
08-0100 
Audit 
Signed 06/23/2008 

 
BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
PETITIONER 1 & PETITIONER 2, 
 
 Petitioners, 
 
v. 
 
AUDITING DIVISION OF THE UTAH STATE 
TAX COMMISSION, 
 
 Respondent.  
 

 
ORDER GRANTING MOTION TO 
DISMISS 

 
Appeal No.  08-0100 
 
Account No. #####  
Tax Type:     Income Tax      
Tax Year:     2004, 2005 
 
 
Judge:  Phan  
 

 
Presiding: 

Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge        
Appearances: 

For Petitioner:      PETITIONER 2   
For Respondent:  RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE, Manager, Income Tax Auditing 
                                                         
  

 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Hearing on Motion to Dismiss 

on June 12, 2008.  Respondent’s (the “Division’s”) Motion to Dismiss, dated May 7, 2008, (“Motion”) was 

based on the contention that Petitioners (the “Taxpayers”) had failed to timely file an appeal of the audit 

deficiencies for the 2004 and 2005 tax years.  

APPLICABLE LAW 

State taxable income is defined as federal taxable income with some modifications, 

subtractions and adjustments.  (Utah Code Sec. 59-10-112 (2004&2005 ).)1 

For the purposes of determining state taxable income, federal taxable income means taxable 

income as defined in Section 63, of the Internal Revenue Code.  (Utah Code Sec. 59-10-111(2004 & 2005).)  

                         
1 The Individual Income Tax Act was recently revised and sections renumbered. The Commission applies the 
substantive law that was in effect during the tax years at issue regarding the amount of the tax calculation, and cites 
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If a change is made in a taxpayer's net income on his or her federal income tax return, either 

because the taxpayer has filed an amended return or because of an action by the federal government, the 

taxpayer must notify the Utah Tax Commission within 90 days after the final determination of such change.  

The taxpayer shall file a copy of the amended federal return and an amended state return that conforms to the 

changes on the federal return.  (Utah Code Sec. 59-10-536 (5)(a).) 

Except in any case where the taxpayer has earlier filed with the commission a petition for 

Redetermination of the deficiency as provided in Title 59, Chapter 1 Part 5, the notice of deficiency shall 

constitute a final assessment of the deficiency in tax, including interest thereon and any penalties or other 

additions to tax: (a) upon the expiration of 30 days, or 90 days if the notice is addressed to a person outside of 

the states of the union and the District of Colombia, after the date of mailing of the notice of deficiency to the 

taxpayer. .  . (Utah Code Sec. 59-10-525.(1).) 

A taxpayer may file a request for agency action, petitioning the commission for 

redetermination of a deficiency.  (Utah Code Sec. 59-1-501.) 

A petition for redetermination is deemed to be timely if: 1) the petition is received in the Tax 

commission offices on or before the close of business of the last day of the time frame provided by statute; or 

2) the date of the postmark on the envelope or cover indicates that the request was mailed on or before the last 

day of the time frame provided by statute.  (Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-20(2).) 

Contents.  A petition for adjudicative action need not be in any particular form, but shall be in 

writing and, in addition to the requirements of Utah Code Ann. Section 63-46b-3, shall contain the following: 

1) name and street address and if available, a fax number or e-mail address of petitioner or the petitioner’s 

representative; 2) a telephone number where the petitioning party or that party’s representative can be reached 

during regular business hours; 3) petitioner’s tax identification, social security number or other relevant 

                                                                               
the 2004 and 2005 provisions.    
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identification number, such as real property parcel number or vehicle identification number; 4) particular tax or 

issue involved, period of alleged liability, amount of tax in dispute, and, in the case of a property tax issue, the 

lien date; 5) if the petition results from a letter or notice, the petition will include the date of the letter or notice 

and the originating division or officer; and 6) in the case of property tax cases, the assessed value sought.  

(Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-22(B).) 

DISCUSSION 

The representative for the Division points out that the Statutory Notice of Audit Change was 

issued on November 20, 2007.  The Taxpayers’ appeal was not submitted in this matter until January 7, 2008.  

The postmark on the envelope shows that it had been mailed on January 4, 2008.  The Division’s 

representative pointed out that pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 59-10-525 an audit deficiency becomes the final 

assessment unless an appeal is filed within thirty-days from the date of the Notice of Deficiency.   He also 

points to Utah Code Sec. 59-1-501 and Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-20 in support of the Division’s position. 

In addition, the thirty-day deadline and instructions on how to file an appeal and form for filing the appeal were 

included with the Statutory Notice.         

The Taxpayer explained that she had thought she filed the appeal timely, but did not dispute 

the date of mailing based on the postmark.  She thought that maybe she had assumed she had sixty-days to file 

an appeal.  However, she indicated that mostly she had filed an appeal because she thought the audit numbers 

were too high and she wanted someone to explain the audit to her and how the amount was derived.     
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 ORDER 

The thirty-day requirement for filing an appeal is jurisdictional and the Taxpayers’ failure to 

meet the requirement is cause for dismissal of this appeal.  The Taxpayers have not shown any extraordinary 

circumstances that would justify a late filing of this appeal.  Based upon the foregoing, the Commission 

dismisses the Taxpayers' appeal in this matter.  It is so ordered. 

DATED this ___________ day of ________________________, 2008. 

 
__________________________________ 
Jane Phan 
Administrative Law Judge 
 

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION. 
 

The undersigned have reviewed this motion and concur in this decision. 
 

DATED this ____________ day of ________________________, 2008. 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner    Commissioner  
 
 
Notice and Appeal Rights:  Failure to pay the balance due as a result of this order within thirty days may 
result in an additional late payment penalty. You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a 
Request for Reconsideration with the Commission pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 63-46b-13.  A Request for 
Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact.  If you do not file a 
Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. You have thirty 
(30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Sec. 
59-1-601 et seq. and 63-46b-13 et seq. 
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