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BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

PETITIONER,  HEARING ON MOTION TO DISMISS 

    TAXPAYER’S APPEAL 
 Petitioner,    

    Appeal Number: 09-1242 

vs.    

    Account Number: ##### 

AUDITING DIVISION OF THE    

UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION,  Tax Type:  INCOME 

    

 Respondent.  Judge:   CHAPMAN 

____________________________________________________________________________   

 

 The Auditing Division has filed a Motion to Dismiss this appeal on the basis that the 

Petition for Redetermination was not filed within thirty (30) days of the date of the Statutory 

Notice of Assessment.  The Motion to Dismiss raises a threshold jurisdictional issue that must 

be resolved before a hearing on the underlying audit issues can be set.  The Status Conference 

currently set for 28 July 2009 is hereby canceled and a hearing on the merits of the 

Division’s Motion to Dismiss is scheduled for the time set forth below. 

 A Hearing on Motion to Dismiss will take place as follows: 

   

DATE: 28 July 2009 

TIME: 8:30 a.m. Mountain Time 
PLACE: Utah State Tax Commission 

 210 North 1950 West 

 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134-6200 

 

  At the hearing, both parties will be allowed to present their arguments, after 

which a written decision will be issued whether to grant or deny the Motion to Dismiss.  An 

order to deny the Division’s motion will be issued if the evidence and testimony show the 

appeal was filed within the 30 day deadline or, if filed late, whether extraordinary 

circumstances exist that would justify the Commission’s acceptance of the late filed appeal, 

such as some act or omission on the part of the Auditing Division that interfered with the 

taxpayer’s rights of due process.  In this situation, the underlying appeal on the audit issue will 
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continue and further proceedings will be set.  Otherwise, an order to grant the Division’s 

motion will be issued and the taxpayer’s appeal will be dismissed. 

 The parties must mail, fax, or deliver copies of any documents, which will be 

introduced as evidence at the hearing to the Tax Commission Appeals Unit and to the opposing 

party no later than 10 days prior to the hearing.  Failure to provide the documents in 

accordance with this order may result in the exclusion of such evidence from consideration. 

 The parties may appear at the hearing by telephone conference call.  To appear by 

telephone any party must call fifteen minutes prior to the hearing at (801) 297-2282 and leave a 

number where he or she can be reached for the hearing. 

    A taxpayer may, at his or her option, submit a written response to the Motion to 

Dismiss at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing date.  A response should outline any 

arguments the taxpayer would like to make in opposition to the Motion to Dismiss.  Failure to 

appear in person or by telephone at the motion hearing may result in the dismissal of this 

appeal, even if a taxpayer submits a written response. 

 

 

DATED this __________________ day of _________________________, 2009. 

   

  

    _______________________________________ 

    Administrative Law Judge 
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