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BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION

PETITIONER, INITIAL HEARING ORDER
Petitioner, Appeal No. 09-2497
v. Account No. #####
Tax Type: Personal Property/Locally Assessed
BOARD OF EQUALIZATION OF DAVIS Tax Year: 2009

COUNTY, STATE OF UTAH,
Judge: Marshall
Respondent.

This Order may contain confidential '"commercial information' within the meaning of Utah Code
Sec. 59-1-404, and is subject to disclosure restrictions as set out in that section and regulation
pursuant to Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-37. The rule prohibits the parties from disclosing
commercial information obtained from the opposing party to nonparties, outside of the hearing
process. However, pursuant to Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-37, the Tax Commission may publish
this decision, in its entirety, unless the property taxpayer responds in writing to the Commission,
within 30 days of this notice, specifying the commercial information that the taxpayer wants
protected. The taxpayer must mail the response to the address listed near the end of this decision.

Presiding:
Jan Marshall, Administrative Law Judge

Appearances:
For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE
For Respondent: = RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, Davis County Assessor
RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, Davis County Assessor’s Office
RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 3, Property Tax Division

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the provisions of Utah
Code Ann. §59-1-502.5, on November 4, 2009. Petitioner (“Taxpayer”) brings this appeal from the
decision of the Davis County Board of Equalization (“County’) regarding the classification of certain
items of personal property. The County originally assessed the assets at $$$$$, and reduced the value to

$$$$8$ as a result of changes to the asset list. The Taxpayer has calculated the assessed value of the assets
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at $$$$8. The County denied the appeal in a letter dated June 25, 2009. Taxpayer then timely appealed
pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §59-2-1005 to the Utah State Tax Commission.
APPLICABLE LAW

Utah Code Ann. §59-2-103 provides for the taxation of property as follows, in pertinent part:
(1) All tangible taxable property located within the state shall be

assessed and taxed at a uniform and equal rate on the basis of its
fair market value, as valued on January 1, unless otherwise
provided by law.
Utah Code Ann. §59-2-103 (2009).
“Fair market value” is defined in Utah Code Ann. §59-2-102(12), as follows:

“Fair market value” means the amount at which property would change
hands between a willing buyer and a willing seller, neither being under
any compulsion to buy or sell and both having reasonable knowledge of
the relevant facts...”
Utah Code Ann. §59-2-102(12) (2009).
“The County Assessor shall assess all property located within the county which is not required by
law to be assessed by the Commission.” Utah Code Ann. §59-2-301 (2009).
To ascertain assessable personal property, and the ownership thereof, the county assessor may

request a signed statement, as set forth in Utah Code Ann. §59-2-306, below in pertinent part:

(1) The county assessor may request a signed statement from any person
setting forth all the real and personal property assessable by the
assessor which is owned, possessed, managed, or under the control
of the person at 12 noon on January 1.

Utah Code Ann. §59-2-306(1) (2009).
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §59-2-107, the Commission has promulgated Rule R884-24P-33.
This rule provides percent good tables to determine a value based on different classes of tangible personal
property. Value is calculated by applying the percent good factor for each class against the acquisition
cost of the property. Following are the classes at issue:

(6) All taxable personal property, other than personal property subject to

an age-based uniform fee under Section 59-2-405.1 or 59-2-405.2, or

a uniform statewide fee under Section 59-2-204, is classified by
expected economic life as follows:

(a) Class 1 — Short Life Property. Property in this class has a

typical life of more than one year and less than four years. It
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is fungible in that it is difficult to determine the age of an
item retired from service.
(i) Examples of property in the class include:
(A) barricades/warning signs;
(B) library materials;
(C) patterns, jigs, and dies;
(D) pots, pans, and utensils;
(E) canned computer software;
(F) hotel linen;
(G) wood and pallets;
(H) video tapes, compact discs, and DVDs; and
() uniforms...

(c) Class 3 — Short Life Trade Fixtures. Property in this class
generally consists of electronic types of equipment and
includes property subject to rapid functional and economic
obsolescence or severe wear and tear.

(i) Examples of property in this class include:
(A) office machines;
(C) alarm systems;
(D) shopping carts;
(E) ATM machines;
(F) small equipment rentals;
(G) rent-to-own merchandise;
(H) telephone equipment and systems;
(I) music systems;
(J) vending machines;
(K) video game machines;
(L) cash registers and point of sale
equipment. ..

(d) Class 4 Short Life Expensed Property.
(i) Property shall be classified as short life expensed
property if all of the following conditions are met:
(A) the property is an item of taxable tangible
personal property with an acquisition cost
of $1,000 or less;
(B) the property is the same type as the
following personal property:
(I)  short life property;
(I)  short life trade fixtures; or
(IIl) computer hardware; and
(C) the owner of the property elects to have the
property assessed as short life expensed
property.
(i1) Examples of property in this class include:

3
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(A) short life property defined in Class 1;
(B) short life trade fixtures defined in Class 3;
(C) and computer hardware defined in Class 12.

(h) Class 8 - Machinery and Equipment. Property in this class is
subject to considerable functional and economic obsolescence
created by competition as technologically advanced and more
efficient equipment becomes available.

(1) Examples of property in this class include:
(C) manufacturing machinery;
(D) amusement rides;
(E) bakery equipment;
(F) distillery equipment;
(G) refrigeration equipment;
(H) laundry and dry cleaning equipment;
(I)  machine shop equipment;
(J)  processing equipment;
(K) auto service and repair equipment;
(L) mining equipment;
(M) ski life machinery;
(N) printing equipment;
(O) bottling or cannery equipment;
(P) packaging equipment; and
(Q) pollution control...

Utah Admin. Code R884-24P-33 (2009).

Utah Code Ann. §59-2-108 provides a depreciation schedule for certain items of taxable tangible
personal property, as follows in relevant part:

(1) (b) “Expensed personal property” means an item of taxable tangible

personal property that:

(i) has an acquisition cost of $1,000 or less; and

(i1) a person elects to have assessed according to a schedule
described in Subsection (4)...

(2) (a) A person may elect to designate taxable tangible personal
property as expensed personal property...

(3) (a) For the taxable year beginning on January 1, 2009 and ending on
December 31, 2009, the taxable value of short life expensed
personal property is calculated by applying the percent good
factor against the acquisition cost of the property as follows:
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Short Life Expensed Personal Property Schedule

Year of
Acquisition
2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

Utah Code Ann. §59-2-108 (2009).

In order to prevail, a party requesting a value that is different from that determined by the county
board of equalization must: not only demonstrate that the value established by the county board of
equalization contained error; but must also provide the Commission with a sound evidentiary basis for
reducing the value to the amount proposed by the party. Nelson v. Bd. of Equalization of Salt Lake
County, 943 P.2d 1354 (Utah 1997), Utah Power & Light Co. v. Utah State Tax Commission, 530 P.2d.

332 (Utah 1979).

Taxpayer disputes the classification of certain assets. He believes the County has misclassified
tools into Class 8. Taxpayer also asked to move a Class 3 item into Class 4, and to have an item removed

from the asset list because it was no longer in service. Following are the items in question:

Item

Small Hand Tools

Big Azz pliers & screwdrivers
Curb box cleaner

Lux, Clamp Meter, Circuit Finder
Pipe Threader dies and taps
Battery Charger

Laminator

Plastic Welder

At the hearing, the County agreed that the Laminator could be moved from Class 3 into Class 4, and to
remove the Plastic Welder as it was no longer in service. Thus, the issue before the Commission is the
classification of the remaining items.

Taxpayer argued that the remaining items are short life tools. He stated that he expects the value

to depreciate greatly within the year of purchase, and that the tools are typically replaced within four or

Percent Good of

Acquisition Cost

69%
52%
30%
17%
11%

DISCUSSION

County

Classification

Class 8
Class 8
Class 8
Class 8
Class 8
Class 8
Class 3
Class 8

5

Taxpayer
Classification

Class 1 or Class 4
Class 1 or Class 4
Class 1 or Class 4
Class 1 or Class 4
Class 1 or Class 4
Class 3 or Class 4
Class 4

Removed
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five years. He stated that he is allowed to place items from class 3 into class 4 because they are office
equipment. Taxpayer argued that his “office” is his trailer and the job sites where he works; and that his
tools are his office equipment. He argued that the percent good tables in Class 8 result in a higher value
for the items than they are actually worth.

Taxpayer stated that he is asking the Commission to clarify the definitions for the classifications.
He argued that the items at issue best fall into the definitions of Classes 1 and 3, and that none of the
items fall in the definition of Class 8. Taxpayer further argued that Class 4 was created so that taxpayers
would not have to track equipment valued at less than $$$$$, and that the intent was to put hand tools into
this category.

The County’s representative stated that they did move some of the items at Taxpayer’s request,
upon receiving further information. However, based on the information they have on the items at issue,
they believe they are property classified. The County’s representative stated that they followed the
classification guides provided by the Property Tax Division. She further argued that equity requires the
Taxpayer’s items be classified in the same manner as other taxpayers so that no one is advantaged or
disadvantaged. The County’s representative stated that she is concerned that the Taxpayer is asking the
County to redefine the guidelines given by the Property Tax Division.

RESPONDENT REP 3, from the Property Tax Division, testified on behalf of the County. He
stated that tools can last in excess of twenty years. He further noted that it was impossible to put into the
Administrative Rule every particular item of property. RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 3 stated
that small tools have always been in Class 8, and that it is not possible to move them into Class 4 under
the current law.

At issue is the classification of small hand tools, pliers and screwdrivers, curb box cleaner, lux
and clamp meter, pipe threader dies and taps, and a battery charger. The County has placed all of these
items into Class 8. The taxpayer argued that the battery charger should be placed into Class 3 or 4, and
that the remaining items should be moved into Class 1 or 4. Taxpayer argued that the items at issue were
intended to be included in Class 4 and expensed. The Property Tax Division has published a
Classification Guide at http://propertytax.utah.gov that identifies items and their classification. Of the

items at issue, only the battery charger is specifically listed, and it is categorized in Class 8. The
remaining items the County placed in Class 8 based on the Property Tax Division’s guide, which places
“Tools, Hand & Power (all types)” into Class 8. The definition in Rule R884-24P-33 for Class 4 property

is very specific, and includes items that cost less than $1,000 and are either as defined in Class 1, Class 3,

6
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or Class 12. However, Utah Code Ann. §59-2-108(2)(a) provides that a person may elect to designate
taxable tangible property as expensed personal property. Unlike Class 4 property under Rule R884-24P-
33, the only restriction on this election is outlined in Subsection (1)(b) of Utah Code Ann. §59-2-108,
which defines “Expensed personal property” as “an item of taxable tangible personal property that: (i) has
an acquisition cost of $1,000 or less; and (ii) a person elects to have assessed according to a scheduled
described in Subsection (4).” Though Taxpayer asked for the items at issue to be placed in Class 1, 3, or
4; based on his testimony, it appears that he intended for the items at issue to be valued in accordance
with Utah Code Ann. §59-2-108, not Administrative Rule R884-24P-33. Provided the items at issue have
acquisition costs of less than $1,000, the taxable value should be calculated in accordance with the Short

Life Expensed Personal Property Schedule outlined in Utah Code Ann. §59-2-108(4)(a).

Jan Marshall
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

The Laminator shall be moved from Class 3 into Class 4, and the Plastic Welder shall be removed
from the Taxpayer’s itemized list, as it was not in service. The remaining items, provided they have
acquisition costs of $1,000 or less, shall be assessed pursuant to the schedule in Utah Code Ann. §59-2-
108(4)(a). The County Auditor is ordered to adjust the assessment records as appropriate, in compliance
with this order. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision and
Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a
written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a
request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and
appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134
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Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this

R. Bruce Johnson
Commission Chair

D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commissioner

JM/08-2497.int

day of

, 2010.

Marc B. Johnson
Commissioner

Michael J. Cragun
Commissioner



