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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on an Initial Hearing pursuant
to the provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5 on June 11, 2009. Taxpayer was assessed an
extension penalty in the amount of $$$$$, an underestimated pre-payment penalty in the amount
of $$$$8$, and a late payment penalty in the amount of $$$$$. The Division waived the extension
and late payment penalties. Taxpayer request the underestimated pre-payment penalty be
recalculated based on quarterly payments determined by the annualized income method.

APPLICABLE LAW

The Commission has been granted the discretion to waive, reduce, or compromise
penalties and interest, as set forth in Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(13), below:
Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable cause
shown, the commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any
of the penalties or interest imposed under this part.
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(13) (2008).

Estimated corporate franchise tax payments are required as set forth in Utah Code Ann.

§59-7-504, as follows:
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(1)  Except as otherwise provided in this section, each
corporation subject to taxation under this chapter having a
tax liability of $3,000 or more in the current tax year, or
which had a tax liability of $3,000 or more in the previous
tax year, shall make payments of estimated tax at the same
time and using any method provided under Section 6655,
Internal Revenue Code.

(2) The following are modifications or exceptions to the
provisions of Section 6655, Internal Revenue Code:

(a) for the first year a corporation is required to file a
return in Utah, that corporation is not subject to
Subsection (1) if it makes a payment on or before
the due date of the return, without extensions, equal
to or greater than the minimum tax required under
Section 59-7-104 or 59-7-201;

(b) the applicable percentage of the required annual
payment, as defined in Section 6655, Internal
Revenue Code, for annualized income installments,
adjusted seasonal installments, and those estimated
tax payments based on the current year tax liability

shall be:
Installment: Percentage:
I 22.5
2n 45.0
31 67.5
4" 90.0

(c) large corporations shall be treated as any other
corporation for purposes of this section; and

(d) if a taxpayer elects a different annualization period
than the one used for federal purposes, the taxpayer
shall make an election with the Tax Commission at
the same time as provided under Section 6655,
Internal Revenue Code.

(3) A penalty shall be added as provided in Section 59-1-401
for any quarterly estimated tax payments which is not
made in accordance with this section.

(4) There shall be no interest added to any estimated tax
payments subject to a penalty under this section.

Utah Code Ann. §59-7-504 (2007).
Section 6655 sets forth the requirements for installment payments as follows, in pertinent

part:
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(d) Amount of required installments — for purposes of this

section —

(1) Amount.
(A)

(B)

In general. Except as otherwise provided
in this section, the amount of any
required installments shall be 25 percent
of the required annual payment.
Required annual payment. Except as
otherwise provided in this subsection, the
term “required annual payment” means
the lesser of —
(1) 100 percent of the tax shown on
the return for the taxable year
(or, if no return is filed, 100
percent of the tax for such year),
or
(ii) 100 percent of the tax shown on
the return of the corporation for
the preceding taxable year.
Clause (ii) shall not apply if the
preceding taxable year was not a taxable
year of 12 months, or the corporation
did not file a return for such preceding
taxable year showing a liability for tax.

(2) Large corporations required to pay 100 percent of
current year tax.
(A) In general. Except as provided in

(B)

subparagraph (B), clause (ii) of paragraph
(1)(B) shall not apply in the case of a
large corporation.

May use last year’s tax for 1* installment.
Subparagraph (A) shall not apply for
purposes of determining the amount of
the 1% required installment for any
taxable year. Any reduction in such 1%
installment by reason of the preceding
sentence shall be recaptured by
increasing the amount of the next
required installment determined under
paragraph (1) by the amount of such
reduction.

(e) Lower required installment where annualized income
installment or adjusted seasonal installment is less than
amount determined under subsection (d).

(1) In general. In the case of any required installment,
if the corporation establishes that the annualized

income

installment or the adjusted seasonal

installment is less than the amount determined under
subsection (d)(1) (as modified by paragraphs (2) and
(3) of subsection (d)) -
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(A) the amount of such required installment

(B)

shall be the annualized income
installment (or, if lesser, the adjusted
seasonal installment), and

any reduction in a required installment
resulting from the application of this
paragraph shall be recaptured by
increasing the amount of the next
required installment determined under
subsection (d)(1) (as so modified) by the
amount of such reduction (and by
increasing subsequent required
installments to the extent that the
reduction has not previously been
recaptured under this subparagraph).

(2) Determination of annualized income installment.

(A) In general. In the case of any required

(B)

installment, the annualized income

installment is the excess (if any) of —

(1) An amount equal to the
applicable percentage of the tax
for the taxable year computed
by placing on an annualized
basis the taxable income,
alternative minimum taxable

income, and modified
alternative minimum taxable
income —

()  for the first 3 months of
the taxable year, in the
case of the 1% required
installment,

(II) for the first 3 months of
the taxable year in the
case of the 2™ required
installment,

(IIl) for the first 6 months of
the taxable year in the
case of the 3™ required
installment, and

(IV) for the first 9 months of
the taxable year, in the
case of the 4" required
installment, over

(i1) the aggregate amount of any
prior required installments for
the taxable year.

Special rules — for purposes of this
paragraph —
(1) Annualization. The taxable

income, alternative minimum
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taxable income, and modified
alternative minimum taxable
income shall be placed on an

annualized basis under
regulations prescribed by the
Secretary.

(i1) Applicable percentage. In the
case of the following required
installments, percentage is:

| R 25
M 50
34 75
4™, .....100
(ii1) Modified alternative minimum
taxable income. The term

“modified alternative minimum
taxable income” has the
meaning given to such term by
section S9A(b)...

LR.C. §6655 (2007).

DISCUSSION

Taxpayer is requesting an adjustment of the underestimated prepayment penalty. The
Commission calculated the required quarterly prepayments to be $$$$$, based on 90% of the tax
due for 2007. The Taxpayer contends that the required quarterly prepayments should be
calculated based on the annualized income method. Taxpayer’s representative calculated that
under the annualized income method, the estimated tax for 2007 is $$$$$ in each of the
annualized periods because the Taxpayer experienced net operating losses through September 30,
2007.

Taxpayer provided information to show that the company’s estimated operating losses,
after apportionment were $$$$$ as of March 31; $$$$$ as of June 30; and $3$3$$ as of September
30. Taxpayer incurred a net capital gain between October 1, 2007 and December 31, 2007
of$$$$$, with $$$$8$ being apportioned to Utah. That gain cause Taxpayer to have taxable
income for the 2007 tax year, but because that gain was recognized after the final annualization
period for 2007, it was not taken into consideration when determining Taxpayer’s quarterly
estimated tax payments under the annualized installment method.

Taxpayer’s representative testified that due to the nature of Taxpayer’s business, there are
wild swings in income, and their tax liability changes from quarter to quarter. Taxpayer’s
representative stated that a prepayment was not made for the first quarter because they believed

there would be an overpayment from the 2006 tax year that would be applied. He testified that
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the second quarter, Taxpayer knew there would not be an overpayment and so a “cushion
payment” of $$$$$ was made on June 15, 2007. Taxpayer did not make prepayments in the third
and fourth quarters because they believed they were going to have a net operating loss for the
year.

The Division’s representative acknowledges that the annualized method is an acceptable
means of determining the required quarterly prepayment. However, the Division argues that
there is not reasonable cause to reduce the penalty amount. The Taxpayer did not make the
$8$8$ quarterly prepayments on which it is asking the Commission to base the penalty
assessment. The Division provided a copy of Taxpayer’s federal transcript for the 2007 tax year,
which shows estimated tax payments on April 17, 2007 and June 15, 2007 in the amount of
$8$$$ each; as well as a payment of $$$$$ on March 17, 2008. The Division argued that the
federal prepayments indicate Taxpayer anticipated a larger tax liability.  Taxpayer’s
representative stated that because the Taxpayer is a personal holding company and subject to the
alternative minimum tax, the company can have a loss for Utah purposes but still have a federal
tax obligation. In addition, the Division argued that the Taxpayer should have made more
substantial prepayments, and noted that the Taxpayer’s lowest tax liability was $$$$$ in 2002.
Finally, the Division noted that Taxpayer had been assessed an underestimated prepayment
penalty for the 2006 tax year, and therefore did not have a good compliance history.

There is no dispute that the underpayment prepayment penalty should be assessed
because Taxpayer failed to make prepayments on April 15, 2007, September 15, 2007, and
December 15, 2007. Rather, Taxpayer disputes the calculation of that assessment by the
Commission. The Commission has the discretion to waive, reduce, or compromise penalties
upon reasonable cause shown under Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(13). Utah Code Ann. §59-7-504
provides that a corporation subject to a tax liability of $$$$$ or more in the current or previous
tax year is required to make payments of estimated tax using any method provided in Section
6655 of the Internal Revenue Code. Internal Revenue Code Section 6655(e)(1) allows for a lower
required prepayment if the corporation can establish that the annualized income installment
method is less than the amount determined under Section 6655(d)(1). The Taxpayer has provided
calculations and documentation to show that under the annualized income installment method,
their required payments would have been $$$3$$ in each of the annualized periods because of its
net operating losses through September 30, 2007. Thus, the Commission finds there is reasonable
cause to assess the penalty based on the prepayments required under the annualized income

installment method.
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DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission grants Taxpayer’s request to reduce the
underestimated prepayment penalty so that it is assessed based on Taxpayer’s required
prepayments under the annualized income installment method for the 2007 tax year. It is so
ordered.

This decision does not limit a party’s right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this
case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a
Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the
Petitioner’s name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2009.

Jan Marshall
Administrative Law Judge

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION:

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision.

DATED this day of , 2009.
Pam Hendrickson R. Bruce Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
Marc B. Johnson D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commissioner Commissioner

NOTICE: Failure to pay the balance due as a result of this order within thirty days from the date

hereon may result in an additional penalty.
JM/09-1711.int



