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STATEMENT OF CASE 

 On January 27, 2009, the Commission issued its Initial Hearing Order in this matter, in 

which it informed the parties that the order would become the final decision and order of the 

Commission unless a party filed a written request to proceed to a formal hearing within thirty 

days of the date of the order.  On February 28, 2008, the Petitioner listed above (the “Taxpayer”) 

mailed a letter to the Commission indicating that he was requesting a formal hearing.  In the 

letter, the Taxpayer indicated that he had “talked to [the auditor on the case] about this letter 

being a few days late (past the 30 day window)” but did not indicate the outcome of that 

conversation.      

   Utah Administrative Code Rule R861-1A-29(1)(a)(iv) provides that the Commission’s 

initial hearing decision becomes final 30 days after its date of issuance, as follows: 

An initial hearing decision shall become final upon the expiration of 30 days 
after the date of its issuance, except in any case where a party has earlier 
requested a formal hearing in writing.  The date a party requests a formal hearing 
is the earlier of the date the envelope containing the request is postmarked or the 
date the request is received at the Tax Commission.   
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 The Taxpayer filed a request for a formal hearing 32 days after the issuance of the Initial 

Hearing Order.1  Accordingly, the Commission’s Initial Hearing Order became final before the 

Taxpayer filed a request for a formal hearing.  The Taxpayer makes reference to a discussion that 

he had with the auditor on this case, but does not indicate that the auditor took any action that 

would change the requirement in Utah law that a party requesting a formal hearing must do so 

within 30 days after the Commission issues its Initial Hearing Order.  More important, the 

Taxpayer did not provide, nor has the Commission been able to locate, any legal authority to 

indicate that an auditor could waive a jurisdictional deadline such as the deadline to file a request 

for a formal hearing.  Although a party is entitled to pursue a formal hearing in accordance with 

Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-24(2)(a)(iv), such a request is untimely once an Initial Hearing 

Order has become final.  For these reasons, the Commission finds that the Taxpayer is not entitled 

to pursue a formal hearing in this matter. 

ORDER 

 On the basis of the foregoing, the Commission finds that its Initial Hearing Order became 

the Commission’s Final Decision and Order prior to the Taxpayer requesting a formal hearing.  

Accordingly, the Taxpayer’s request for a formal hearing is denied. 

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION: 

DATED this ___________ day of ________________________, 2009. 
 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson  R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson     D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner   Commissioner 
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1 In Dusty’s, Inc. v. Auditing Div., 842 P.2d 868 (Utah 1992), the Utah Supreme Court 
determined that the date an order bears on its face is the date that the Tax Commission issues an 
order.  


