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________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
_______________________________________________________________________________ 
   
PETITIONER,   

 ORDER OF DISMISSAL 
Petitioner,   

 
v.   Appeal No. 08-0431   

 Tax Type: Locally Assessed Property 
BOARD OF EQUALIZATION,   Parcel No: #####  
SALT LAKE COUNTY,    
STATE OF UTAH,  Tax Year: 2006   

  
Respondent.    
 
 

________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

On January 29, 2008, Petitioner filed an Appeal to the Utah State Tax Commission  of 

the Salt Lake County Board of Equalization’s decision regarding the assessed value of the above 

listed property for tax year 2006.  Because the County Board of Equalization’s decision had been 

mailed to Petitioner on April 11, 2007, and any appeal of that decision should have been filed within 

thirty days pursuant to Utah Code Section 59-2-1006, an Order To Show Cause on why the appeal 

should not be dismissed was issued on May 16, 2008.  Petitioner did submit a response to the Order 

to Show Cause on May 28, 2008 and the County submitted a reply on July 1, 2008.  The 

Commission considers Petitioner’s response and the information contained in the file in making its 

decision in this matter.   The Commission notes that the County’s reply was submitted after the date 

indicated in the Order to Show Cause. 
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 In the response and from information contained in the original submission, it is clear 

that Petitioner had appealed the value for the same property for the 2005 year to the County Board of 

Equalization and then he had filed an appeal of the Board’s 2005 decision to the Utah State Tax 

Commission.  The 2005 valuation appeal was still ongoing at the State Tax Commission level during 

the time period that the Board of Equalization had mailed its decision to Petitioner on the 2006 

valuation appeal which Petitioner had filed at that level.  Petitioner indicates that it was his 

understanding that the value determined for in the 2005 year would be applied to the 2006 value.  

For this reason, he indicates that he did not realize he would have to file an appeal of the County 

Board of Equalization’s decision to the Utah State Tax Commission for the 2006 year.   

The Utah Tax Commission generally does not have jurisdiction to hear an appeal of 

the County Board of Equalization’s decision if it is not filed within the time period specified by Utah 

Code Sec. 59-1006.  This deadline is set by statute and in conjunction with Sec. 59-2-1004, makes it 

clear that the valuation for each year must be appealed separately, on an annual basis within the time 

provided for that particular year.  There is no statutory basis to allow a late filed appeal because a 

prior year’s appeal is pending.  Furthermore, the appeal deadline was clearly listed on the decision 

from the County Board of Equalization.  Petitioner did not follow these express written instructions 

and there is no indication that Petitioner had asked either the Tax Commission or the County if filing 

an appeal would be necessary.  

ORDER 

The appeal deadline is set by statute, it is a jurisdictional requirement and the fact that 
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there was an appeal ongoing for a prior year is not basis to allow the late filed appeal.  Based on the 

facts and circumstances in this matter, the Utah State Tax Commission does not have jurisdiction to 

hear this appeal.  Therefore this appeal is hereby dismissed.  It is so ordered.      

DATED this ________ day of ___________________________, 2008. 

 
___________________________________ 
Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge 

 
BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION 
 

The undersigned have reviewed this order and concur in this decision. 
 

DATED this ____________ day of ________________________, 2008. 
 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner    Commissioner  
 
 
Notice of Appeal Rights:  You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request for 
Reconsideration with the Commission pursuant to Utah Code  Sec. 63-46b-13.  A Request for Reconsideration 
must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact.  If you do not file a Request for 
Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. You have thirty (30) days 
after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Ann. Sec. 59-1-
601 et seq. and 63-46b-13 et seq. 
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