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 STATEMENT OF CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission upon a Request for Reconsideration, 

dated November 18, 2009, filed by Respondent as a result of the Commission's Order of Revocation, 

dated October 28, 2009.   

 APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah Code Ann. §63G-4-302 allows for reconsideration of a Commission decision, as follows in 

pertinent part: 

(1) (a)  Within 20 days after the date that an order is issued for which 

review by the agency or by a superior agency under Section 63G-4-

301 is unavailable, and if the order would otherwise constitute final 

agency action, any party may file a written request for 

reconsideration with the agency, stating the specific grounds upon 

which relief is requested. 

 

Utah Code Ann. §63G-4-403 (2009)
1
. 

 

Utah Administrative Rule R861-1A-29 provides additional guidance on requests for 

reconsideration, below in relevant part: 

(2) Reconsideration.  Within 20 days after the date that an order that is 

dispositive of a portion or all of an appeal or any claim or defense in 

the appeal is issued, any party may file a written request for 

reconsideration alleging mistake of law or fact, or discovery of new 

evidence.   

 

                                                 
1
 This code section was renumbered in 2008, previously this section was found at Utah Code Ann. §63-46b-13. 
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Utah Admin. Code. R861-1A-29 (2009).   

 Rule 6 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure provides for an additional three days to be added to a 

time period in the event notice is served by mail: 

(e) Additional time after service by mail. Whenever a party has the right 

or is required to do some act or take some proceedings within a 

prescribed period after the service of a notice or other paper upon 

him and the notice or paper is served upon him by mail, 3 days shall 

be added to the end of the prescribed period as calculated under 

subsection (a). Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays shall be 

included in the computation of any 3-day period under this 

subsection, except that if the last day of the 3-day period is a 

Saturday, a Sunday, or a legal holiday, the period shall run until the 

end of the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday. 

 

U.R.C.P. 6(e) (2009).   

 

DISCUSSION 

Petitioner filed a Request to Revoke Respondent's sales and withholding tax licenses on October 

26, 2007.  On June 23, 2008, the Commission issued a Formal Hearing Order whereby the revocation 

would be held in abeyance as long as Respondent made specified payments toward the tax delinquency 

and remained current on his tax filings.  The Formal Hearing Order provided that in the event Respondent 

failed to meet these conditions and upon the submission of an affidavit by Petitioner, the licenses would 

be revoked without further hearing.  September 8, 2009, Petitioner submitted an Affidavit of PERSON A.  

PERSON A’s sworn statements indicate that Respondent failed to comply with the terms of the 

Stipulation.  An Order to Show Cause was issued on September 28, 2009, ordering Respondent to show 

cause why the license should not be revoked.  Respondent’s Response was received October 14, 2009.  

The Commission issued an Order of Revocation on October 28, 2009, finding that the Respondent was 

not in compliance with the June 23, 2008 Formal Hearing Order.  The Respondent submitted its Request 

for Reconsideration via facsimile on November 18, 2009.  The original was sent via first class mail, and 

had a November 19, 2008 postmark.   

Utah Code Ann. §63G-4-302 provides that a party may request reconsideration of an order that 

would otherwise constitute a final agency action within 20 days after that order is issued.  The 

Commission issued the Order of Revocation on October 28, 2009.  The Respondent did not file its request 

for reconsideration until November 18, 2009; twenty-one days after the Order of Revocation was issued.  

The Commission finds the Respondent’s Request for Reconsideration is untimely. 
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The Commission has considered whether Rule 6(e) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure is 

applicable in this matter, and finds that it is not.  Rule 6(e) would give a three-day extension on the 

twenty-day filing deadline.  The Court of Appeals held in (  X  ), Inc. v. The Industrial Comm’n of Utah, 

860 P.2d 944, 949 (1993), that Rule 6(e) did not apply to extend the time to file an appeal under Utah 

Code Ann. §63-46b-12(1)(a)
2
.  The Court held “That rule provides: ‘Whenever a party…is required to do 

some act…within a prescribed period after the service of a notice… upon him and the notice…is served 

by mail, 3 days shall be added to the prescribed period.’ Utah R. Civ. P. 6(e) (emphasis added).  That rule 

must be read in light of Section 63-46b-12(1)(a) of UAPA which requires a part to appeal thirty days after 

the issuance of the administrative ruling.  Thus, Rule 6(e) does not apply because under section 63-46b-

12(1)(a) of UAPA, the time for appeal runs from the issuance of an order not from the service of an order 

on a party.”  Like the statute at issue in (  X  ), the time to appeal runs from the issuance of an order under 

Utah Code Ann. §63G-4-302.   This is consistent with the Court of Appeals finding in Blauer v. 

Department of Workforce Services, 167 P.3d 1102, 1103 (2007).  In Blauer, the Court specifically found 

that the Career Service Review Board’s correctly denied a request for reconsideration on the ground that 

it was untimely when it was filed twenty-two days after the issuance of the final order.    

DECISION AND ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission denies the Respondent’s Request for Reconsideration.  

It is so ordered. 

DATED this _____ day of __________________, 2010. 

 

 

R. Bruce Johnson   Marc B. Johnson 

Commission Chair   Commissioner 

 

 

 

D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun 

Commissioner    Commissioner  

 

 

NOTICE:  You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order 

pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §§59-1-601 et seq. and 63G-4-403 et seq. 

 
JM/07-1374.rec 

 

 

                                                 
2
 Utah Code Ann. §63-46b-12(1)(a) has been renumbered as Utah Code Ann. §63G-4-301.   


