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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Comaomi$si an Initial Hearing pursuant to the

provisions of Utah Code Sec. 59-1-502.5, on Jun@@@9. Petitioner is appealing the Processingslon's
denial to issue a Cigarette Tax License and a Taub@ax License. Petitioner is also appealing thwepayer
Services Division’s denial of its Sales Tax Licensehese matters had originally been opened ugvas t
separate appeals, Appeal Nos. 09-1755 & 09-18@anW/iotion of the Divisions and with the agreemant
the Petitioner, these appeals were consolidateéruidpeal No. 09-1755 and will proceed through the
administrative hearing process under that numBg@peal No. 09-1867 will be closed.

APPLICABLE LAW

Utah law requires those businesses that are egfjtdrcollect sales tax to obtain a sales tax

license. Utah Code Sec. 59-12-106(2) provided$dhmwving pertaining to the sales tax license:
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€)) It is unlawful for any person required to collectax under this
chapter to engage in business within the stateowitfirst having obtained a
license to do so.

(b) The license described in Subsection (2)(a): (iv) is valid until
(A) the person described in Subsection (2)(b)ljigéases to do business; or
(I changes that person’s business address; ahéBjcense is revoked by
the commission;

(c)

(d) The Commission shall review an application andrddtee whether
the applicant: (i) meets the requirements of tlestisn to be issued a
license; and (ii) is required to post a bond wille tcommission in
accordance with Subsections (2)(e) and (f) befbesapplicant may be
issued a license.

(e) (DAn applicant shall post a bond with the comnussbefore the
commission may issue the applicant a license if: dAicense under this
section was revoked for a delinquency under thianger for: (I) the
applicant; () a fiduciary of the applicant; otl{la person for which the
applicant or the fiduciary of the applicant is riqd to collect, truthfully
account for, and pay over a tax under this chapiérif the Commission
determines it is necessary to ensure complianck this chapter, the
commission may require a licensee to: (A) for arligee that has not posted
a bond under this section with the commission, gostond with the
commission in accordance with Subsection (2)(f); or

® ce
(i) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(f)(ithe commission shall
calculate the amount of a bond required by Sulme(2)(e) on the basis of :
(A) commission estimates of: (I) an applicant’s {ability under this
chapter; or (ll) a licensee’s tax liability undéist chapter; and (B) any
amount of a delinquency described in Subsectioff) ().

@iy . . .

(A) For an applicant, the amount of the delinqyeisdhe sum of: (I) the
amount of any delinquency that served as a basiefoking the license
under this section . . . (ll) the amount of taxtthay of the following owe
under this chapter: . . . (B) for a licengbe,amount of the delinquency
is the sum of : (I) the amount of any delinquert@t tserved as a basis for
revoking the license under this section . . .jptlie amount of tax that nay
of the following owe under this chapter: . . .

(iv) Notwithstanding Subsection (2)(f)(ii) or 2(fj), a bond required by
Subsection (2)(e) may not: (A) be less than $25,G00(B) exceed
$500,000.

The statutes require that businesses obtain &&msk for cigarettes and post a bond
at Utah Code Sec. 59-14-201:
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(1) It is unlawful for any person in this state to méawiure, import,
distribute, barter, sell exchange or offer ciga®for sale without first
having obtained a license issued by the commissiater Sec. 59-14-
202.

@ ...

(3) (a) A license may not be issued until the appli¢éed a bond with the

commission. The commission shall determine theafand the amount
of the bond, the minimum amount of which shall B&G . .
(b) Applicants are not required to post a bond whaurchase during
the license year only products which have the prefate stamp affixed
as required by this chapter: and (ii) file an & with their application
attesting to this fact.

The statutes also require a license to sell tobaamtucts. The requirements

are at Utah Code Sec. 59-14-301 which provides:

(1) All manufacturers and distributors of all tobaccoqucts, as defined
in Section 59-14-102, who are responsible for tikection of tax on
tobacco products under this chapter and all retaitd all tobacco
products shall: (a) register with the commissiard éb) be licensed by
the commission under Section 59-14-202.

(2)
(3) The Commission shall require any manufacturer, ededer, retailer,
or any other person subject to this section, armlisitesponsible for the
collection of tax on tobacco products under thigpathr, to post a bond
as a prerequisite to registering. The bond stalinba form and an
amount determined by the commission. If the bonedgiired under
Section 59-14-201, the bond may be a combinatioa, minimum
amount of which shall be $1,000.
DISCUSSION
The facts relevant to the Commission’s decisiart gtith an audit of tobacco products tax for
a prior period and a different entity, PETITIONBRg “LLC"). PETITONER REP 2 was the principal owne
of the LLC and that business was audited for thimgef October 1, 2000 through September 30, 200w
Auditing Division issued an audit deficiency of smlto products tax, as well as negligence and ilaig f
penalties and interest. The LLC appealed the anditthe matter proceeded to a Formal Hearing bdfier
Tax Commission on October 31, 2006. In Findingsaift, Conclusions of Law, and Final Decision, Agdpe
05-0239 the Tax Commission waived the penaltiessbstained the tax and interest against the LTl tax
had not been collected by the LLC from its cust@nender the assumption that the wholesaler hdected

and remitted the tax. The result after the appeal an assessment of tobacco products tax anéshtar

-3-
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approximately $$$$$. This tax was never paid aitt the continued accrual of interest the liabilgy
approximately $$$$$. Collection efforts have beede to no avail. The LLC was dissolved in 2085.
some point, without formal action or personal pgnaksessment, the Division began mailing collectio
notices for the LLC’s liability to PETITONER REP@&rsonally.

PETITONER REP 2 set up another entity, PETITIONE#ich is the Petitioner in this
matter. PETITONER REP 2 is the principal ownerPeftitioner. Sometime early in 2009, Petitioner
submitted a form or forms TC69 to obtain a salesliteense, a cigarette products license and a tmbac
products license. It is unclear whether Petitidiled the same TC69 to apply for all three licenaeone
time, or if the Tobacco and Cigarette License vegaied for later. However, Petitioner was isstinedSales
Tax License in January 2009. There were sometasseabout a verbal denial to issue the Tobaccb an
Cigarette Tax Licenses and of lost applicatiorisvals not until April 8, 2009, that the Procesdbigision
issued a written denial to issue the licenses titiédteer. The reason given by the Processing Rinig/as that
the applicant or a fiduciary of the applicant haited to satisfactorily resolve the tobacco taxtdelround
that same time, on April 6, 2009, the Taxpayer BesvDivision issued a letter to Petitioner statimap it
could not process its TC-69 application for sadedlicense unless Petitioner posted a bond inrtieuat of
$3$3$$3$. The letter stated, “Our records show &t leae owner, officer or partner has unpaid tast.tiekhen
later, on May 13, 2009, the Taxpayer Services inigssued its decision to deny the sales andaxdeéense
because Petitioner had failed to post the bond.

Petitioner’s representative points out severalfgetors. First, it was the LLC that incurred
the prior tax liability, and there has not beennfal personal penalty action or other action to hold
PETITONER REP 2 personally responsible for the slebthe LLC. In fact, it was Petitioner’s positithat
the Division would be unable to issue a personahjtg assessment against PETITONER REP 2 because of
the Tax Commission’s findings in the LLC's prionegal. In that prior appeal, the Tax Commissiomébthat
PETITONER REP 2 was not negligent and that he resh lunaware that he needed to collect and remit
tobacco products tax for those items he had puechf&®m out of state distributors. At some pohe t
Division merely started sending collection noticégt had been previously been addressed to the LLC
directly to PETITONER REP 2 personally for the Lli#gbility. Second, once PETITONER REP 2 was aware
of the tobacco products tax, he started purchdsimg distributors who collected and remitted thega he
has not incurred further liability. Third, neithére LLC, nor the Petitioner had outstanding citiareax

balances or incurred cigarette tax liability. Bdéthtitioner and the LLC only purchased cigarettesmf

-4-
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wholesalers who stamped the cigarettes and paiththe Fourth, the LLC had no outstanding sales tax
liability. Fifth, Petitioner had originally appliefor a sales tax license in January 2009 andi¢eade had
been issued. Petitioner then timely filed and ftaidales tax return for the first quarter of 2089Petitioner
has no outstanding sales tax liability. Petitiomgerated under this license until May 13, 200% it was
notified by the Taxpayer Services Division that titense was denied. The Taxpayer Services Divisio
denied the license without filing a revocation aetiand providing reasonable notice and a hearing.

1: Cigarette Products License

Petitioner argues that under the current statfitamyework, the Processing Division could not
deny the issuance of the cigarette products arattabproducts licenses. The Division’s attorneydrgued
in its prehearing brief that provisions at Utah €akc. 59-14-202 barred the issuance of the license
However, those provisions would only bar issuaridbére had been a delinquent cigarette tax ligbili
Petitioner points out that in this case, the omlljmdjuency was the tobacco products tax from th€.LThe
Commission agrees with Petitioner that there istatutory provision that would preclude issuancéhef
cigarette products license in this matter as I@tha bond requirement has been met.

Utah Code Sec. 59-14-201(3)(b) does provide fhaiaants are not required to post a bond if
the applicant purchases only products which hae@tbper state stamp affixed and file an affidaith their
application attesting to this fact. The informatiproffered by Petitioner at the hearing was thamiy
purchased stamped cigarettes. If this is Petitistrgent going forward and it files the affidavitwould not
be required to post a bond to obtain the cigapetiducts license. If Petitioner does not file diffedavit, the
Division may require a reasonable bond, but the @msion notes that pursuant to 59-14-301, the Inoeg
be combined with the tobacco products bond.

2. Tobacco Products License

The Division points to no statutory provision ratjag the Tobacco Products License pursuant
to which it can deny to issue the license othen ttiee bond requirement. Utah Code Sec. 59-14-301(1
provides that all manufacturers and distributorobficco products who are responsible for colleaticthe
tobacco tax, and all retailers of tobacco prodabtdl be licensed. Petitioner is a retailer aréudy would
need to be licensed. The bond requirement is gedt@ubsection (3) and provides that any manufectu
wholesaler, retailer or other who is responsibletfe collection of tax shall post a bond. If Retier
purchased products from out of state distributbiest tvere not collecting the tax, Petitioner woukel b

responsible for the collection of the tax. Therefdhe Commission concludes that under this pi@vis
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Petitioner is required to post a bond. The stajivies the Commission considerable deference oartfoeint
of the bond, with the only restriction being tHa¢ minimum amount is $$$$$.

The Commission weighs the factors. Petitioneriscurrently incurring tobacco products
liability. However, in Petitioner’s principal’s i business, the LLC, a substantial tax liabiligsancurred
because the business had started purchasing topaohacts from distributors who did not remit the to the
state. Further this liability remains unpaid tstthate. From these factors the Commission coesltitht a
bond higher than the minimum amount is warranéte Commission notes from its prior decision inith€
case that the deficiency in tax was from an abit encompassed a period of nearly four years pikigén
mind that Petitioner currently is not incurring &aico products liability, but that Petitioner woirdur this if
Petitioner began to purchase from distributors whpe not collecting the tax, the Commission conefutiat
a reasonable amount for the bond would be an astiofdhe liability that could occur during a oneays
period. Since there was no discussion in the pieaision in the LLC case of when the liability viasurred
during the audit period, the Commission’s besnest of a reasonable bond amount is $$$$3.

3. SalesTax Licenses

Utah Code Sec. 59-12-106(2)(d) states that themission shall review an application and
determine if the applicant is required to post adoefore the license is issued. Subsection (B)épecifies
when the commission would require an applicantast @ bond, but these provisions specifically imgol
delinquencies under the Sales and Use Tax acthidrcase, no delinquencies of sales and use tax we
alleged. Under these provisions the Division mayyden applicant a license if they fail to post bund.
However, the Division is not asserting it is takingion under this provision.

The provision under which the Division argueswabarity for requiring a bond is Utah Code
Sec. 59-12-106(2)(e)(i)). Unlike (2)(e)(i) aboy@)(e)(ii) applies when the Division has alreadyuisd a
license. Under this subsection, if the Divisios fesued a license to a party it may require arisee” to post
abond if it is necessary to ensure compliance thi¢fSales and Use Tax Act. The use by the |égislaf the
term “licensee” rather than “applicant” which itchased in the prior subsection, infers the inteait the bond
could be required after the license had already B=eied. However, as specified at Utah Code®8et2-
106(2)(b) once the license has been issued iticswatil it is revoked, or for other factors thae not an issue
in this matter. Subsection 2(h) provides thatli€@nsee violates a provision of this chapter Gloenmission
shall “upon reasonable notice and after a heaniegbke the license. Although the Commission disegr

with Petitioner’s representation that the licerm@ld not be revoked for failure to post a bond Geenmission
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does agree with Petitioner’s point that if therise has already been issued, as is presumed aj@gfiij, the
proper procedure would have been to file a revonadiction. The Division did not do so. Therefdhe
Commission abates the Division’s action in denfahe license for failure to post the bond. Asdeeial has
been abated, the Commission does not considerssiue iof whether the bond was necessary to ensure
compliance of the Sales and Use Tax Act.

The Commission further notes that even if it waisnfd that the bond was necessary, the
Division did not follow the statutory requirement fletermining the amount of the bond. Utah Code S
12-106(f) provides that the basis for determinimg bond is the amount of the applicant’s salesusedax
liability or sales tax delinquencies of the appiicar fiduciary of the applicant or other relateatty, or the
minimum amount of $$$$3$. The Division providegstatutory basis upon which it could set an amfamt
this bond at the $100,000 that it has requested.

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the forgoing, the Commission hereby isstiae Processing Division’s decision to

deny Petitioner the tobacco products license aaditarette tax licenses pending the bonding rement.
However, the Processing Division is to issue thenges to Petitioner, should Petitioner comply thin
bonding requirements by posting a $$$$$ bond ®tdbacco products tax and by filing the affidémitthe
cigarette products tax. If the affidavit is ndéfi, the Division may require a reasonable bondtiigarette
products tax. The Taxpayer Service Division’s deof the sales tax license is abated. It isrdered.

This Decision does not limit a party's right toaRal Hearing. Any party to this case may
file a written request within thirty (30) days bktdate of this decision to proceed to a FormaltikigaSuch a
request shall be mailed to the address listed batwhmust include the Petitioner's name, addradsygpeal
number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will precludg further appeal rights in this matter.
DATED this day of , 2009.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge
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BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION.

DATED this day of , 2009.
Pam Hendrickson R. Bruce Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
Marc B. Johnson D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commissioner Commissioner
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