09-2630
AUDIT
SIGNED 03-04-2010

BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION

PETITIONER,
INITTAL HEARING ORDER
Petitioner,
Appeal No. 09-2630
v.
Account No. ####
AUDITING DIVISION OF THE UTAH STATE Tax Type:  Cigarette Tax & Sales and Use Tax
TAX COMMISSION, Tax Years: 10/06 — 6/07
Respondent. Judge: Marshall
Presiding:

Jan Marshall, Administrative Law Judge

Appearances:
For Petitioner: PETITIONER, Pro Se
For Respondent: = RESONDENT REP. 1, Assistant Attorney General
RESONDENT REP. 2, Auditing Division

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the
provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5 on November 24, 2009. At issue is the audit deficiency of
cigarette and sales and use tax to the Petitioner, as imposed by Auditing Division (“Division”) in a
Statutory Notice dated July 28, 2009. The amount of the deficiency was $$$$$ in cigarette tax, $$$$$ in
sales and use tax and $$$$$ in interest for a total of $$$$$ as of the date of the notice. Interest continues
to accrue on the unpaid balance.

APPLICABLE LAW

A tax is imposed on the sale, use, storage, or distribution of cigarettes in Utah under Utah Code
Ann. §59-14-204 as follows:

(1) Except for cigarettes described under Subsection 59-14-210(3), there
is levied a tax upon the sale, use, storage, or distribution of cigarettes
in the state.

(2) The rates of the tax levied under Subsection (1) are:

(a) 3.475 cents on each cigarette, for all cigarettes weighing not
more than three pounds per thousand cigarettes; and

(b) 4.075 cents on each cigarette, for all cigarettes weighing in
excess of three pounds per thousand cigarettes.



Appeal No. 09-2630

(3) The tax levied under Subsection (1) shall be paid by any person who
is the manufacturer, jobber, distributor, wholesaler, retailer, user, or

consumer.
Utah Code Ann. §59-14-204 (2006-2007).

The assessment of the cigarette tax is further explained in Rule R865-20T-1, as follows:

A. The cigarette tax is a tax on the first purchase, use, storage,
or consumption of cigarettes by a manufacturer, jobber,
wholesaler, distributor, retailer, user, or consumer within the
state.

B. If cigarettes are purchased outside the state for use, storage,
or consumption within the state, the tax must be paid by the
user, storer, or consumer.

Utah Admin. Code R865-20T-1 (2006-2007).
The methods for paying the tax on cigarettes are set forth in Rule R865-20T-2, set forth below in

pertinent part:

A. If the tax is due as a result of use, storage, or consumption of
imported cigarettes, the tax may be paid by affixing stamps or by
filing a return prescribed by the Tax Commission.

1. This return must be filed and the tax must be paid within 15
days from the date of use, storage, or consumption unless
application is made to the Tax Commission for permission to
filed returns and pay the tax on a monthly basis.

Utah Admin. Code R865-20T-2 (2006-2007).

Sales tax is imposed on certain transactions under Utah Code Ann. §59-12-103, as follows in

relevant part:

(1) A tax is imposed on the purchaser as provided in this part for
amounts paid or charged for the following transactions:
(a) retails sales of tangible personal property made within the
state...

Utah Code Ann. §59-12-103 (2006-2007).

Individuals are required to pay a use tax under certain circumstances, as set forth in Utah Code

Ann. §59-12-107(1), below in relevant part:

(c) A person shall pay a use tax imposed by this chapter on a transaction

described in Subsection 59-12-103(1) if:
(1) the seller did not collect a tax imposed by this chapter on

the transaction; and
(i1) the person:
(A) stores the tangible personal property in the state;
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(B) uses the tangible personal property in the state; or
(C) consumes the tangible personal property in the
state.

Utah Code Ann. §59-12-107 (2006-2007).
Methods for payment of the use tax are set forth in Rule R865-21U-6 as follows, in pertinent part:

A. Purchasers of tangible personal property — the storage, use, or other
consumption of which is subject to tax — must account for the tax
liability by paying the tax...

2. directly to the Tax Commission if the retailer from whom the
property was purchased does not hold a certificate of
registration. Under these circumstances, one of the
following procedures must be followed:

(b) if the purchases are made by any person as defined in
Utah Code Ann. Section 59-12-102, who has no sales
tax collection responsibility, and if the annual taxes
due may be reasonably expected to exceed $400, such
person must apply for registration as a consumer and
pay the tax using a quarterly use tax return; or

(c) if the purchases are made by an individual who has no
sales tax collection responsibility and the annual use
tax liability is less than $400, the tax is remitted using
the individual income tax return filed each year. The
tax is computed by using the rates provided in the
income tax instructions for the address of the
consumer as shown on the individual income tax
form...

Utah Admin. Rule R865-21U-6 (2006-2007).

Utah Code Ann. §59-10-539 provides for the imposition of interest, which in pertinent part states
as follows:

(8) In addition to the penalties added by this section, there shall be added
to the tax due interest payable at the rate and in the manner
prescribed in Section 59-1-402 for underpayments...

Utah Code Ann. §59-10-539 (2006-2007).

“Interest on any underpayment, deficiency, or delinquency of any tax of fee administered by the
commission shall be computed from the time the original return is due, excluding any filing or payment

extensions, to the date the payment is received.” Utah Code Ann. §59-1-402(5) (2006-2007).
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Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401 grants the Commission discretion to waive penalties and interest, as
follows:

(13) Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable cause
shown, the commission may waiver, reduce, or compromise any of
the penalties or interest imposed under this part.

Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(13) (2009).

DISCUSSION

Taxpayer acknowledges that she and her husband purchased the cigarettes for their consumption.
She stated that she understands the imposition of the cigarette tax, but does not know why sales tax was
assessed, as they did not sell the cigarettes, they were the consumers. Taxpayer further stated that she
believes the amount of tax due is excessive.

The Division’s representative argued that Utah Code Ann. §59-14-204 imposes a Utah cigarette
tax on the sale, use, storage, or distribution of cigarettes in the state. He stated that there is no dispute that
the Taxpayers ordered the cigarettes online and consumed them. The Division’s representative stated that
under Utah Code Ann. §59-12-107 sales or use tax is imposed on tangible personal property that is stored,
used, or consumed in Utah. The Division provided copies of invoices that match the transactions
identified in the audit report.

Utah Code Ann. §59-14-204 is clear that there is a tax on cigarettes sold, used, stored, or
distributed in the State of Utah, and further that the tax can be levied against the consumer. Additionally,
Utah Code Ann. §59-12-107 imposes a use tax where the seller did not collect sales tax and the consumer
stores, uses, or consumes the property in the State of Utah. There is no dispute that Taxpayer used and
consumed the cigarettes in the State of Utah. There is nothing to show that the seller charged Taxpayer
sales tax. Thus tax was properly assessed under Utah Code Ann. §59-14-204 and §59-12-107.
Administrative Rule R861-1A-42 and Publication 17, issued by the Tax Commission, outline the
circumstances the Commission may consider as “reasonable cause” justifying a waiver of penalties and
interest. There were no penalties assessed by the Division in this matter. To be granted a waiver of
interest, the Taxpayer must show that a Tax Commission employee gave the Taxpayer erroneous
information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the error. The Taxpayer has not shown that
there was a Tax Commission error, or that a Tax Commission employee provided her with erroneous
information.

Taxpayer has indicated that the tax amounts are excessive. Taxpayer can contact the Taxpayer
Services Division to set up a payment plan, or to inquire about the “Offer in Compromise” program. The

Commission has established the “Offer in Compromise” program to assist taxpayers who are
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experiencing financial hardship and do not have the ability to pay any portion of unpaid tax, penalty, or

interest. Taxpayer can contact the Taxpayer Services Division directly at (801) 297-7703.

Jan Marshall
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission sustains the Division’s assessment of tax and interest
on the audit of cigarette, and sales and use tax. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision and
Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a
written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a
request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and
appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

DATED this day of ,2010.
R. Bruce Johnson Marc B. Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli Michael J. Cragun
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice: If a Formal Hearing is not requested as discussed above, failure to pay the balance resulting from
this order within thirty (30) days from the date of this order may result in a late payment penalty.
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