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LOCALLY ASSESSED GREENBELT PROPERTY 
TAX YEARS: 2008, 2009, 2010 
SIGNED: 03-14-2012 
COMMISSIONERS: M. JOHNSON, D. DIXON, M. CRAGUN 
EXCUSED: R. JOHNSON 

 
Presiding: 
 Aimee Nielson-Larios, Administrative Law Judge 
        
Appearances: 

For Petitioner: PETITIONER, by telephone 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REP. 1, Utah County Auditor, by telephone 
 RESPONDENT REP. 2, Utah County Assessor, by telephone 
 RESPONDENT REP. 3, Utah County Recorder, by telephone 
 RESPONDENT REP. 4, Utah County Recorder, by telephone 
   

STATEMENT OF THE CASE  

Petitioner (“Taxpayer”) appeals the denial by the Utah County Board of Equalization 

(“County”) of the Taxpayer’s greenbelt request for the 2008-2010 tax years.   The County denied 

the Taxpayer’s request because she filed her greenbelt application after the May 1, 2010 deadline.  

This matter was argued in an Initial Hearing on February 7, 2012 in accordance with Utah Code 

Ann. §59-1-502.5.   

APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah Code § 59-2-502 states in part:   

As used in this part: 
. . . .  
(8)  "Withdrawn from this part" means that land that has been assessed under 

this part is no longer assessed under this part or eligible for assessment 
under this part for any reason including that: 
. . . .  
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(c)  (i)   the land has a change in ownership; and 
(ii)  (A) the new owner fails to apply for assessment under this part as 

required by Section 59-2-509 . . .  
 
Utah Code § 59-2-506 states in part:   

 (5)  (a)  The county assessor shall mail to an owner of the land that is subject to 
a rollback tax a notice that: 
(i)  the land is withdrawn from this part; 
(ii)  the land is subject to a rollback tax under this section; and 
(iii)  the rollback tax is delinquent if the owner of the land does not pay 

the tax within 30 days after the day on which the county assessor 
mails the notice. 

(b)   (i)  The rollback tax is due and payable on the day the county assessor 
mails the notice required by Subsection (5)(a). 

(ii)  Subject to Subsection (7), the rollback tax is delinquent if an 
owner of the land that is withdrawn from this part does not pay the 
rollback tax within 30 days after the day on which the county 
assessor mails the notice required by Subsection (5)(a).  

    . . . .  
(10)  (a)  Subject to Subsection (10)(b), an owner of land may appeal to the 

county board of equalization: 
(i)  a decision by a county assessor to withdraw land from assessment 

under this part; or 
(ii)  the imposition of a rollback tax under this section. 

(b)   An owner shall file an appeal under Subsection (10)(a) no later than 45 
days after the day on which the county assessor mails the notice 
required by Subsection (5). 

 
Utah Code § 59-2-508 states in part:        

(1)  If an owner of land eligible for assessment under this part wants the land to 
be assessed under this part, the owner shall submit an application to the 
county assessor of the county in which the land is located. 

(2)  An application required by Subsection (1) shall: 
. . . . . 
(c)  be submitted by: 

(i)  May 1 of the tax year in which assessment under Subsection (1) is 
requested if the land was not assessed under this part in the year 
before the application is submitted; or 

(ii)  by the date otherwise required by this part for land that prior to the 
application being submitted has been assessed under this part . . .  

. . . .  
 
Utah Code § 59-2-509 states in part:  

(1)  Subject to the other provisions of this section, land assessed under this part 
may continue to be assessed under this part if the land continues to comply 
with the requirements of this part, regardless of whether the land continues 
to have: 
(a)  the same owner; or 
(b)  legal description.  
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(2)  Notwithstanding Subsection (1), land described in Subsection (1) is subject 
to the rollback tax as provided in Section 59-2-506 if the land is withdrawn 
from this part. 

 (3)  Notwithstanding Subsection (1), land is withdrawn from this part if: 
(a)  there is a change in: 

(i)  the ownership of the land; . . .  
. . .  and 

(b)  after a change described in Subsection (3)(a): 
. . .  
(ii)  an owner of the land fails to submit a new application for 

assessment as provided in Section 59-2-508. 
(4)  An application required by this section shall be submitted within 120 days 

after the day on which there is a change described in Subsection (3)(a).  
 

DISCUSSION 

The Taxpayer explained the following.  The subject property is a parcel of land used as a 

dry farm for cattle grazing.  The land has been owned by the Taxpayer’s family since the 1950s 

or 1960s until an ownership change in October 2006.  Before the ownership change, the subject 

property was designated as greenbelt.  In October 2006, the Taxpayer received the subject 

property by deed and immediately sold the property to PERSON 1, with PERSON 1 financing the 

property.   

The County explained that because of the change in ownership, PERSON 1 should have 

completed a new greenbelt application, but he did not do so.  On July 26, 2007 and on March 12, 

2008, the County sent PERSON 1 greenbelt application forms in response to his requests, but 

PERSON 1 never returned a completed application to the County.  Because PERSON 1 did not 

submit a completed application, on June 26, 2008 the County withdrew the greenbelt designation 

and mailed a notice of the withdrawal, assessing the rollback taxes and including information on 

the 45-day time period for appealing the withdrawal.   

The Taxpayer explained that in May 2009, she regained ownership of the subject 

property after PERSON 1 became delinquent on the property loan and went bankrupt.  She 

asserted that PERSON 1 knew he was going bankrupt so he had no incentive to keep up on the 

greenbelt paperwork.  She also explained that the subject property continued to be used as a dry 

farm while it was owned by PERSON 1.  She said that in early September 2010, she received a 

“Notice of Delinquent Taxes – September 2, 2010,” through which she learned that the subject 

property was no longer classified as greenbelt and that delinquent rollback taxes were owed.  As 

part of her petition she provided the amounts of the increased taxes on the subject property for the 

years the property was withdrawn from greenbelt status.  In September 2010, the Taxpayer 

submitted a new greenbelt application, based on which the County granted the greenbelt status for 

the 2011 tax year.  The County explained that it had not granted the greenbelt status for the 2010 
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tax year because the application was received after May 1, 2010, the deadline for greenbelt 

applications for the 2010 tax year.  

The Taxpayer asks the Utah State Tax Commission to grant the greenbelt status for the 

2008-2010 tax years or provide her with any other available relief.  She also asks that if the 

Commission finds against her the Utah Legislature be petitioned to change the law to allow more 

time for greenbelt applications for situations such as hers, where an original owner regains the 

property after a subsequent owner defaults and loses interest in maintaining the greenbelt status.   

In response to the Taxpayer’s requests, the County acknowledged that the Taxpayer was 

caught in an unfortunate series of events; however, the County also asserted the Utah Code 

requires taxpayers to submit new greenbelt applications when there are changes in ownership.  

The County noted that even though PERSON 1 and the County were in contact, PERSON 1 never 

submitted a completed greenbelt application.  Additionally, the County also noted that when the 

subject property was withdrawn from greenbelt status in June 2008, no appeal was submitted 

within the 45-day time period for appealing the withdrawal.   

Under §§ 59-2-502(8) and 59-2-509(3), land is withdrawn from the greenbelt status when 

there is a change in ownership and the new owner fails to file a new greenbelt application.  Under 

§§ 59-2-509(4) and 59-2-508(2)(c)(ii), the new owner must file his application within 120 days of 

the date the ownership changed.  Under § 59-2-509(2), when land is withdrawn, it is subject to 

the rollback tax.  Under § 59-2-506(5), the county assessor must provide notice of the withdrawal 

from greenbelt and the assessment of the rollback tax.  Under § 59-2-506(10), a taxpayer has 45 

days to appeal a withdrawal from greenbelt and the assessment of rollback tax.  For this appeal, 

the County properly withdrew the subject property from greenbelt status on June 26, 2008, after 

the new owner did not file a new greenbelt application within the 120-day time period.  

Furthermore, no evidence suggests that anyone filed a timely appeal of that withdrawal within the 

45-day time period.   

Under § 59-2-508(1), an owner of land eligible for greenbelt status may submit a new 

greenbelt application.  Under § 59-2-508(2)(c)(i), if the land was not assessed as greenbelt in the 

prior tax year, then the new greenbelt application must be submitted by May 1 of the tax year to 

which the greenbelt status would apply.  A county board of equalization may not grant the 

greenbelt designation for years before a timely greenbelt application is filed.  See Appeal No. 

10-2614, in which the Commission ruled that a county board of equalization lacked authority to 

grant a taxpayer’s greenbelt request when a taxpayer did not file her greenbelt application by the 

May 1 deadline for that tax year.  The order for Appeal No. 10-2614 is available online at 

http://tax.utah.gov/commission/decision/10-2614.intsanqc.pdf.  For this appeal, the County 
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properly granted the greenbelt status for the 2011 tax year because the application was received 

before the May 1, 2011 deadline.  Furthermore the County properly denied the greenbelt status of 

the 2010 and prior tax years because the application was received after the May 1, 2010 and other 

prior years’ deadlines.  The County Board of Equalization does not have discretion in granting 

greenbelt status for prior years when an application has not met the May 1 deadline for those 

years.   

 For the reasons provided above, the County properly denied the Taxpayer’s request for 

the greenbelt status for the 2008-2010 tax years because the Taxpayer’s application for those 

years was untimely.   

The Taxpayer may contact her state representatives and ask that they introduce legislation 

to change the law for situations such as hers.    

 
 
    ________________________________ 
    Aimee Nielson-Larios  
    Administrative Law Judge 
 
 

DECISION AND ORDER 

Based on the foregoing, the Commission sustains the Utah County Board of 

Equalization’s decision to deny greenbelt status for the subject property for the 2008-2010 tax 

years.  It is so ordered.   

This Decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  Any party to this case 

may file a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a 

Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the 

Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

Utah State Tax Commission 
Appeals Division 

210 North 1950 West 
Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

 
Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2012. 
 
 
 
R. Bruce Johnson  Marc B. Johnson 
Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 
 
 



Appeal No. 10-2624 

 -6- 
 

D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli  Michael J. Cragun 
Commissioner   Commissioner  
 


