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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to Utah 

Code Sec. 59-1-502.5 on August 10, 2010.  Petitioner is requesting a refund of the $$$$$ administrative 

impound fee charged when Petitioner’s vehicle was impounded following the arrest of this son for driving 

under the influence of alcohol or drugs.     

APPLICABLE LAW 

 A refund of the DUI administrative fee shall be refunded under Utah Code Ann. §41-6a-

1406(6)(c), as follows: 

The administrative impound fee assessed under Subsection (6)(a)(iv) 
shall be waived or refunded by the State Tax Commission if the 
registered owner, lien holder, or owner’s agent presents written evidence 
to the State Tax Commission that: 
 
(i) the Driver License Division determined that the arrested person’s 

driver license should not be suspended or revoked under Section 
53-3-223 or 41-6a-521 as shown by a letter or other report from 
the Driver License Division presented within 30 days of the final 
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notification from the Driver License Division; or 
 

(ii)  the vehicle was stolen at the time of the impoundment as shown 
by a copy of the stolen vehicle report presented within 30 days of 
the impoundment. 

 
DISCUSSION 

Petitioner is requesting a refund of the $$$$$ administrative impound fee he was required to pay 

before his vehicle would be released from impound. He argued for the refund on the basis that the charges 

had not been adjudicated against his son.  His son had plead not guilty in court and the case was still 

pending.  He stated if his son was convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs then he 

would not contest the penalty, but argued the refund should not be based on the actions of the Driver 

License Division.  He explained that the Driver License Division hearing had already been held, even 

though the criminal charges were still pending.  He had attended the hearing with his son at the Driver 

License Division, but had not been allowed to assist his son in presenting the case or questioning 

witnesses.  He felt his son was not able to represent himself adequately during the hearing. Despite that 

the criminal charges were still pending in court, the Driver License Division suspended the license for a 

period of four months.  Because the suspension period has already expired, if the charges are dismissed in 

Court, the Taxpayer’s concern was there would be no way to go back to the Driver License Division for a 

no action letter.  

 It was the Division’s position that the statute provides only two grounds for allowing a refund of 

the fee to be issued.  The first was if the Driver License Division did not suspend or revoke the driver 

license of the operator of the vehicle.  The second was if the vehicle had been stolen and the owner had 

filed a police report to that affect.  The Division pointed out that Petitioner’s situation did not meet either 

of these criteria. The statute did not provide for a refund based on the criminal charges being dismissed.      

 After reviewing the facts in this matter and the express statutory language, the Division was 

correct in denying the refund.  Although the Petitioner argued issuance of the refund should be based on 

whether charges are dismissed in court, it is unknown at this time whether the charges will be dismissed 

against the driver of the vehicle.   

 

       Jane Phan 
       Administrative Law Judge 
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DECISION AND ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission denies Petitioner’s request for refund of the $$$$$ 

DUI administrative impound fee.  It is so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and 

Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a 

written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a 

request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and 

appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this _________ day of ________________________, 2010. 
 
 
 
 
R. Bruce Johnson   Marc B. Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
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