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STATEMENT OF THE CASE
This matter came before the Commission for andhifiearing in accordance with Utah Code Ann.
§59-1-502.5, on May 25, 2011. Petitioner, (theXfayer”) is appealing an audit by the Auditing Bien of

the Utah State Tax Commission (the “Division”) reihg the amount of claimed clean fuels tax créldie
Division’s audit assessed additional tax in the ant@f $$$$$ and interest in the amount of $$$$8uph
September 29, 2010. Interest continues to acarwny unpaid balance.
APPLICABLE LAW
A clean fuel vehicle tax credit is allowed pursuamttah Code Ann. §59-10-100923s

follows:

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(b), for tagalelars beginning on or after January
1, 2001, but beginning on or before December 31028 claimant, estate, or trust may
claim a nonrefundable tax credit against tax otisvdue under this chapter in an
amount equal to:

()50% of the incremental cost of an OEM vehiclgiseered in Utah minus the

1 The Commission cites the 2008 version of the Individual |Incone Tax Act.
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amount of any clean fuel grant received, up to gimam tax credit of $3,000 per

vehicle, if the vehicle:

(A) is fueled by propane, natural gas, or electricity;

(B) is fueled by other fuel the board determines anyoal or before July 1 to be at
least as effective in reducing air pollution adsuender Subsection (2)(a)(i)(A);
or

(C) meets the federal clean-fuel vehicle standardhénféderal Clean Air Act
Amendments of 1990, 42 U.S.C. Sec 7521 et. seq.

Subsection (4) of Utah Code Ann. 859-10-1009 plaeesin limitations on the clean fuel vehicle tax
credit, as follows:

Except as provided by Subsection (5), the tax tredier this section is allowed only:

(a) against any Utah tax owed in the taxable year bycthimant, estate, or trust;

(b) in the taxable year in which the item is purcha®edvhich the credit is claimed; and

(c) once per vehicle.

Utah Code Ann. 859-1-1417 provides, “[ijn a prodagdefore the commission, the burden
of proof is on the petitioner...”

DISCUSSION

The Division issued a Notice of Deficiency and Ahange on August 30, 2010 on the Taxpayer’'s
individual income tax return for the 2008 tax ye@ihe Taxpayer had claimed a clean fuel vehicletadit in
the amount of $$$$$, which the Division reduce$$$$$. Taxpayer was assessed tax in the amount of
$$$$$ and interest in the amount of $$$$$ througteSnber 29, 2010.

The Taxpayer submitted a copy of his form TC-40Miming the clean fuel vehicle credit for the
2008 tax year. The form includes certificatiomfrthe Department of Environmental Quality (‘“DEQiat
the Taxpayer purchased a clean fuel credit vehildie. Taxpayer filled in “incremental cost” of $$$%#d
determined he was entitled to claim a credit of 5%hat amount, or $$$$3$.

The Division’s representative argued that the comreense reading of the statute would limit
Taxpayer’s credit to costs actually incurred byTh&payer. He noted that the Division will alldvetcredit if
it has not previously been taken for a specificisleh However, the Division’s representative argtieat a
credit should necessarily involve amounts paidigyTaxpayer claiming the credit. The Division aml a
credit in the amount of $$$$$, or 50% of the Taxguaycost of the vehicle. The Division’s repnesgive
noted that this specific issue has not been béher€ommission, and asked for guidance.

In rebuttal, the Taxpayer stated that the reasothé credit is to encourage the use of alteradtiels
and improve the air quality along the Wasatch Frétd stated that after he purchased the vehicjeestion,
he spent $$$$3$ replacing a compuvalve. He archetdhe is doing exactly what the law was desigoed t
encourage. He argued that the Division is tryimdjriit the credit to 50% of the purchase pricet that
limitation does not exist anywhere in the 2008udtafor an OEM vehicle. He noted that in the fldebates
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for HB 106, the sponsor of the bill indicated thatchasers of used vehicles would claim a full itréd
further discussion, those debating the bill ackmalgked that the credit would be available to puretsasf
used vehicles.

There is no dispute that the Taxpayer is entitberlaim the clean fuel vehicle tax credit for #G08
tax year. Rather, the issue is whether the amafithe credit is limited to 50% of the Taxpayextst or 50%
of the amount of the CNG option when the vehicls waw. The Court iMacFarlane v. Utah State Tax
Comm’n 134 P.3d 1116, 1121 (Utah 2006), found that tagit statutes are to be strictly construed against
the party claiming the credit. The Court went ombte that, “’the rule of strict construction shibaot be
utilized to defeat the intent of the legislativedib.. [t]he best evidence of that intent is the plain mieg of
the statute.”ld. citing State Dep’t of Assessments and Taxation v. Bel&3& A.d2 561 (Md. 1989) and
Jensen v. Intermountain Health Care, Ir879 P.2d 903 (Utah 1984). Subsection (2) of @atie Ann. 859-
10-1009 allows a credit for “50% of the incrememt@sét of an OEM vehicle...up to a maximum of $3,000".
The Taxpayer has claimed a $$$$$ credit, and ipatpf that amount provided a sticker for a ne\@&0
Ford Contour showing a $$$$$ cost for a “gaseoeabdngine” option.

Taxpayer’s calculation of the credit ignores Subiead4) of Utah Code Ann. §59-10-1009, which
allows the credit only “in the taxable year in whithe item is purchased for which the credit isnctad”.
Taxpayer claimed the credit in the 2008 tax yéer year he purchased the vehicle, with the equipaherady
installed, for a total purchase price of $$$$Heasonable interpretation of this statutory langlaghat the
Taxpayer’s credit is limited to 50% of the amouatgaid in 2008, the tax year in which he took theslit.

The Division’s audit assessment should be sustained

Clinton Jensen
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission sustairsutie assessment of additional tax and interest on

the Taxpayer’s individual income tax return for #@08 tax year. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right taosrfral Hearing. However, this Decision and Ordéir wi
become the Final Decision and Order of the Comuanissiless any party to this case files a writteuest
within thirty (30) days of the date of this decisito proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a requnesit Ise
mailed to the address listed below and must incthdePetitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134
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Failure to request a Formal Hearing will precludg further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this

day of

0122

R. Bruce Johnson
Commission Chair

D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commissioner

Marc B. Johnson
Commissioner

Michael J. Cragun
Commissioner



