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STATEMENT OF THE CASE
This matter came before the Utah State Tax Conomissn February 16, 2011 for an

Initial Hearing in accordance with Utah Code Anm94l-502.5. Petitioner (the “Taxpayer”)
requested a waiver a 100 % fraud penalty in theusanof $$$$$ assessed as the result of a sales
tax audit on the purchase of a vehicle. On Septe2®e2010, the Auditing Division of the Utah
State Tax Commission (the “Division) assessed thepayer $$$$$ in additional tax, a 100%
fraud penalty, and interest, which continues towec
APPLICABLE LAW
Utah Code Ann. 859-12-103(1)(a) provides for adaxetail sales of tangible personal

property made within the state.
Utah Code Ann. 859-1-401(7)(a)(iv) provides for aléirs on certain tax underpayments
as follows:

If the underpayment is due to fraud with intenet@de the tax, the penalty is the
greater of $500 per period or 100% of the undergaym
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Interest on any underpayment, deficiency, or delémcy of any tax or fee administered
by the commission shall be computed from the tilee driginal return is due, excluding any
filing or payment extensions, to the date the paynie received.” Utah Code Ann. 859-1-
402(5).

Upon making a record of its actions, and uponaealsle cause shown, the commission
may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the pesglir interest imposed under this part. Utah
Code Ann. 859-1-401(13).

DISCUSSION

On or about April 29, 2010, the Taxpayer purchase@006 Subaru Impreza (the
“Subaru”). The Taxpayer indicated that the purchasee of the vehicle was $$$$$. The bill of
sale reflects a purchase price of $$$$$. Upomditiind registering the vehicle, the Taxpayer paid
sales tax on a $$$$$ purchase price, rather tleaadiual purchase price of $$$$$.

The Taxpayer does not dispute the tax liability ioterest, but disputes the
characterization of the transaction as “fraud,” etieves the amount of the penalty is too high.
The taxpayer does not dispute that the bill of sakxd to register the vehicle indicated a purchase
price of $$$$$. However, the Taxpayer explained sha was a STUDENT, and that the penalty
would be a hardship on her. She indicated thatwhss her first car and that she was not aware of
the consequences of stating a lower sales pricever the amount of sales tax otherwise
payable.

It is the Division’s position that the Taxpayeddiot make a “mistake” in using a bill of
sale with a $$$$$ sales price, knowing that theclmase price was $$$$$. The Division
submitted a copy of the bill of sale, which showsuachase price of $$$$$. The Division asked
that the Commission sustain the penalty, notingthah Code Ann. 859-1-401(7) provides for a
penalty of the greater of $$$$$ or 100% of the ypalgment of tax.

Reviewing the evidence in this case, there idispute that the bill of sale used to
register the vehicle indicated a sales price of¢$$%here is no dispute that the actual purchase
price was $$$$$. There is no dispute that the Tyepased the bill of sale to register the vehicle
and pay sales tax on $$$$$ when sales tax on $3$8$%lue. The evidence, taken as a whole,
supports the Division’s position that the Taxpayeaattions were fraud with intent to evade the

tax, which supports the assessment of sales t&xest, and a penalty.

Clinton Jensen
Administrative Law Judge
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DECISION AND ORDER

On the basis of the foregoing, the Commissionassthe Division’s audit assessment of

sales tax, penalty, and interest. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party’s right t¢-armal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Omfethe Commission unless any party to this
case files a written request within thirty (30) dagf the date of this decision to proceed to a
Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailgtig¢@ddress listed below and must include the
Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will precludg further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2011.
R. Bruce Johnson Marc B. Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli Michael J. Cragun
Commissioner Commissioner

NOTICE: Failure to pay the balance due as a reduhis order within thirty days from the date
hereon may result in an additional penalty.



