
10-1850 
MOTOR VEHICLE 
10-04-2010 
 

 
BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
PETITIONER, 
 
 Petitioner, 
 
vs. 
 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES OF THE 
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, 
 
 Respondent.  
 

 
INITIAL HEARING ORDER 
 
Appeal No.     10-1850 
 
 
Tax Type:       DUI Administrative Fee 
 
 
 
Judge:             Phan  
 

 
 

Presiding:  
 Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge  
 
Appearances:  
 For Petitioner:  PETITIONER 
 For Respondent:  RESPONDENT REP. 1, Assistant Attorney General 
   RESPONDENT REP. 2, Division of Motor Vehicles 
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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to Utah 

Code Sec. 59-1-502.5 on August 9, 2010.  Petitioner is requesting a refund of the $$$$$ administrative 

impound fee charged when Petitioner’s vehicle was impounded following his wife’s arrest for driving 

under the influence of alcohol or drugs.     

APPLICABLE LAW 

 A refund of the DUI administrative fee shall be refunded under Utah Code Ann. §41-6a-

1406(6)(c), as follows: 

The administrative impound fee assessed under Subsection (6)(a)(iv) 
shall be waived or refund by the State Tax Commission if the registered 
owner, lien holder, or owner’s agent presents written evidence to the 
State Tax Commission that: 
 
(i) the Driver License division determined that the arrested person’s 

driver license should not be suspended or revoked under Section 
53-3-223 or 41-6a-521 as shown by a letter or other report from 
the Driver License Division presented within 30 days of the final 
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notification from the Driver License Division; or 
 

(ii)  the vehicle was stolen at the time of the impoundment as shown 
by a copy of the stolen vehicle report presented within 30 days of 
the impoundment. 

 
DISCUSSION 

Petitioner is requesting a refund of the $$$$$ administrative impound fee he was required to pay 

before his vehicle would be released from impound on the basis that the charges had been dismissed.  His 

wife had been arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs and charged with a Class B 

Misdemeanor.  However, she had suffered from a medical condition similar to a stroke at the time of the 

arrest and was not impaired due to alcohol or drugs.  The charges were dismissed on January 25, 2010.  

Petitioner provided verification of the dismissal from the CITY Justice Court and letters from medical 

providers. 

Secondly, Petitioner explained that at the time he paid the impound fee at the CITY Office of the 

Motor Vehicle Division he was told that the fee would be refunded if the charges were dismissed.  Since 

the charges were dismissed he requested the refund only to learn that it was the Motor Vehicle Division’s 

official position that it would not refund the fee until a letter was issued from the Drivers License 

Division stating that division takes no action against the driver of the vehicle.  He stated that the CITY 

Office should not be giving out incorrect information.  Petitioner pointed to prior Tax Commission 

decision, Appeal No. 04-0662, as percent for waiving the fee based on a showing that the charges were 

dismissed.  He explained that the action with the Drivers License Division was still pending, so as of the 

hearing his wife had not yet received a final determination.      

It was the Division’s position that it could not waive the fee based on the dismissal of the charges.  

The Division stated the only basis for waiving the fee were those at Utah Code Ann. §41-6a-1406(6)(c) 

which were limited to the Drivers License Division determining it would take no action or if the vehicle 

was stolen. It has no information regarding the prior Tax Commission decision issued in Appeal No. 04-

0662. 

Upon review of the evidence and express statutory provisions, the Commission is unable to issue 

the refund until the Drivers License Division issues the no action letter against the driver of the vehicle. 

The Commission’s prior decision in Appeal No. 04-0662 may have come before the Commission on 

another basis.  The Petitioner should keep in mind that he has only thirty-days to file a further request for 
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refund from the date his wife is issued the letter from the Driver License Division stating it is taking no 

action.   

 

       Jane Phan 
       Administrative Law Judge 
 
 

DECISION AND ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission denies Petitioner’s request for a refund of the 

impound fee.  It is so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and 

Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a 

written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a 

request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and 

appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this _________ day of ________________________, 2010. 
 
 
 
 
R. Bruce Johnson   Marc B. Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
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