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STATEMENT OF CASE 

On January 21, 2010, the Commission issued its Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and 

Final Decision (“Final Decision”) in this matter.  In the Final Decision, the Commission revoked the sales and 

use tax and withholding tax licenses of RESPONDENT (the “taxapayer”).   

On February 25, 2010, PERSON sent an email to the Commission, in which he requested “an 

appeal in regards to the revocation of my business license for RESPONDENT.”  The Commission has 

attempted, without success, to telephone PERSON to determine whether he is requesting: 1) reconsideration of 

the Commission’s Final Decision to revoke its sales and use tax and withholding tax licenses; or 2) a new 

appeal be opened in regards to the revocation of the business license.  As a result, not only will the 

Commission treat PERSON’s request as a Request for Reconsideration of the Final Decision in this matter, but 

it will also address his request for a new appeal concerning the business license. 

 APPLICABLE LAW 

1. Utah Code Ann. §63G-4-302(1)(a) provides that a party receiving a final decision 

from the Commission may request reconsideration, as follows: 

 

BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 

 

 

TAXPAYER SERVICES DIVISION OF 

THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, 

 

 Petitioner, 

 

v. 

 

RESPONDENT, 

 

 Respondent.  

 

 

ORDER DENYING RESPONDENT’S 

REQUEST FOR AN APPEAL 

CONCERNING ITS BUSINESS LICENSE 

AND DENYING REQUEST FOR 

RECONSIDERATION 
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(1)(a)  Within 20 days after the date that an order is issued for which review by the 

agency or by a superior agency under Section 63G-4-301 is unavailable, and if the 

order would otherwise constitute final agency action, any party may file a written 

request for reconsideration with the agency, stating the specific grounds upon which 

relief is requested.   

 

 2. Utah Administrative Rule R861-1A-29(B) (“Rule 29”) provides that “[w]ithin 20 days 

after the date that an order . . . .is issued, any party may file a written request for reconsideration alleging 

mistake of law or fact, or the discovery of new evidence.” 

DISCUSSION 

The Commission’s Final Decision was issued on January 21, 2010.  The taxpayer’s February 

25, 2010 email in which he requested an appeal was submitted 35 days after the Final Decision was issued.  

Section 63G-4-302(1)(a) and Rule 29(B) provide that a request for reconsideration must be submitted within 

20 days of the issuance of a Final Decision.  If the taxpayers’ request for an appeal was intended to be a 

Request for Reconsideration of the Commission’s Final Decision in this matter, the request is untimely and, 

thus, denied.    

If the taxpayer’s email was intended to be a request for the Commission to open a separate 

appeal concerning the revocation of its business license, that request must be denied as well.  The Commission 

is not the entity that revokes business licenses.  The Commission suggests that the taxpayer contact the entity 

that revoked its business license to find out what appeal rights, if any, it has concerning the business license 

revocation. 

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission denies the taxpayer’s Request for Reconsideration 

of its Final Decision in this matter.  In addition, the Commission denies the taxpayer’s request for a new appeal 

to be opened in regards to the revocation of its business license.  It is so ordered. 
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 DATED this _____ day of ______________________, 2010. 

 

 

 

R. Bruce Johnson   Marc B. Johnson 

Commission Chair   Commissioner 

 

 

 

 

D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun 

Commissioner    Commissioner  

 

NOTICE:  You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order 

pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §§59-1-601 et seq. and 63G-4-401 et seq. 
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