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For Petitioner: PETITIONER, Pro Se 
 WITNESS 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, Assistant Attorney General 
 RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, Chief Investigator for 

MVED 
 

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 
 
 This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Formal Hearing on May 1, 

2008.  The Applicant is appealing the Commission’s Order of Default in this matter dismissing 

the denial of his application for a motor vehicle salesperson license.  Based on the testimony and 

evidence presented at the Formal Hearing, the Tax Commission hereby makes its: 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. On or about January 8, 2008, the Applicant submitted a Motor Vehicle Salesperson 

Application to the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division (“MVED”).  (Exhibit R-1).   

2. Question number three of the application asks, “During the past 10 years, have you been 

convicted of any misdemeanors or felonies in Utah or any other state?”  Applicant 

checked the “Yes” box, and in the space provided, wrote, “Possession, theft, joyriding, 

unlawful use of credit card, forgery, shoplifting.”   
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3. On January 11, 2008 the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division sent a letter to the 

Applicant denying his salesperson license application due to the number and nature of the 

Applicant’s criminal convictions.  (Exhibit R-3).   

4. Applicant’s Utah Criminal History Report (Exhibit R-2) was subsequently obtained and 

showed the following convictions in the last 10 years:  

DATE  CONVICTION 

4/6/1999 Two Counts - Illegal Use of Credit Cards (Third Degree Felony) 

4/15/1999 Joyriding (Third Degree Felony) 

5/18/2004 Illegal Possession/Use of Controlled Substance (Third Degree 

Felony) 

3/16/2004 Burglary of a Vehicle (Class B Misdemeanor) 

8/26/2004 Larceny (Third Degree Felony) 

8/27/2004 Unauthorized Control of a Vehicle (Class A Misdemeanor) 

8/27/2004 Fraud – Illegal Use of Credit Cards (Class A Misdemeanor) 

5. At the Formal Hearing, Applicant testified that for many years he was addicted to drugs, 

and that addiction caused him to take advantage of his family.  He stated that the 

convictions for theft, joyriding, and unlawful use of a credit card were all crimes 

perpetrated against his parents.  He has since made amends with his family and testified 

that they were very supportive of the changes he has made in the last few years.   

6. The Applicant testified that he has been clean and sober for the past one and one-half 

years.  He underwent an inpatient program at the COUNTY 1 Jail, and did the (  X  ) for 

nine months, where he became a community leader within four months.  He participates 

in the (  X  ) program in COUNTY 2, attends one-on-one counseling once a week, and 

attends group counseling sessions twice a week.  The Applicant stated that he is tested at 

least twice a week, and has not had a dirty test.   

7. The Applicant served time in prison from August of 2004 through October of 2005 for 

his most recent convictions.  The Applicant violated terms of his parole and returned to 

prison, being released on July 31, 2007.  The Applicant remains on parole until October 

of 2009, with the possibility of being released early in ten months once he completes the (  

X  ).   

8. The Applicant owes approximately $$$$$ in restitution, and has to pay supervision fees 

of $$$$$ per month.  He testified that he did fall behind on his supervision fees, but 

should be current by next month.   

9. Applicant’s employer is aware of Applicant’s criminal past.  The applicant made 

reasonable efforts to fully disclose his criminal history on his Motor Vehicle Salesperson 
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Application, which was signed by the dealer.  WITNESS, one of the Applicant’s co-

workers was present at the hearing and testified that he has known the Applicant for 

approximately fifteen years and that he believes the Applicant is very honest and has not 

done anything to raise questions regarding his integrity since the Applicant was released 

from prison.   

10. For the division, RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2 testified at the Formal Hearing 

that MVED is required by Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209 to deny the Applicant a 

salesperson license because the nature of the Applicant’s convictions constituted 

“reasonable cause”.     

11. Counsel for the Division argued that Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209 mandates that the 

Division deny a salesperson license if there is “reasonable cause” and further identifies 

violations of state or federal law involving motor vehicles, fraud, and controlled 

substances as “reasonable cause”.   

APPLICABLE LAW 

 The denial, suspension, and revocation of a salesperson license are governed by Utah 

Code Ann. §41-3-209 as follows: 

(1) If the administrator finds that an applicant is not qualified to 
receive a license, a license may not be granted. 

 
(2) (a)  If the administrator finds that there is reasonable cause 

to deny, suspend, or revoke a license issued under this 
chapter, the administrator shall deny, suspend, or revoke the 
license.   

 
(b) Reasonable cause for denial, suspension, or 

revocation of a license includes, in relation to the 
applicant or license holder or any of its partners, 
officers, or directors: 

 
(vi) making a false statement on any 

application for a license   
             under this chapter or for special license plates; 

(vii) a violation of any state or federal law 
involving motor vehicles; 

(viii) a violation of any state or federal law 
involving controlled substances; 

(x) a violation of any state or federal law involving 
fraud… 
 

Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209 (2007).   
  

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
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The Division had reasonable cause to suspend the Applicant’s salesperson license under 

Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209.  The Applicant has been convicted of crimes that involve motor 

vehicles, violations of state law involving controlled substances, and violations of state law 

involving fraud, all of which constitute “reasonable cause” for the denial of a salesperson license.  

Although the Division had reasonable cause to suspend the Applicant’s license, the Commission 

may consider other factors, such as the passage of time since the most recent conviction, the 

payment of restitution, and termination of probation or parole.  While it has been nearly three 

years since the Applicant’s most recent conviction; in the past, the Commission has used clearing 

parole or probation as a general guideline to allow salesperson licenses to individuals who have 

been convicted of the crimes identified in Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209.  Because the Applicant 

remains on parole and has not yet paid full restitution, the Commission finds that the Applicant 

should not be granted a salesperson license.   

DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing the Commission sustains the action of the Division.  Once the 

Applicant has been released from Parole, he may reapply for a salesperson license and the 

Commission will make a determination based on the facts and circumstances as they exist at that 

time.  It is so ordered.   

DATED this __________ day of ______________________, 2008. 
 
 

______________________________ 
Jan Marshall 
Administrative Law Judge 

 
 
 
BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _________________________, 2008.  
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson  R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson  D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner   Commissioner 
 
Notice of Appeal Rights:  You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request 
for Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §63-
46b-13.  A Request for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of 



Appeal No. 08-0220   
 
 

 5

law or fact.  If you do not file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order 
constitutes final agency action.  You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue 
judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-601 and §63-46b-13 et. 
seq. 
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