
10-2238 
MOTOR VEHICLE 
09-01-2010 
 

 
BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
PETITIONER, 
 
 Petitioner, 
 
v. 
 
MOTOR VEHICLE ENFORCEMENT 
DIVISION, UTAH STATE TAX  
COMMISSION, 
 
 Respondent.  
 

 
INITIAL HEARING ORDER 
 
 
Appeal No. 10-2238 
 
Tax Type:  Salesperson License 
 
 
 
Judge:  Phan  
 

 
Presiding: 

Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge  
        
Appearances: 

For Petitioner: PETITIONER 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REP. 1, Assistant Director, Motor Vehicle Enforcement 

Division 
 RESPONDENT REP. 2, Director, Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division 
  

 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the 

provisions of Utah Code Sec. 59-1-502.5, on August 26, 2010.  Petitioner (the Applicant) is appealing the 

denial of his application for a motor vehicle salesperson license.  The license was denied by letter from the 

Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division (the “Division”) dated July 8, 2010.  The Division denied the license due 

to his answer regarding criminal convictions within the last 10 years on the application form.     

APPLICABLE LAW 

(2)(a) If the administrator finds that there is a reasonable cause to deny, suspend, or revoke a license 

issued under this chapter, the administrator shall deny, suspend, or revoke the license. (b) Reasonable cause for 

denial, suspension, or revocation of a license includes  .  .  .  (vi) making a false statement on any application 

for a license under this chapter or for special license plates; (vii) a violation of any state or federal law 

involving motor vehicles; (viii) a violation of any state or federal law regarding controlled substances; (ix) 

charges filed with any county attorney, district attorney, or U.S. attorney in any court of competent jurisdiction 

for a violation of any state or federal law involving motor vehicles; (x) a violation of any state or federal law 
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involving fraud; or (xi) a violation of any state or federal law involving a registerable sex offense under Section 

77-27-21.5.  . .  (Utah Code Sec. 41-3-209(2).). 

Except as provided in Subsection (4) or when exempted by federal law, an agency or political 

subdivision of the state shall verify the lawful presence in the United States of an individual at least 18 years of 

age who applies for: (a) a state or local public benefit as defined in 8 U.S.C. Sec. 1621 . . . (Portion of Senate 

Bill 81 now codified at Utah Code Sec. 63G-11-104(2).)  

An agency or political subdivision required to verify the lawful presence in the United States of an 

applicant under this section shall require the applicant to certify under penalty of perjury that: (a) the applicant 

is a United States citizen; or (b) the applicant is: (i) a qualified alien as defined in 8 U.S.C. Sec. 1641; and (ii) 

lawfully present in the United States. (Portion of S.B. 81 now codified at Utah Code Sec. 63G-11-104(5).)  

“State or local public benefit” defined (1) Except as provided in paragraphs (2) and (3), for purposes of 

this subchapter the term “state or local public benefit” means (A) any grant, contract, loan, professional license, 

or commercial license provided by an agency of a State or local government or by appropriated funds of a State 

or local government; and (B) any retirement, welfare, health, disability, public or assisted housing  . . . (U.S.C. 

Sec. 1621(c).)  

DISCUSSION 

The Applicant had filled out a Motor Vehicle Salesperson Application and submitted it to the Division 

on or around May 11, 2010.  Question 3 on that form asks if the applicant had any felony or misdemeanor 

convictions during the past 10 years.  The Applicant had checked “yes” and listed “Unlawful sex with a minor 

09-08-06 Class B Misdemeanor.” When the application was reviewed, the Division was unable to verify 

whether or not the Applicant has been convicted of a crime that was a registerable sex offense and denied the 

license pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 41-3-209.   

Prior to the hearing the Division was able to verify that the Applicant had been convicted of a 

misdemeanor and that it had not been a registerable sex offense.  The Applicant explained that he had been 

sentenced to six months probation which he served in 2007.  He was no longer on probation and he had not 

been required to register as a sex offender.  He also explained that the offense occurred when he was eighteen 

and the victim had been his girlfriend for some time before his eighteenth birthday.  Further, they are still 

together and have children together.  He asked for the license so that he could support his family. 

At the hearing the Division’s representative stated that they would no longer deny the license on the 

basis of the criminal conviction because it was not a registerable sex offense.  However, he explained that they 
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could not issue the license at this time because the Applicant had not completed the Motor Vehicle Salesperson 

Application regarding his residency status.  The Division explained that since S.B. 81 was passed in 2008, any 

applicant is required to either verify that they are a U.S. citizen or provide information that they qualify under 8 

U.S.C. 1641 and are present in the U.S. lawfully.  The Applicant had not completed that portion of the 

application form.  It was the Division’s position that once the Applicant was able to provide the appropriate 

verification he could apply again for the license.  The Applicant was not able to provide the verification at the 

hearing.   

Upon review of the parties’ positions in this matter, the Division may not issue the license at this time. 

Utah Code Sec. 63G-11-104(2) prohibits the Division from issuing the license to the Applicant unless he can 

provide the verification of his residency status.  Under that provision neither the Division, nor the Commission 

can issue a professional or commercial license to the Applicant without this verification. 

      
   ____________________________________ 

Jane Phan 
Administrative Law Judge 

  

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Based on the forgoing, the Commission finds there is no basis for the Division to grant the license until 

a completed application with the proper verification has been submitted.  It is so ordered.    

This Decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  Any party to this case may file a 

written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a 

request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal 

number: 

Utah State Tax Commission 
Appeals Division 

210 North 1950 West 
Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

 
 

 

 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.     

DATED this __________ day of _______________________, 2010. 
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R. Bruce Johnson   Marc B. Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun 
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