be refunded if the Driver Licens
Division takes no action on the license and thermgfrequest is submitted within 30 days. She dtiuat
they first received a copy of the Driver LicenseviBion letter from the Taxpayer in early July, amu
July 14, 2010 received his refund request. RESPENID REP. 1 argued the Taxpayer had an
opportunity to update his address with the DriviErehse Division at his hearing; that holders of/elri
licenses are required to update their address Wuitver License Division within ten days if there as
change in their address; and that a copy of therletas also sent to ATTORNEY, the Taxpayer’'s
attorney. When questioned, RESPONDENT REP. ldthi Division does not receive any information
from the Driver License Division on whether therasweturned mail.

Under Utah Code Ann. 841-61-1406(6)(c)(i), the audstiative impound fee can be refunded if
the arrested person’s driver license was not sukgekar revoked, and a copy of the letter from thigdd
License Division was submitted within 30 days. Hstitioner's refund request was not received until
July, but the letter from the Driver License Diwigiwas issued on April 1, 2010, more than 30 daigs.p
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The Petitioner did not submit his refund requeshinithe 30 day period after the final notificatifsom

the Driver License Division that his driver licensas not being suspended or revoked. The statgte d
not allow the Commission discretion to grant a meffif a request is submitted beyond the 30 dayogeri
While there are unique circumstances in this casalse of the returned mail, the Taxpayer contacted
the Driver License Division in May, but did not tezst a refund until July. Even if the Commissicerev

to consider the Driver License Division letter ® $ent in May when the Taxpayer received it, thenck
request would have been untimely because it wasulmhitted until July. Taxpayer’'s refund request

should be denied.

Jan Marshall
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission deniegidPetr’'s request for a refund of the

impound fee. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to errral Hearing. However, this Decision and
Order will become the Final Decision and Ordertef Commission unless any party to this case files a
written request within thirty (30) days of the dafethis decision to proceed to a Formal HeariSgch a
request shall be mailed to the address listed balwdvmust include the Petitioner's name, addresk, a
appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will precludg further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2011.
R. Bruce Johnson Marc B. Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli Michael J. Cragun
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