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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant

to the provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5 on November 4, 2009. Petitioner (“Applicant’)

is appealing the Respondent’s (“Division’s”) denial of his salesperson license to sell motor
vehicles.
APPLICABLE LAW
The denial, suspension, and revocation of a salesperson license are governed by Utah
Code Ann. §41-3-209(2) as follows:

(a) If the administrator finds that there is reasonable cause to
deny, suspend, or revoke a license issued under this chapter,
the administrator shall deny, suspend, or revoke the license.

(b) Reasonable cause for denial, suspension, or revocation
of a license includes, in relation to the applicant or license
holder or any of its partners, officers, or directors:

(vii))  aviolation of any state or federal law involving
motor vehicles;

Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209(2) (2009).
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A license may not be issued to a person who has been convicted of any law relating to
motor vehicle commerce or motor vehicle fraud may not be issued unless full restitution has been

made under Utah Code Ann. §41-3-201(7), below:

A person who has been convicted of any law relating to motor
vehicle commerce or motor vehicle fraud may not be issued a
license unless full restitution regarding those convictions has
been made.

Utah Code Ann. §41-3-201(7) (2009).
DISCUSSION

The Applicant has been in Utah for approximately two years, selling motor vehicles at
both DEALERSHIP 1 and DEALERSHIP 2. He had left his position at DEALERSHIP 1 to
handle criminal charges in STATE 1, and serve his jail sentence. When he returned to Utah, he
submitted a new application for a salesperson license.

The Division issued a letter dated October 1, 2009 that denied the Applicant’s application
for a motor vehicle salesperson license based on his criminal convictions. In August of 2009, the
Applicant was convicted of a Class 6 felony in STATE 1 for unlawful use of a means of
transportation. The Applicant entered into a plea agreement, served 15 days in jail, has to pay
restitution in the amount of $$$3$$, and is on probation for a two-year period. He stated that if he
pays his restitution in full, he can get off probation after one year. The Applicant believes that
had he gone to trial and not entered a plea agreement, the outcome would have been different.

At the hearing, the Applicant explained the circumstances of his conviction. While in
STATE 1, the Applicant had a business partner in a wholesale motor vehicle dealership. They
were licensed to sell motor vehicles to other licensed dealers in the state, but also engaged in
retail sales. The Applicant testified that he discovered that his partner had not been paying taxes,
that his partner had not provided a $$$$$ line of credit as promised, and that he suggested they
sell the business assets and part ways. The Applicant testified his partner told him he would not
get his money back. He then sold a motorcycle that was in his possession, and kept the proceeds
in lieu of the money he had invested in the partnership. His partner filed a police report several
months later that indicated the Applicant had stolen the motorcycle.

The Applicant submitted a letter from PERSON A, a detective with the STATE 1
Department of Transportation. In his letter, PERSON A indicated that the Applicant was not
aware that his actions had been unlawful. He further noted that the Applicant’s conviction is
“one of the biggest miscarriages of justice” that he had been involved in during his 41 years as a
police officer. He indicated that he would not hesitate to hire the Applicant. The Applicant
stated that PERSON A was available by phone to offer testimony; however the Division’s
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representative stated he did not find it necessary, and that the Division did not dispute anything in
PERSON A’s letter.

In support of his application for a salesperson license, the Applicant also submitted a
letter from PERSON B, the owner of DEALERSHIP 3. After the Applicant’s partnership ended,
he started working for PERSON B. He was PERSON B’s representative at wholesale motorcycle
auctions, and was responsible for the wholesale inventory for weeks at a time. In addition, the
Applicant worked as a retail salesperson for PERSON B.

The Division’s representative stated that the Division denied the Applicant a salesperson
license because of the nature of his criminal conviction. He argued that Utah Code Ann. §41-3-
209 requires the Division to deny a license upon a showing of reasonable cause, and that the
felony conviction involving a motor vehicle is reasonable cause. He also pointed out that the
motor vehicle crime was related to issues surrounding the wholesale dealer partnership. The
Division’s representative requested the Commission deny the Applicant a salesperson license.

Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209 mandates that a license “shall” be denied, revoked, or
suspended for reasonable cause. The statute then specifically identifies violations of state or
federal law involving motor vehicles as “reasonable cause.” There is no dispute that the
Applicant was convicted of a crime involving a motor vehicle. However, the Applicant maintains
there are extenuating circumstances, and that if he had gone to trial, he would not have been
convicted of a felony. The Commission finds that the Division had reasonable cause to deny the
Applicant a salesperson license. However, the Commission may consider other factors, such as
the passage of time since the most recent conviction, the payment of restitution, and termination
of probation or parole. The Applicant’s conviction was approximately two months ago, he
continues to owe restitution, and is currently on probation. Further, Utah Code Ann. §41-3-201(7)
prohibits the issuance of a license to someone who has been convicted of a crime involving motor
vehicle commerce until restitution has been paid. Under the circumstances, the Commission
finds there is not good cause to abate the Division’s denial of a motor vehicle salesperson license
to the Applicant.

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission upholds the Division’s denial of the motor
vehicle salesperson license. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party’s right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless either party to this

case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a
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formal decision. Such request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the
Petitioner’s name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2009.

Jan Marshall
Administrative Law Judge

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION:

DATED this day of , 2009.
Pam Hendrickson R. Bruce Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
Marc B. Johnson D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commissioner Commissioner
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