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 For Petitioner:  PETITIONER, Pro Se 
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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing on April 22, 2009.  

Petitioner is requesting a refund of the administrative impound fee assessed when a vehicle owned by the 

Petitioner was impounded following an arrest of the driver for driving under the influence.   

APPLICABLE LAW 

 A refund of the DUI administrative fee shall be refunded under Utah Code Ann. §41-6A-

1406(6)(c), as follows: 

The administrative impound fee assessed under Subsection (6)(a)(iv) 
shall be waived or refund by the State Tax Commission if the registered 
owner, lien holder, or owner’s agent presents written evidence to the 
State Tax Commission that: 
 
(i) the Driver License division determined that the arrested person’s 

driver license should not be suspended or revoked under Section 
53-3-223 or 41-6a-521 as shown by a letter or other report from 
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the Driver License Division presented within 30 days of the final 
notification from the Driver License Division; or 

 
(ii)  the vehicle was stolen at the time of the impoundment as shown 

by a copy of the stolen vehicle report presented within 30 days of 
the impoundment. 

 
Utah Code Ann. §41-6a-1406(6)(c) (2008).   

DISCUSSION 

Petitioner is requesting a refund of the administrative impound fee after his vehicle was 

impounded.  The Petitioner testified that he had hired temporary help for a few days to work on his home 

in CITY.  His friend asked to borrow Petitioner’s vehicle, and offered to drop off one of the temporary 

workers, but that the temporary worker ended up staying at the Petitioner’s friend’s house.  Petitioner 

testified that his friend heard the vehicle start in the middle of the night, and ran out to find the temporary 

worker driving.  The temporary worker was pulled over, and arrested for driving under the influence.   

On or about October 12, 2008, the Petitioner contacted the COUNTY Sheriff to obtain several 

items that were in the car at the time it was impounded.  The Petitioner provided a copy of the police 

report.  The police report indicates that the Petitioner wanted to retrieve items in the vehicle, specifically 

his prescription medication, as well as reporting that approximately $$$$$ of fuel had been stolen from 

his property.  The police report does not indicate that the vehicle was stolen at the time it was impounded.   

 The Division’s representative stated that under Utah Code Ann. §41-61-1406(6)(c)(ii), the 

administrative impound fee can be refunded if the vehicle was stolen at the time of the impoundment, as 

shown by a copy of the stolen vehicle report.  The Division’s representative argued that the statute 

provided a bright-line test, and that the circumstances the Petitioner has not provided a stolen vehicle 

report.  Further, he noted that the circumstances described by the Petitioner seem to be something less 

than “stolen”, and stated that the Petitioner’s recourse would be to get reimbursement from the driver.   

 Utah Code Ann. §41-6a-1406(6)(c) sets forth the circumstances under which a refund of the 

administrative impound fee can be refunded.   The Petitioner has not provided a stolen vehicle report that 

would allow for a refund of the administrative refund fee.  In addition, the Commission notes that under 

Utah Code Ann. §41-6a-1406(8), that the Petitioner has a cause of action against the driver of the vehicle 

for all fees and charges, as well as damages, court costs, and attorney fees.   

DECISION AND ORDER 
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Based upon the foregoing, the Commission denies Petitioner’s request for a refund of the 

impound fee.  It is so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and 

Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a 

written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a 

request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and 

appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this ________ day of ________________________ 2009. 
 

 
__________________________________ 
Jan Marshall 

   Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this _________ day of ________________________, 2009. 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson  R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson  D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner   Commissioner 
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