
08-1860 

MOTOR VEHICLE 

SIGNED 1-21-09 

 

 

BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 

 

PETITIONER, 

 

 Petitioner, 

 

v. 

 

MOTOR VEHICLE ENFORCEMENT 

DIVISION OF THE UTAH STATE TAX 

COMMISSION,  

 

 Respondent.  

 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS 

OF LAW, AND FINAL DECISION 

 

 

Appeal No. 08-1860 

 

Tax Type:  Salesperson License 

Tax Year:  2008 

 

 

Judge:  Marshall  

 

 

Presiding: 
Pam Hendrickson, Commission Chair 

Jan Marshall, Administrative Law Judge 

 

Appearances: 
For Petitioner: PETITIONER, Pro Se 
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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

 

 This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for Formal Hearing on January 

6, 2009.  The Applicant is appealing the Division’s denial of his application for a motor vehicle 

salesperson license.  Based on the testimony and evidence presented at the Formal Hearing, the 

Tax Commission hereby makes its: 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. On or about August 1, 2008, the Applicant submitted a Motor Vehicle Salesperson 

Application to the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division (“MVED”).  (Exhibit R-1).   

2. Question number three of the application asks, “During the past 10 years, have you been 

convicted of any misdemeanors or felonies in Utah or any other state?”  Applicant 

checked the “Yes” box, and in the space provided, wrote, “Conspiracy to Distribute.”   

3. On August 27, 2008 the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division sent a letter to the 

Applicant denying his salesperson license application due to the nature of the Applicant’s 

criminal conviction.  (Exhibit R-4).   
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4. Applicant’s Utah Criminal History Report (Exhibit R-2) was subsequently obtained and 

showed the following convictions in the last 10 years:  

DATE  CONVICTION 

8/19/08 Criminal Mischief (Class B Misdemeanor) 

8/19/08 Domestic Violence in Presence of Child (Class C Misdemeanor) 

5. Applicant’s Federal Criminal History Report (Exhibit R-3) was obtained and showed the 

following convictions in the last 10 years: 

DATE  CONVICTION 

6/27/00  Conspiracy to Distribute Controlled Substance  

6. Applicant submitted documents from the Ogden City Justice Court (Exhibit P-1) which 

show that the August 2008 convictions were vacated and the case dismissed.   

7. The Applicant was sentenced to 24 months in prison.  He testified that he chose to 

participate in a drug treatment program.  Applicant testified that from 2000-2005 he 

participated in a military-style boot camp. Applicant stated that he met all expectations in 

the boot camp, and received the highest honor.  He testified that he has been clean since 

2000, and has not been in trouble since that time.     

8. He returned to Utah in 2005, and worked various jobs including construction, auto 

mechanics, and auto body work.    

9. The Applicant works at his current employer doing “lining.”  He explained that he meets 

and greets customers, and then introduces them to a salesperson.  He testified that he has 

not sold any vehicles since working for his employer.     

10. For the Division, RESPONDENT REP 2 testified that MVED is required by Utah Code 

Ann. §41-3-209 to deny the Applicant a salesperson license because the Applicant had 

been convicted of a violation of state or federal law involving a controlled substance 

within the last 10 years.    

APPLICABLE LAW 

 The denial, suspension, and revocation of a salesperson license are governed by Utah 

Code Ann. §41-3-209(2) as follows: 

(a) If the administrator finds that there is reasonable cause to 

deny, suspend, or revoke a license issued under this chapter, 

the administrator shall deny, suspend, or revoke the license. 

(b) Reasonable cause for denial, suspension, or revocation   

of a license includes, in relation to the applicant or license 

holder or any of its partners, officers, or directors: 

 

(i) lack of a principal place of business; 
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(ii) lack of a sales tax license required under Title 

59, Chapter 12, Sales and use Tax Act; 

 

(iii) lack of a bond in effect as required by this 

chapter; 

 

(iv) current revocation or suspension of a dealer, 

dismantler, auction, or salesperson license issued 

in another state; 

 

(v) nonpayment of required fees; 

 

(vi) making a false statement on any application of a 

license under this chapter or for special license 

plates; 

 

(vii) a violation of any state or federal law involving 

motor vehicles; 

 

(viii) a violation of any state or federal law involving 

controlled substances; 

 

(ix) charges filed with any county attorney, district 

attorney, or U.S. attorney in any court of 

competent jurisdiction for a violation of any 

state or federal law involving motor vehicles; 

 

(x) a violation of any state or federal law involving 

fraud; or 

 

(xi) a violation of any state or federal law involving 

a registerable sex offense under Section 77-27-

21.5 

 

Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209 (2008).   

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

The Division had reasonable cause to deny the Applicant’s salesperson license under 

Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209.  The Applicant has been convicted of crimes involving controlled 

substances, which constitutes “reasonable cause” for the denial of a salesperson license.  

Although the Division had reasonable cause to suspend the Applicant’s license, the Commission 

may consider other factors, such as the passage of time since the most recent conviction, the 

payment of restitution, and termination of probation or parole.  It has been more than eight years 

since the Applicant’s most recent conviction, the applicant is not on parole, and has remained off 

drugs since his conviction in 2000.  The Applicant provided documentation to show that the 
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August 2008 convictions shown on his criminal history report had been vacated and the case 

dismissed.  Under the circumstances, the Commission finds that the Applicant should be granted 

a motor vehicle salesperson license.   

DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing the Commission abates the Division’s action and grants the 

Applicant his motor vehicle salesperson license.  It is so ordered.   

DATED this __________ day of ______________________, 2009. 

 

 

______________________________ 

Jan Marshall 

Administrative Law Judge 

 

 

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _________________________, 2009. 

 

 

 

 

Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 

Commission Chair   Commissioner 

 

 

 

 

Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 

Commissioner    Commissioner 

 

 

Notice of Appeal Rights:  You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request 

for Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §63-

46b-13.  A Request for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of 

law or fact.  If you do not file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order 

constitutes final agency action.  You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue 

judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-601 and §63-46b-13 et. 

seq. 
 

JM/08-1860.fof   
 


