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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Commission for andhifiearing in accordance with Utah Code Ann.

859-1-502.5, on May 3, 2011. Taxpayer is appeaimgudit of his 2007 income tax return. He wasssed
additional tax in the amount of $$$$$ and intemeshe amount of $$$$$ through September 16, 2010.
Interest continues to accrue on the unpaid balance.
APPLICABLE LAW
A clean fuel vehicle tax credit is allowed pursusnttah Code Ann. §59-10-1009t24s

follows:

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(b), for tazalglars beginning on or after January
1, 2001, but beginning on or before December 31028 claimant, estate, or trust may
claim a nonrefundable tax credit against tax otisvdue under this chapter in an
amount equal to:

(i) 50% of the cost of equipment for conversion, iftiied by the board, of a motor
vehicle registered in Utah minus the amount of elean fuel conversion grant

1 The Commission cites to the 2007 version of the |Individual |nconme Tax Act.
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received, up to a maximum tax credit of $2,500vgdricle, if the motor vehicle:

(A) Is to be fueled by propane, natural gas, or etgttyi

(B) Is to be fueled by other fuel the board determarewially on or before July 1 to
be at least as effective in reducing air pollutes fuels under Subsection

(2)(@)(i)(A); or
(C) Will meet the federal clean fuel vehicle standandthe federal Clean Air Act
Amendments of 1990, 42 U.S.C. Sec 7521 et. Sed.; an
Subsection (4) of Utah Code Ann. 859-10-1009 plaeesin limitations on the clean fuel vehicle tax
credit, as follows:

Except as provided by Subsection (5), the tax tredtier this section is allowed only:

(a) against any Utah tax owed in the taxable year byctaimant, estate, or tust;

(b) in the taxable year in which the item is purcha®edvhich the credit is claimed; and

(c) once per vehicle.

Utah Code Ann. 859-1-1417 provides, “[ijn a prodagdefore the commission, the burden
of proof is on the petitioner...”

DISCUSSION

The Division issued a Notice of Deficiency and Authange on August 17, 2010 on Taxpayer’s
individual income tax return for the 2007 tax ye@he Taxpayer had claimed a clean fuel vehicletadit in
the amount of $$$$$, which the Division reduce$$8$$. Taxpayer was assessed tax in the amount of
$$$$$ and interest in the amount of $$$$$ throughteSnber 16, 2010.

The Taxpayer submitted a copy of his form TC-40Miming the clean fuel vehicle credit for the
2007 tax year. The form includes certificationnfrthe Department of Environmental Quality (‘“DEQ");
however, DEQ did not complete “part B” of the foimdicating which fuel the vehicle uses, whethemet the
federal Clean Air Act, or if the vehicle was conteel or OEM. The Taxpayer filled in “qualifying
expenditures” in the amount of $$$$$, and deterchine was entitled to claim a credit of $$$$$ for a
converted vehicle. Taxpayer stated that in oraleDEQ to certify that the vehicle qualifies foettredit, the
requirements of Administrative Rule R307-121-5 mibstmet. Taxpayer stated that he met all of the
requirements except (5)(d), which is the name, egijrand phone number of the person that convited
motor vehicle. He stated he did not have tharméion because he purchased the vehicle from steneloo
had purchased it from the individual who convettezlvehicle. Taxpayer testified that he was bkgldDEQ
that he would still qualify for the credit if he tgan estimate of the cost to convert. He statatittte Division
requested additional information, and he obtairstiinates from someone at DEALERSHIP who estimated
the cost of a system with performance similar o Taxpayer's vehicle at $$$$3$.

The Division’s representative argued that the comreense reading of the statute would limit
Taxpayer’s credit to costs actually incurred byTh&payer. The Division’s representative notedttheicosts

to convert the vehicle to clean fuel were incubgdwo owners prior to the Taxpayer. He noted that

-2-
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Division will allow the credit if it has not previsly been taken for a specific vehicle. However Division’s
representative argued that a credit should nedlysgamlve amounts paid by the Taxpayer claimihg t
credit. The Division allowed a credit in the ambah$$$$$, or 50% of the Taxpayer’s cost of thhicke.
The Division’s representative noted that this sfeisue has not been before the Commission, sketlfor
guidance.

In rebuttal, the Taxpayer stated that the creatit leen amended and is now limited to 35% of the
purchase price or 50% of conversion costs, up $$$$ He stated that in 2007, statute did not lihgtcredit
with regard to purchase price of the vehicle, mathe owner who converted the vehicle. He noted tthe
Division cited to Utah Code Ann. 859-10-127 inAtsswer, which was not applicable to the tax yeéssate.
The Taxpayer stated that it appears the Divisi@rgsiing that he does not meet the requirementsrithd
statute, but he maintains that he does. The Diviacknowledged that they cited to the incorretuss in the
Answer, but they do not dispute that the vehiclalifjgs as a clean fuel vehicle, and that the ¢needs not
taken with regard to the vehicle in a prior taxryed’he Taxpayer stated that the reason for taditis to
encourage the use of alternative fuels and impttoair quality along the Wasatch Front. He stétatihe
has owned the car for four years, put 60,000 noilei, and has put a lot of money into the car &main.
He argued that he is doing exactly what the law designed to encourage. Finally he argued that the
Division is trying to limit the credit to 50% ofélpurchase price, but that limitation does nottexigwhere in
the 2007 statute for a converted vehicle.

There is no dispute that the Taxpayer is entttberdlaim the clean fuel vehicle tax credit for #607
tax year. Rather, the issue is whether the amafithe credit is limited to 50% of the Taxpayextst or 50%
of the amounts paid to convert the vehicle to cfeah The Court ilMacFarlane v. Utah State Tax Comm’n
134 P.3d 1116, 1121 (Utah 2006), found that tagitstatutes are to be strictly construed agahmespiarty
claiming the credit. The Court went on to notd,ttthe rule of strict construction should not bilized to
defeat the intent of the legislative bodyft]he best evidence of that intent is the plain nieg of the statute.”

Id. citing State Dep’t of Assessments and Taxation v. Bel&%& A.d2 561 (Md. 1989) aniensen v.
Intermountain Health Care, Inc679 P.2d 903 (Utah 1984). Subsection (2) of @tatle Ann. §59-10-1009
allows a credit for “50% of the cost of equipmeat €onversion...up to a maximum of $2,500". The
Taxpayer has claimed a $$$$$ credit, and in sugdhat amount provided a letter from EMPLOYEE at
DEALERSHIP estimating a cost of about $$$$$ foystesm with similar performance to the Taxpayer’s
vehicle. Taxpayer's calculation of the credit igg@Subsection (4) of Utah Code Ann. 859-10-100fchkv
allows the credit only “in the taxable year in whithe item is purchased for which the credit isncéad”.
Taxpayer claimed the credit in the 2007 tax yéer year he purchased the vehicle, with the equipaherady

installed, for a total purchase price of $$$$H.easonable interpretation of this statutory langliaghat the
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Taxpayer’s credit is limited to 50% of the amouatgaid in 2007, the tax year in which he took theslit.

The Division’s audit assessment should be sustained

Jan Marshall, Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission sustairautie assessment of additional tax and interest on

the Taxpayer’s individual income tax return for 8@7 tax year. Itis so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right tooaral Hearing. However, this Decision and Ordéir wi
become the Final Decision and Order of the Comunissiless any party to this case files a writteuest
within thirty (30) days of the date of this decisito proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a requnedi Ise
mailed to the address listed below and must incthddPetitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will precludg further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of 0122
R. Bruce Johnson Marc B. Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli Michael J. Cragun
Commissioner Commissioner



