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 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Hearing on a Motion to Dismiss on 

May 7, 2009.  In its Motion to Dismiss dated March 3, 2009, Respondent (“Division”) argued that Petitioner 

(“Taxpayer”) failed to timely file an appeal of the audit deficiencies for the 2005 tax year.  

APPLICABLE LAW 

State taxable income is defined as federal taxable income with some modifications, subtractions and 

adjustments.  Utah Code Ann. § 59-10-112 (2005).
1
 

For the purposes of determining state taxable income, federal taxable income means taxable income as 

defined in Section 63, of the Internal Revenue Code.  Utah Code Ann. § 59-10-111(2005). 

If a change is made in a taxpayer's net income on his or her federal income tax return, either because 

the taxpayer has filed an amended return or because of an action by the federal government, the taxpayer must 

notify the Utah Tax Commission within 90 days after the final determination of such change.  The taxpayer 

                         
1 

The Individual Income Tax Act was recently revised and sections renumbered. The Commission applies 

the substantive law that was in effect during the tax years at issue regarding the amount of the tax 

calculation, and cites the 2005 provisions.    
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shall file a copy of the amended federal return and an amended state return that conforms to the changes on the 

federal return.  Utah Code Ann. § 59-10-536(5)(a). 

“Except in any case where the taxpayer has earlier filed with the commission a petition for 

redetermination of the deficiency as provided in Title 59, Chapter 1 Part 5, the notice of deficiency shall 

constitute a final assessment of the deficiency in tax, including interest thereon and any penalties or other 

additions to tax: (a) upon the expiration of  30 days, or 90 days if the notice is addressed to a person outside of 

the states of the union and the District of Colombia, after the date of mailing of the notice of deficiency to the 

taxpayer. .  .”  Utah Code Ann. § 59-10-525(1). 

A taxpayer may file a request for agency action, petitioning the commission for redetermination of a 

deficiency.  Utah Code Ann. § 59-1-501. 

A petition for redetermination is deemed to be timely if the petition is “received in the commission 

offices no later than 30 days from the date of a notice that creates the right to appeal.  The petition is deemed to 

be timely if:  (a) in the case of mailed or hand-delivered documents:  (i) the petition is received in the 

commission offices on or before the close of business of the last day of the 30-day period; or (ii) the date of the 

postmark on the envelope or cover indicates that the request was mailed on or before the last day of the 30-day 

period . . .”  Utah Admin. Code R861-1A-20(2). 

Utah Admin. Code R861-1A-22B. states that the contents of a petition must be as follows: 

Contents.  A petition for adjudicative action need not be in any particular form, but shall 

be in writing and, in addition to the requirements of Utah Code Ann. § 63-46b-3, shall 

contain the following:   

1.  name and street address and, if available, a fax number or e-mail address of petitioner 

or the petitioner’s representative;  

2.  a telephone number where the petitioning party or that party’s representative can be 

reached during regular business hours;  

3.  petitioner’s tax identification, social security number or other relevant identification 

number, such as real property parcel number or vehicle identification number;  

4.  particular tax or issue involved, period of alleged liability, amount of tax in dispute, 

and, in the case of a property tax issue, the lien date;  

5.  if the petition results from a letter or notice, the petition will include the date of the 

letter or notice and the originating division or officer; and  

6.  in the case of property tax cases, the assessed value sought.   

 

DISCUSSION 

The Division stated that the Statutory Notice of Deficiency (“Notice”) was mailed on June 3, 2008, for 

the 2005 tax year.  This Division further provided that the Notice explained the changes to the 2005 return and 

the Taxpayer’s appeal rights and that the Appeal Instructions, which were attached to the Notice, instructed the 
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Taxpayer to file by July 3, 2008.  The Division explained that the Taxpayer’s petition was received on 

February 3, 2009, which is the date of the Taxpayer’s letter and the postmark on the petition’s envelope.  The 

Division explained that, pursuant to Utah Code Ann. § 59-10-525, an audit deficiency becomes the final 

assessment unless an appeal is filed within thirty days from the date of the Notice.    

The Taxpayer explained that the Division changed her 2005 return to disallow an exemption for her 

intellectually disabled CHILD, (  X  ).  She said that the state always allowed the exemption in the past. She 

said that this is a special exemption for the state return that is not also for the federal return.  The Taxpayer 

explained that she unintentionally missed the filing deadline because of her circumstances.  She said that she 

lost her home; that she is caring for her mother; that she is living in one room of her mother’s house; that her 

children needed her special attention; and that she might be clinically depressed, especially during winter.  She 

explained that when she found her Notice in February 2009, she quickly wrote and filed her appeal.  No Tax 

Commission employee provided her incorrect advice about filing her appeal.  Rather, in response to a question, 

the Taxpayer said that a Tax Commission employee told her that her appeal needed to be in writing. 

In this case, there is no question that the Taxpayer’s appeal was filed after the July 3, 2008 deadline 

provided on the Notice.  Therefore, this Commission must determine whether this case involves extraordinary 

circumstances allowing for a late-filed appeal.  In general, such extraordinary circumstances involve actions by 

the Tax Commission that interfered with the taxpayers’ due process rights.  In this case, there is no evidence 

that the Tax Commission interfered with the Taxpayer’s appeal.  Rather, the Taxpayer explained other events, 

independent of the Tax Commission, that caused her to file after the deadline.  While the Taxpayer’s situation 

is unfortunate, the facts of this case do not show extraordinary circumstances that justify the Commission’s 

acceptance of a late filed appeal.  The Division provided a proper notice, and it did not cause the Taxpayer to 

respond after the statutory deadline.  Accordingly, this appeal will be dismissed for failure to file a timely 

appeal. 

The Commission notes, however, that certain taxpayers now have an additional remedy when they 

object to a final assessment.  Senate Bill 108 was recently enacted and is currently in effect.  S.B. 108 allows 

certain taxpayers who have not previously filed timely appeals to object to a final assessment by paying the tax 

and then filing a claim for a refund as provided in the statutes.  Utah Code Ann. § 59-1-501(7).  The Tax 

Commission will either grant or deny the claim for a refund.  If the Tax Commission denies the claim, then a 

taxpayer may appeal the denial by filing a petition with the commission within 30 days of the denial.  Utah 

Code Ann. § 59-1-1410(9).  Please note, a taxpayer’s claim of refund must still meet the general deadline for 

all claims of refunds, which in these cases will generally be two years from the date of payment.  Utah Code 
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Ann. § 59-1-1410(8)(a)(ii).  Because we have determined that your protest was untimely, this remedy will 

apply to you.  Accordingly, if you pay the tax, you may still pursue your administrative remedies by filing a 

claim for refund at any time within two years of that payment.  

 ORDER 

The thirty-day requirement for filing an appeal is jurisdictional and the Taxpayers’ failure to meet the 

requirement is cause for dismissal of this appeal.  Based upon the foregoing, the Commission dismisses the 

Taxpayer’s appeal in this matter.  It is so ordered.   

 

DATED this ___________ day of ________________________, 2009. 

 

__________________________________ 

Aimee Nielson-Larios 

Administrative Law Judge 

 

 

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION. 

 

The undersigned have reviewed this motion and concur in this decision. 

 

DATED this ____________ day of ________________________, 2009. 

 

 

 

 

Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 

Commission Chair   Commissioner 

 

 

 

 

Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 

Commissioner    Commissioner  

 

Notice and Appeal Rights:  Failure to pay the balance due as a result of this order within thirty days may 

result in an additional late payment penalty. You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a 

Request for Reconsideration with the Commission pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 63G-4-302.  A Request for 

Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact.  If you do not file a 

Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. You have thirty 

(30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Sec. 

59-1-601 et seq. and 63G-4-401 et seq. 
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