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 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Hearing on Motion to Dismiss on 

August 26, 2010.  In its Motion to Dismiss, dated, May 19, 2010, Respondent (the “Division”) argued that 

Petitioners (the “Taxpayers”) failed to timely file an appeal of the audit deficiency for the 2006-tax year.  

APPLICABLE LAW 

“[A] taxpayer may file a request for agency action, petitioning the commission for redetermination of a 

deficiency.”  Utah Code § 59-1-501(2).   

 “[A] person shall file the request for agency action . . . (a) within a 30-day period after the date the 

commission mails a notice of deficiency to the person . . . or (b) within a 90-day period after the date the 

commission mails a notice of deficiency to the person . . .  if the notice of deficiency is addressed to a person 

outside the United States or the District of Columbia.”  Utah Code § 59-1-501(3). 

 To be timely, “a petition for redetermination of a deficiency must be received in the commission 

offices no later than 30 days from the date of a notice that creates the right to appeal.  The petition is deemed to 

be timely if:  (a) in the case of mailed or hand-delivered documents:  (i) the petition is received in the 

commission offices on or before the close of business of the last day of the 30-day period; or (ii) the date of the 
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postmark on the envelope or cover indicates that the request was mailed on or before the last day of the 30-day 

period . . .”  Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-20(2). 

 “A person who has not previously filed a timely request for agency action in accordance with 

Subsection (3) may object to a final assessment issued by the commission by:  (a) paying the tax, fee, or 

charge; and (b) filing a claim for a refund as provided in Section 59-1-1410.”  Utah Code § 59-1-501(7) 

(2009).  

DISCUSSION 

The Division stated that the Statutory Notice of Audit Change (“Notice”) was issued on February 11, 

2010 to the Taxpayers.  The Notice indicated that if the Taxpayers disagreed with the audit they had thirty days 

to file an appeal. The deadline for filing the appeal was March 13, 2010.  The Taxpayers did not file an appeal 

until March 23, 2010, missing the deadline by more than one week.  The representative for the Division 

pointed out that the postmark on the envelope in which the appeal had been mailed was the March 23, 2010 

date.    

In the Motion the Division pointed out that the 30 deadline was a statutory requirement, citing Utah 

Code Sec. 63G-4-201 & 59-1-501 as well as Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-20.  It was the Division’s position 

that failure to meet this deadline was basis for dismissal of the appeal. 

The Taxpayers’ representative acknowledged that the appeal had been filed late.  However, she 

explained that PETITIONER 1 had been deployed overseas on active duty for the United States Navy when the 

Statutory Notice had been issued.  Based on this it had taken longer to get the appeal filed.  She did provide a 

copy of his Deployment Orders, but acknowledged they were confusing to try to follow.   

The deadline for filing an appeal into the Commission Formal administrative hearing process is set by 

the Utah Legislature by statute and is a jurisdictional requirement.  However, provisions under the Service 

Members Civil Relief Act provide for a stay of proceedings or statutes of limitations for service members who 

are active duty and deployed overseas.  In this case it was a joint audit based on a joint filing of both 

Taxpayers.  PETITIONER 2, the spouse of the service member, was not in the armed service and could have 

filed.  However, with a joint audit either spouse has the right to file an appeal and it appears that PETITIONER 

1’s right to appeal would have been placed on stay until he returned to the U.S.  Therefore, this appeal should 

not be dismissed under these circumstances.    

   

 Jane Phan 
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 Administrative Law Judge 
    

  ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission denies the Division’s Motion to Dismiss the Taxpayer’s 

appeal in this matter.  It is so ordered.  This appeal will be scheduled for further administrative proceedings.   

DATED this ____________ day of ________________________, 2010. 
 
 
 
 
R. Bruce Johnson   Marc B. Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun 
Commissioner    Commissioner  
 
 
Notice and Appeal Rights:  Failure to pay the balance due as a result of this order within thirty days may 
result in an additional late payment penalty. You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a 
Request for Reconsideration with the Commission pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 63G-4-302.  A Request for 
Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact.  If you do not file a 
Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. You have thirty 
(30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Sec. 
59-1-601 et seq. and 63G-4-401 et seq. 
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