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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

 This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing on 

November 30, 2009 in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5.  Petitioner (the 

“Applicant”) is appealing the Respondent’s (“Division’s”) denial of a business license to sell 

motor vehicles.   

APPLICABLE LAW 

 As a general rule, a person may not act as a motor vehicle dealer in Utah without having 

a license from the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division.  Utah Code Ann. §41-3-201(2)(a).   

 For all times after June 30, 2006, Utah law required motor vehicle dealers to carry a bond 

in the amount of $75,000.1  Utah Code Ann. §41-3-205.  Among the requirements for the bond is 

that the “form of the bond . . . shall be approved by the attorney general.”  Utah Code Ann. §41-

3-205(1)(c)(i).   

Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209(2) provides for the denial, suspension, or revocation of motor 

vehicle dealer licenses as follows: 

                                                 
1 Before 2006, Utah law required a $50,000 bond.   
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(a) If the administrator finds that there is reasonable cause to 
deny, suspend, or revoke a license issued under this chapter, 
the administrator shall deny, suspend, or revoke the license. 

 
(b) Reasonable cause for denial, suspension, or revocation   

of a license includes, in relation to the applicant or license 
holder or any of its partners, officers, or directors: 
 

(i) lack of a principal place of business; 
 
(ii) lack of a sales tax license required under Title 

59, Chapter 12, Sales and use Tax Act; 
 

(iii) lack of a bond in effect as required by this 
chapter; 

 
(iv) current revocation or suspension of a dealer, 

dismantler, auction, or salesperson license issued 
in another state; 

 
(v) nonpayment of required fees; 

 
(vi) making a false statement on any application of a 

license under this chapter or for special license 
plates; 

 
(vii) a violation of any state or federal law involving 

motor vehicles; 
 

(viii) a violation of any state or federal law involving 
controlled substances; 

 
(ix) charges filed with any county attorney, district 

attorney, or U.S. attorney in any court of 
competent jurisdiction for a violation of any 
state or federal law involving motor vehicles; 

 
(x) a violation of any state or federal law involving 

fraud; or 
 

(xi) a violation of any state or federal law involving 
a registerable sex offense under Section 77-27-
21.5 

 
Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209(2).   

DISCUSSION 

 In approximately 2002, the Applicant began operating a business as a motor vehicle 

dealer in CITY 1, Utah.  The parties agree that until 2008, the Applicant had a valid motor 

vehicle sales license and held a valid bond. But in June or July of 2008, the Applicant changed 
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bonding companies.  The Applicant’s new bonding company issued the Applicant’s bond on an 

old form.  The Utah Attorney General had not approved the old form.  The Division agrees that 

the bond was for the proper amount and was valid other than being on an old form.   

At hearing, the Division’s representative testified that the Division’s normal practice 

upon learning that a licensee had a bond on a non-approved form would be to notify the licensee 

of the problem by mail.  The representative thought that the Division likely made notification to 

the Applicant in this case, but did not provide documentation of this at the hearing.  The 

Division’s representative indicated that an agent of the Division visited the Applicant’s place of 

business in September 2009 to discuss a possible incorrect bond form but was unable to locate 

anyone at the Applicant’s address in CITY 1, Utah.  Accordingly, the Division suspended the 

Applicant’s license.  The Division’s representative testified that the Division’s normal practice 

upon suspending or revoking a license would be to notify the licensee by mail.  The 

representative thought that the Division likely made notification to the Applicant in this case, but 

did not provide documentation of this at the hearing.     

The Applicant testified that he did not receive notice from the Division of either the bond 

problem or of the license suspension.  He indicated that he did not learn of any licensing problem 

until an officer with the CITY 2 Police Department stopped him to tell him that his dealer plates 

were suspended.  He did not know when this occurred, but his best guess was in early 2009.  He 

testified that as soon as he learned of the bonding problem, he had his bonding company put his 

bond on the correct form and submit it to the Division.  The Division does not dispute that the 

Applicant corrected the bonding problem.  The Division makes no claim that the Applicant’s 

bond was not valid other than being on an old form.   

On June 4, 2009, the Applicant filed an application requesting a motor vehicle dealer’s 

license for a location in CITY 3, Utah.  The Division denied the license because the application 

indicated that the Applicant’s previous license had been suspended and notified the Applicant of 

its decision by mail in a June 25, 2009 letter.  The Division produced a copy of that letter and the 

Applicant indicated that he received the original.  From the Division’s June 25, 2009 denial, the 

Applicant filed the appeal in this case.   

The parties agree that the appeal before the Commission depends at least in part on the 

outcome of an action from the Second District Court in Davis County in which the Division 

charged the Applicant with selling motor vehicles without a license.  The Applicant resolved that 

case on November 9, 2009.  The Court dismissed all charges for selling motor vehicles without a 

license and allowed the Applicant to enter into a plea in abeyance to three charges of deceptive 

business practices under Utah Code Ann. §76-6-507.   The parties agree that the elements of a 
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charge for deceptive business practices do not include any elements that necessarily involve 

motor vehicles.   

 Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209 mandates that a license “shall” be denied, revoked, or 

suspended for reasonable cause, and has identified “charges filed with any county attorney, 

district attorney, or U.S. attorney in any court of competent jurisdiction for a violation of any 

state or federal law involving motor vehicles” as “reasonable cause.”  At the time the Division 

denied the Applicant’s June 4, 2009 application, there is no question that there were charges filed 

for a violation of a state law involving motor vehicles.  On that basis, the Division acted properly 

in denying a license to the Applicant.  This issue now before the Commission is whether the 

Commission should now grant the Applicant a license in light of the resolution of those charges.   

 The Commission first notes that for purposes of making an administrative determination 

on a license, there is no difference between a plea in abeyance and a guilty plea.  See Salzl v. 

Dept. of Workforce Services, 2005 UT 399 (entering into plea in abeyance constitutes admission 

of all elements of offense to which plea is entered).   However, the Commission notes that the 

charges to which the Applicant entered a plea do not include motor vehicle involvement as a 

necessary element.  At hearing, the Division did not present evidence other than the plea itself to 

introduce elements involving motor vehicles.  Even if it had, the Division did not show that it 

provided notice of any suspension to the Applicant.  The Applicant has resolved any problems 

with his previous bond.  Finally, the Commission notes that the root causes of any problems with 

the bond that led to a previous suspension were technical rather than substantive given the 

parties’ agreement that the Applicant has always had a collectible bond, albeit on an old bond 

form.  On the basis of these factors, there is good cause to exercise discretion to grant a license to 

the applicant in accordance with the Applicant’s application of June 4, 2009.   

 
 

________________________________ 
Clinton Jensen 

Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
 

DECISION AND ORDER 

 On the basis of the foregoing, the Commission overturns the Division’s denial of the 

Applicant’s motor vehicle business license.  It is so ordered.   
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 This decision does not limit a party’s right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision 

and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless either party to this 

case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a 

formal decision.  Such request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the 

Petitioner’s name, address, and appeal number: 

Utah State Tax Commission 
Appeals Division 

210 North 1950 West 
CITY 3, Utah 84134 

 
Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

 DATED this _____ day of __________________, 2010. 

 

 

R. Bruce Johnson   Marc B. Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli                                                                Michael J. Cragun 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
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