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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

 This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on an Initial Hearing pursuant 

to the provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5 on June 12, 2008.  The Taxpayer has requested 

a waiver of the failure to timely file and failure to timely pay penalties for the February, March, 

April, May, and July 2007 filing periods.  Interest was assessed and continues to accrue.  As of 

the hearing date the penalties and interest totaled $$$$$.   

APPLICABLE LAW 

 The duty of an employer to collect and pay withholding tax is set forth in Utah Code 

Ann. §59-10-406, below in pertinent part: 

(1) (a) Each employer shall, on or before the last day of 
April, July, October, and January, pay to the 
commission the amount required to be deducted and 
withheld from wages paid to any employee during 
the preceding calendar quarter under this part. 

(b) The commission may change the time or period for 
making reports or payments if: 

 
(i) in its opinion, the tax is in jeopardy; or 
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(ii) a different time or period will facilitate the 
collection and payment of the tax by the 
employer.   

 
(2) Each employer shall file a return, in a form the commission 

prescribes, with each payment of the amount deducted and 
withheld under this part showing: 

 
(a) the total amount of wages paid to his employees; 
(b) the amount of federal income tax deducted and 

withheld; 
(c) the amount of tax under this part deducted and 

withheld; and  
(d) any other information the commission requires.   

 
  Utah Code Ann. §59-10-406 (2007).   

 The monthly payment of withholding tax is provided for under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-

407, below in relevant part: 

(3) Any employer whose withholding tax liability under Section 
59-10-402 is estimated to average an amount designated by 
the commission by rule, shall make a monthly return and 
pay the amount required to be paid by Section 59-10-406 for 
each monthly period of each quarterly period.  Monthly 
payments shall be made during the quarterly period 
designated by the commission and during each succeeding 
quarterly period until further notified in writing.  The 
monthly return shall be prescribed and furnished by the 
commission and shall be filed with the commission on or 
before the last day of the month after the end of each 
monthly period of each quarterly period. 

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-10-407 (2007). 

 
 Administrative Rule R865-9I-17 provides further guidance on the time for filing 

withholding tax returns, as set forth below: 

A. This rule provides exceptions to the statutory requirement 
that an employer shall file withholding tax returns and pay 
withholding taxes quarterly. 

 
B. An employer may elect to file withholding tax returns and 

pay withholding taxes on an annual basis for a calendar year 
in which the employer: 
1. files a federal Schedule H; or 
2. withholds less than $1,000. 
 

C. The annual withholding return and payment under B. are due 
by January 31 of the year succeeding the year for which the 
payment and return apply.   
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D. An employer withholding an average of $1,000 or more per 

month shall file withholding tax returns and pay withholding 
taxes on a monthly basis. 

 
E. The monthly withholding return and payment under D. are 

due as prescribed in Section 59-10-407. 
 

Utah Admin. Code R865-9I-17 (2007).   
 

 
Section 59-1-401(2) of the Utah Code imposes a penalty for failure to file a timely return 

as follows: 

  (2)  (a)  The due date for filing a return is: 
 

(i) if the person filing the return is not allowed by law 
an extension of time for filing the return, the day on 
which the return is due as provided by law; or 

 
(ii) if the person filing the return is allowed by law an 

extension of time for filing the return, the last day of 
that extension of time. 

 
(b) (i)  A penalty in the amount described in Subsection  
             (2)(b)(ii) is imposed if: 

 
(A) a person is required to file a return with 

respect to a nonqualifying obligation; and  
(B) the person described in Subsection 

(2)(b)(i)(A) files the return after the due date 
described in Subsection (2)(a). 

 
(ii) For purposes of Subsection (2)(b)(i), the penalty is 

an amount  equal to the greater of: 
  

(A) $20; or 
(B) 10% of the unpaid nonqualifying obligation 

due on the return. 
 
 Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(2) (2007). 
 
 Section 59-1-401(3) of the Utah Code imposes a penalty for failure to 

pay the tax due as follows, in relevant part: 

(3) (a)  If a person fails to pay a tax, fee, or charge due, the        
              person is subject to a penalty as provided in this  
              Subsection (3). 

 
(b) (i)  A penalty in the amount described in Subsection  
               (3)(b)(ii) is imposed if… 
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(B)  a person:  

 
(I) is subject to a penalty under Subsection 

(2)(b); and  
(II) fails to pay a nonqualifying obligation 

due on a return within a 90-day period 
after the due date for filing a return 
described in Subsection (2)(a)… 

 
(ii) For purposes of Subsection (3)(b)(i), the penalty     
       is an amount to the greater of : 
 

(A) $20; or 
(B) 10% of the unpaid nonqualifying obligation    
      due on the return. 

 
 Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401 (2007).    
 
 Section 59-1-402(5) of the Utah Code provides, “[i]nterest on any underpayment, 

deficiency, or delinquency of any tax or fee administered by the commission shall be computed 

from the time the original return is due, excluding any filing or payment extensions, to the date 

the payment is received.”  Utah Code Ann. §59-1-402(5) (2007). 

 The Commission has been granted the discretion to waive penalties and interest.  Section 

59-1-401(11) of the Utah Code provides, “Upon making a record of its actions, and upon 

reasonable cause shown, the commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties 

or interest imposed under this part.”  Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(13) (2007).   

The Commission has issued Tax Commission Publication 17, available at 

http://tax.utah.gov/forms/pubs, which sets forth the factors the Commission may consider in 

determining whether “reasonable cause” exists for the waiver of penalties or interest.  Publication 

17 also indicates the Commission will consider a taxpayer’s filing history when making a 

decision on a request to waive penalties. 

DISCUSSION 

 Taxpayer is requesting a waiver of the penalties assessed for the late filing of returns and 

late payment of withholding tax for the February, March, April, May, and July 2007 filing 

periods.  Taxpayer’s representative stated that for the 2006 tax year, they had a payroll company 

prepare and file their returns.  In 2007, the Taxpayer started to prepare and file the withholding 

returns in-house.  The Taxpayer filed quarterly for the first two quarters of 2007, and was then 

informed by the Tax Commission that they should be filing on a monthly basis.  Taxpayer’s 

representative stated that the payroll company did not notify them that they had been filing 
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monthly withholding returns, and because all of their other filings were on quarterly basis, they 

believed they were properly filing their withholding returns.    

 The Taxpayer also noted that because they have less than $1,000 a month in withholding 

that they should be filing on a quarterly basis.  The Taxpayer provided a receipt for online 

payment for the first quarter of 2007, a copy of the check stub for the second quarter of 2007, and 

a receipt for online payment for July 2007.   

 The Division’s representative stated that the Taxpayer is not required to be a monthly 

filer, but requested to do so in 2006.  Upon receiving the Taxpayer’s waiver request, the Division 

waived the penalties for the February 2007 and March 2007 periods.  These were Taxpayer’s 

second and third errors in a three-year period.  The Division stated that the Taxpayer’s prior error 

was in 2004.  That Division acknowledged that Taxpayer has less than $1,000 a month in 

withholding, but stated that they cannot change their filing status without a request.     

 Publication 17 provides that certain circumstances constitute “reasonable cause” for the 

waiver of penalties.  While the Taxpayer has not demonstrated any of these circumstances, the 

Commission finds that the Taxpayer was seemingly in compliance with the law for the filing of 

returns and payment of withholding tax.  The receipt for the first quarter of 2007 shows that 

payment was made on April 30, 2007.  While the Taxpayer’s check stub for the payment of the 

second quarter taxes does not indicate a date, the Commission assumes this would have been filed 

in a timely manner, as no penalties were assessed for the June 2007 period.  The July 2007 period 

was filed on October 1, 2007, which would have been timely for a quarterly filer.   

 Based on the amounts the Taxpayer withholds each month, under Utah Code Ann. §59-

10-406, they typically would file withholding returns on a quarterly basis.  While the Taxpayer 

voluntarily requested to be a monthly filer, the statute and rule do not require the Taxpayer to 

request to return to quarterly filing status.  Rather, the Tax Commission reviews each withholding 

account annually to determine if filing status needs to change.  The Commission also notes that 

while Publication 14 instructs Taxpayers on the process to voluntarily change to a monthly filer, 

it does not provide similar guidance on changing from a monthly filer to a quarterly or an annual 

filer.  Because the Taxpayer was seemingly in compliance with the law for the filing and payment 

of withholding taxes on a quarterly basis and there is no affirmative duty on the Taxpayer to 

request to file quarterly, the Commission finds that there is reasonable cause for the waiver of 

penalties. 
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DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing, the Commission finds that sufficient cause has been shown to 

justify a waiver of the penalties and interest associated with Petitioner’s Withholding Tax Filings 

for the February, March, April, May, and June 2007 filing periods.  It is so ordered.   

 This decision does not limit a party’s right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision 

and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this 

case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a 

Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the 

Petitioner’s name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

 DATED this __________ day of ______________________, 2008. 
 
 

______________________________ 
Jan Marshall 
Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
 

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _________________________, 2008. 
 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
 
NOTICE: Failure to pay the balance due as a result of this order within thirty days from the date 
hereon may result in an additional penalty.  
 
JM/08-0393.int  
 


