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BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
PETITIONER, 
 
 Petitioner, 
 
v. 
 
AUDITING DIVISION OF THE  
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, 
 
 Respondent.  
 

 
 ORDER DENYING PETITIONER’S       
 MOTION FOR CONTINUANCE AND   
 GRANTING DIVISION’S MOTION TO 
 DISMISS 
  
Appeal No.      08-0519 
Account No.    ##### 
Tax Type:        Income Tax 
Tax Years:       2004 
Judge:              Chapman  
 

 
Presiding: 

Kerry R. Chapman, Administrative Law Judge  
        
Appearances: 

For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE, CPA 
 PETITIONER 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE, from Auditing Division 

 
STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

On May 20, 2008, Auditing Division (“Division”) filed a Motion to Dismiss this matter on the 

basis that the taxpayer did not file a Petition for Redetermination within the 30-day statutory appeals period.  

On June 30, 2008, this matter came before the Commission for a Hearing on Motion, at which time both 

parties had an opportunity to present oral arguments.  At the hearing, the taxpayer asked the Commission to 

delay the hearing and grant a 60-day continuance.  The taxpayer made this motion because she filed an 

amended return with the Internal Revenue Service in March 2008, which if accepted, will reduce the 

underlying tax liability at issue in this appeal. 

APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah Code Ann. §59-10-524(1) provides that “[i]f the commission determines that there is a 

deficiency in respect of the tax imposed by this chapter, it shall send notice of the deficiency to the taxpayer at 

the taxpayer’s last-known address.” 



Appeal No. 08-0519 
 
 

 
 -2- 

 

UCA §59-1-501 provides that “[a]ny taxpayer may file a request for agency action, petitioning 

the commission for redetermination of a deficiency.” 

UCA §59-10-525(1)(a) provides that a notice of deficiency shall constitute a final assessment 

“upon the expiration of 30 days . . . after the date of mailing of the notice of deficiency to the taxpayer[,]” 

unless the taxpayer has previously filed a petition for redetermination. 

Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-26(6)(b) (“Rule 26”) provides guidance concerning continuances 

and provides as follows: 

(6)(b)  Continuance.  A continuance may be granted at the discretion of the presiding 
officer.   

   (i)  In the absence of a scheduling order:   
(A)  Each party to an appeal may receive one continuance, upon request, 
prior to the initial hearing.   
(B)  If the initial hearing is waived or a formal hearing is timely requested 
after an initial hearing decision is issued, each party may receive one 
continuance, upon request, prior to the formal hearing.   
(C)  A request must be submitted no later than ten days prior to the 
proceeding for which the continuance is requested and may be denied if a 
party is prejudiced by the continuance.   

  (ii)  If a scheduling order has been issued or the requesting party has already 
been granted a continuance, a continuance request must be submitted in writing to 
the presiding officer.  The request must set forth specific reasons for the continuance. 
 After reviewing the request with one or more commissioners, the presiding officer 
shall grant the request only if the presiding officer determines that adequate cause has 
been shown and that no other party or parties will be unduly prejudiced. 

 
DISCUSSION 

 Motion for Continuance.  The Commission generally grants a first-time continuance request if 

it is received in time so as not to prejudice the other party.  Rule (6)(B)(i)(C).  In this case, however, the 

request was not made until the hearing.  As a result, the Division had already prepared its exhibits and arranged 

for its employee to attend the hearing and present its case.  Under these circumstances, the Commission denies 

the taxpayer’s Motion for Continuance.  
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 Motion to Dismiss.  On February 4, 2008, the Division issued a Notice of Deficiency and 

Audit Change (“Statutory Notice”) to the taxpayer, in which it imposed additional income tax for the 2004 tax 

year.  The Statutory Notice contained language informing the taxpayer that she had until March 5, 2008 to 

appeal the assessment.  The taxpayer submitted a Petition for Redetermination (“Petition”) on March 16, 2008, 

11 days after the deadline.  Because the taxpayer filed her appeal more than 30 days after the issuance of the 

Statutory Notice, the Division asserts that the Commission no longer has jurisdiction to hear an appeal 

concerning the assessment.  For these reasons, the Division asks the Commission to grant its Motion to 

Dismiss.  

The taxpayer does not contest that her appeal was filed more than 30 days after the issuance of 

the Statutory Notice.  She explained, however, that an employee had been sick, which resulted in the late filing 

of her appeal.  It appears that the Division’s Statutory Notice was issued to the taxpayer in compliance with 

Utah law and that the Division did not cause the circumstances resulting in the taxpayer filing her appeal late.  

Accordingly, the Commission finds that the taxpayer was not deprived of due process.  For these reasons and 

in accordance with Section 59-10-525, the Commission finds that it no longer has jurisdiction to hear the 

appeal.   

 ORDER 

Based upon the Commission's review of the motions and consideration of the parties’ 

positions, the taxpayer’s Motion for Continuance is denied and the Division’s Motion to Dismiss is granted.  It 

is so ordered.  

DATED this ____________ day of ________________________2008. 
 
 
 
   ____________________________________ 
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   Kerry R. Chapman 
   Administrative Law Judge 
BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION: 

The undersigned Commissioners have reviewed this matter and concur in this decision. 

  DATED this ______________ day of _______________________, 2008. 

 

Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
 
NOTICE:  Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid within thirty days of the date of 
this order or a late penalty could be applied.  In order to appeal to the District Court or the Utah 
Supreme Court, you must post security or obtain a waiver under Utah Code Ann.  §59-1-611. 
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