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 PETITIONER REP 2, Vice President, PETITIONER 
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 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Formal Hearing pursuant to 

Utah Code Sec. 63-46b-6 et al., on May 12, 2009.  Based upon the evidence and testimony presented at the 

hearing, the Tax Commission hereby makes its: 

 FINDINGS OF FACT 

 1.  This matter is before the Commission on Petitioner’s (“PETITIONER’S”) appeal of 

Respondent’s  (the “Division’s”) revocation of PETITIONER  license to sell cigar, cigarettes or tobacco 

products for a period of one year.  The revocation was issued by notice dated July 8, 2008.  The notice was 

timely appealed and the matter proceeding through the administrative hearing process to the Formal Hearing. 
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2.  The reason given by the Division for the revocation was based on “receipt of written 

notification from the AREA Health Department that [PETITIONER] has been found to have sold tobacco 

products to underage persons four times AREA Health Department had found PETITIONER  in violation of 

provisions that prohibit the sale of tobacco products to minors on four occasions over a twelve month period 

was not in dispute.  In fact, the violations themselves were not in dispute. The violations were as follows: 

 Notice of Violation issued December 11, 2006, indicated that PETITIONER  employee  

EMPLOYEE 1 had sold tobacco to a person younger than 19 years of age on or about December 7, 2006.   

 Notice of Violation issued March 13, 2007, indicated that PETITIONER  employee 

EMPLOYEE 2 sold tobacco to a person younger than 19 years of age on or about March 12, 2007. 

 Notice of Violation issued July 17, 2007, indicated that PETITIONER  employee 

EMPLOYEE 2 Waddell again sold tobacco to a person younger than 19 years of age on or about June 7, 2007. 

  

 Notice of Violation issued October 17, 2007, indicated that PETITIONER  employee 

EMPLOYEE 3 sold tobacco to a person younger than 19 years of age on or about September 18, 2007.   

 4. PETITIONER  had appealed the fourth violation and the matter proceeded to a 

hearing before a Hearing Officer for the AREA Health Department on December 12, 2007.  The hearing 

officer received testimony and exhibits into evidence and issued a decision on January 10, 2008, upholding the 

violation, imposing a penalty of $$$$$, which was less than the $1000 total penalty that could have been 

imposed, and finding the violation to be the fourth within a twelve month period. 

 5.  PETITIONER  appealed the decision and the matter proceeded to further hearing 

before the AREA Health Department’s Chief Hearing Officer, who issued his decision on April 18, 2008, 

which upheld the January 10, 2008 decision. 

 6. Since the violations, PETITIONER  has implemented processes to train employees 
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and prevent further sale of tobacco products to minors.  The store currently has multiple warning signs that 

state  “We Card” and “We do not sell Tobacco products to Persons Under 19.”  Additionally, PETITIONER  

has employed the BARS Program (“Be A Responsible Store”), which provides training and  random site visits 

to check on  employees’ compliance.  PETITIONER  representative proffered that PETITIONER  had 

purchased a new cash register system at a cost of $$$$$, which requires that the store clerk type in the birth 

date of anyone purchasing cigarettes.  The Division did not refute this proffer, or that PETITIONER  has 

implemented programs and processes aimed at preventing future sales of tobacco products to minors.  

7. PETITIONER  projects that a one year revocation will result in a decrease in that store’s sales 

of $$$$$ and they would lose the net proceeds on tobacco sales of approximately $$$$$ per year.  

PETITIONER  has also paid fines and incurred the cost of administrative hearings.  They proffered that the 

four violations represented $$$$$ in gross revenue. 

8.   The Commission recognizes that since the violations, PETITIONER  has incurred significant 

financial costs on training and equipment to assure inappropriate sales of tobacco do not occur.  

9. The Division provided articles and papers that supported its contention that preventing persons 

under the age of 19 from smoking was an important public policy concern.    

APPLICABLE LAW 

  Title 26, Chapter 42 of the Utah Code is known as “Civil Penalties for Tobacco Sales to 

Underage Persons.”  Utah Code Ann. §26-42-102 provides definitions, as follows: 

As used in this chapter:   

(1) "Commission" means the Utah State Tax Commission.   

. . . . 

(3) "Enforcing agency" means the state Department of Health, or any local health 

department enforcing the provisions of this chapter.   

(4) "Licensee" means a person licensed:   

(a) under Section 59-14-201 to sell cigarettes at retail; or   

(b) under Section 59-14-301 to sell tobacco products at retail.   

(5) "License to sell tobacco" or "license" means a license issued:   

(a) under Section 59-14-201 to sell cigarettes at retail; or   
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(b) under Section 59-14-301 to sell tobacco products at retail.   

(6) "Tobacco" means cigarettes or tobacco products as defined in Section 59-14-102. 

  

 

 Utah Code Ann. §26-42-103 provides penalties for a licensee or employee selling tobacco to 

an underage person, as follows: 

(1)  If, following an investigation or issuance of a citation or information under 

Section 77-39-101, an enforcing agency determines under Section 26-42-104 that a 

licensee or any employee has sold tobacco to a person younger than 19 years of age, 

as prohibited by Section 76-10-104, the enforcing agency may impose upon the 

licensee the following administrative penalties:   

(a) upon the first violation, a penalty of not more than $300;   

(b) upon a second violation at the same retail location, and within 12 months of 

the first violation, a penalty of not more than $750; and   

(c) upon a third or subsequent violation at the same retail location and within 12 

months of the first violation, a penalty of not more than $1,000.   

(2)  The enforcing agency shall notify the commission in writing of any order or 

order of default finding a violation of Subsection (1) which is a third or fourth 

violation.   

(3)  The commission, upon receipt of the written notification under Subsection (2), 

shall take action under Section 59-14-203.5 or 59-14-301.5 against the license to sell 

tobacco:   

(a) by suspending the licensee's license to sell tobacco at that location for not 

more than 30 days, upon receipt of notification of a third violation under 

Subsection (1)(c); and   

(b) by revoking the license to sell tobacco at that location held by the licensee, 

including any license under suspension, upon receipt of notification of a fourth 

violation under Subsection (1)(c).   

(4)  When the commission revokes a license under Subsection (3)(b), the commission 

may not issue to the licensee, or to the business entity using the license that is 

revoked, a license under Section 59-14-201 or 59-14-301 to sell tobacco at the 

location for which the license was issued for one year after the date of the violation 

for which the license was revoked.   

(5)  This section does not prevent any bona fide purchaser of the business, who is not 

a sole proprietor, director, corporate officer, or partner or other holder of significant 

interest in the entity selling the business, from immediately applying for and 

obtaining a license to sell tobacco. 

 

 Utah Code Ann. §59-14-203.5 provides that the Commission shall suspend or revoke a license 

to sell cigarettes, as follows: 

(1) (a)  The commission shall suspend or revoke licenses to sell tobacco, as required 
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under Section 26-42-103 regarding suspension or revocation of a license due to the 

sale of cigarettes to a person younger than 19 years of age, upon receipt of notice of 

an enforcing agency's finding of a violation of Section 26-42-103.   

      (b) The commission shall provide written notice of the suspension or revocation 

to the licensee.   

(2)  It is the duty of the enforcing agency to advise the commission of any finding of 

a violation of Section 26-42-103 for which suspension or revocation of the license is 

a penalty.   

(3)  When the commission revokes a licensee's license under this section the 

commission may not issue to the licensee, or to the business entity using the license 

that is revoked, a license under Section 59-14-202 or 59-14-301 to sell tobacco at the 

location for which the license was issued for one year after the date of the violation 

for which the license was revoked.  

 

 Utah Code Ann. §59-14-301.5 provides that the Commission shall suspend or revoke a license 

to sell tobacco products, as follows: 

(1) (a)  The commission shall suspend or revoke licenses to sell tobacco, as required 

under Section 26-42-103 regarding suspension or revocation of a license due to the 

sale of tobacco products to a person younger than 19 years of age, upon receipt of 

notice of an enforcing agency's order or order of default, finding a violation of 

Section 26-42-103.   

      (b) The commission shall provide written notice of the suspension or revocation 

to the licensee.   

(2)  It is the duty of the enforcing agency to advise the commission of any order or 

order of default finding a violation of Section 26-42-103, for which suspension or 

revocation of the license is a penalty.   

(3)  When the commission revokes a licensee's license under this section the 

commission may not issue to the licensee, or to the business entity using the license 

that is revoked, a license under Section 59-14-202 or 59-14-301 to sell tobacco at the 

location for which the license was issued for one year after the date of the violation 

for which the license was revoked.   

 

 CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

1.      The argument from the parties in this matter was not regarding the facts, but the 

application of the law at Utah Code Secs. 26-42-102 & 103 and Utah Code Secs. 59-14-203.5 & 59-14-301.5, 

to the facts.   The Commission reviews the parties’ legal argument herein.   

2. PETITIONER  argues that the Tax Commission has discretion in determining whether 

to revoke its license to sell tobacco products because the PETITIONER  employees who sold the product to 
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minors were engaging in criminal activities and, therefore, were acting outside the scope of their employment.  

If employees choose not to follow their training, PETITIONER  argues the business should not bear the 

violation.  PETITIONER  points to the common law respondeat superior principle, which generally only held 

the employer responsible for acts of its employee, if the acts were within the scope of employment.  The 

Commission finds this argument unpersuasive and inconsistent with the law.  The law clearly contemplates that 

licenses to sell tobacco products could be used by business entities, which would have employees performing 

tasks of the business.  Further the statute specifically addresses this point at Utah Code Sec. 26-42-103, which 

states if “an enforcing agency determines . . . that a licensee or any employee has sold tobacco to a person 

younger than 19 years . . . the enforcing agency shall notify the commission  . . . The commission, upon receipt 

of notification   . . . shall take action . . .”(Emphasis added).  It is clear in this instance under the law that the 

business is held liable for the actions of its employees regarding the sale of tobacco to those under the age of 

19.  Therefore, PETITIONER  reliance on respondeat superior principles is misplaced.   

3. PETITIONER  argues that the Commission has discretion to reduce the period of 

revocation to be something less than one year because the Utah Legislature used the term ‘may not’ instead of 

‘shall not.’  PETITIONER  points out that Utah Code Secs. 59-14-203 & 59-14-310 both state that “the 

commission shall suspend or revoke” (emphasis added) the license, but then goes on to state once the license 

has been suspended or revoked the Commission “may not issue the licensee” (emphasis added) a license for 

one year after the date of the violation.  It is PETITIONER  argument that the choice of wording means that the 

Tax Commission has discretion to shorten the period of time before it will reissue the license.  PETITIONER  

cites to the case Utah County v. Butler, 2008 UT 12, at 19, stating that in that case the Utah Supreme Court 

noted that the word “may,” as opposed to the word “shall,” evidenced a Legislative intent to give the 

Commission discretion.  It is the Commission’s conclusion that this interpretation by PETITIONER  is contrary 
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to the provisions of statutory construction.  While the word “may”1 alone implies permission to perform or not 

perform some act, “may not” in the context of the statute means that the Commission does not have permission 

to issue the license sooner than one year.2  As used in the context of the statute, there is no discretion for the 

Commission.  It “shall” revoke the license and it does not have the authority or permission to reissue the 

license for a period of one year. 

4. PETITIONER  pointed to a prior Commission decision, Tax Commission Appeal No. 

05-0492 for support that the Commission may exercise discretion in determining the length of time before it 

reissues a license to sell tobacco products.  However, Appeal No. 05-0492 involved the third violation, not the 

fourth violation.  The statutory language for a third violation is dissimilar to the section that is at issue in this 

matter.  Utah Code Sec. 26-42-103 (3) provides that the Commission shall take action “by suspending the 

licensee’s license to sell tobacco at that location for not more than 30 days.” (Emphasis Added.)   Whereas 

that same section provides for a fourth violation, the number of violations at issue in this matter, the 

Commission is to take action by “revoking the license.” (Utah Code Sec. 26-42-103(3)(b).) That section goes 

on to indicate if the license has been revoked, the “Commission may not” issue a license for one year.  

(Emphasis added.) (Utah Code Sec. 26-42-103(4).)  In Appeal No. 05-0492 the Commission did interpret the 

statutory provision regarding the third violation to give discretion to the Commission to set a number of days 

for the suspension that was less than thirty.  However, there is a clear difference in the subsections and the 

Commission does not see its decision in that appeal to be applicable in this matter where the time period of one 

year is set by the legislature.       

                         

1 See Black’s Law Dictionary, 6th Edition, which defines “May” as “an auxiliary verb qualifying the meaning of 

another verb by expressing ability, competency, liberty, permission, possibility, probability or contingency.” 

2 See Black’s Law Dictionary, 6th Edition, which defines “May not” as “A phrase used to indicate that a person is not 

permitted to do or to perform some act, e.g. a person may not be allowed to sit for the bar examination in certain 

states without specific academic credits. “May not” speaks to permission, whereas “cannot” generally deals with 

ability.”    
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5. PETITIONER  argues that a revocation for one year’s time is unconstitutional under 

the Excess Fines/Forfeitures Clauses contained in the Seventh Amendment to United States Constitution and 

Article I, Sec. 9 of the Utah Constitution.  The Commission does acknowledge that it is a severe consequence 

to this business and would be to many businesses that sell tobacco products.  Certainly there is a difference in 

severity between the amount of fine imposed, which had been $$$$$, but could have been as high as $1,000 

and a one-year revocation.  Further, the length of time the license is revoked, one year for the fourth offense, is 

a significant increase from the “not more than  30 day” suspension imposed after a third violation within a 

twelve month period.  However, the Commission agrees with the Division’s point that this is not a fine, the 

license to sell tobacco is a privilege that the state can grant or take away.  In writing this into the statute, the 

legislature must have determined that a one year revocation was appropriate in light of the public policy 

concerns regarding underage smoking.  The Commission has no basis or authority to conclude that its 

application of the direct statutory language regarding the revocation for a period of one year would be 

unconstitutional, regardless of the amount of money that PETITIONER  may lose from the suspension.  

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing, the Tax Commission denies PETITIONER  appeal in this matter.  

PETITIONER  license to sell cigarettes or tobacco products is revoked.  The revocation becomes effective 

thirty-days from the date of this order.  The Commission will not  reissue the license to PETITIONER  for a 

period of one year thereafter.  It is so ordered. 

DATED this ________ day of ________________________, 2009. 

    ___________________________________ 

Jane Phan 

Administrative Law Judge 
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BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

DATED this ________ day of _________________________, 2009. 

 

 

Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 

Commission Chair   Commissioner 

 

 

Marc B. Johnson    

Commissioner 

 

 

 

CONCURRENCE 

 I agree that under the statutory framework the Tax Commission lacks discretion to impose a shorter 

suspension of the license.  If the Commission had the discretion, it may be appropriate to consider a reduced 

suspension.  The taxpayer has implemented better procedures including use of the Be A Responsible Store or 

BARS program, which provides training and random checks for employee compliance; the purchase of a new 

cash register system, which requires the store clerk to type in the birth date of anyone purchasing cigarettes; 

and the placement of multiple warning signs through out the store stating “We Card” and “We do not sell 

Tobacco products to Persons Under 19”.  A reduced suspension would still financially punish the taxpayer.  It 

is possible any further training of employees could be accomplished in a shorter suspension time as well as it 

could during a year suspension.  

 

D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 

Commissioner      

 

 

Notice and Appeal Rights: Failure to pay the balance due as a result of this decision within thirty (3) 

days from the date hereon could result in additional penalties.  You have twenty (20) days after the date of 

this order to file a Request for Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code 

§63-46b-13 and Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-29.  If you do not file a Request for Reconsideration with the 

Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to 

pursue judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code §§59-1-601 et seq. and 63-46b-13 et. seq. 
JKP/08-1734.fof 


