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Jan Marshall, Administrative Law Judge 
 

Appearances: 
For Petitioner: PETITIONER, Pro Se 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REP. 1, Assistant Attorney General  

                                 RESPONDENT REP. 2, from the Motor Vehicle Enforcement 
Division 
 

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Formal Hearing on 

January 10, 2008.  On December 10, 2007 the Commission issued an Order, in which it denied 

Petitioner’s request to receive a motor vehicle salesperson’s license because Petitioner was still 

on probation.  Based on the testimony and evidence presented at the Formal Hearing, the Tax 

Commission hereby makes its: 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1.  On November 14, 2007, the Petitioner submitted a Motor Vehicle Salesperson 

Application (“application”) with the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division (“Division”).   
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2.  Question number three of the application asks, “During the past 10 years, have you 

been convicted of any misdemeanors or felonies in Utah or any other state?”  Petitioner checked 

the “Yes” box, and in the space provided, wrote the following: 

Possession of a controlled substance 
Sexual exploitation of a minor (non-violent not involving young 
children) Involved NO contact with another person 
 

3.  Based on the Petitioner’s convictions listed on the application the Division denied 

Petitioner a motor vehicle salesperson license in a letter dated November 14, 2007.   

4.  Petitioner’s Utah Criminal History Report, dated November 27, 2007, verified the 

convictions listed by Petitioner, and did not show any other convictions.  

5.  The sexual exploitation of a minor conviction referred to on Petitioner’s application 

relates to a 2004 second-degree felony committed when Petitioner was 18-years old.  At the 

Initial Hearing, Petitioner explained that he was arrested after a 17 year-old girl with whom he 

had been having sex for several years told her ECCLESIASTICAL LEADER of their 

relationship.  Petitioner had sexually explicit photographs of the 17-year old girl on his computer, 

and indicated that he had had the photographs on his computer since he, too, was 17-years old.   

6.  The Petitioner submitted a Memorandum, dated December 21, 2007, from his 

probation officer, PROBATION OFFICER, which states, “PETITIONER has successfully 

completed his supervised probation for the 4th District Court in CITY.  He has complied with all 

terms and conditions including the required treatment program.  He has shown that he can be a 

productive member of the community.”  

7.  Petitioner also submitted a Progress/Violation Report from Adult Probation and 

Parole, dated December 19, 2007, which recommended that Petitioner be successfully terminated 

from supervised probation.  The termination was Approved and Ordered by the Fourth District 

Court of Wasatch County on December 21, 2007.  

8.  The possession of a controlled substance conviction referred to on Petitioner’s 

application relates to a 2005 misdemeanor charge for possession of marijuana/paraphernalia.  At 

the formal hearing, Petitioner testified that he underwent drug testing for two years as a condition 

of his probation.  

9.  The Petitioner submitted a “Ruling on Probation”, dated May 31, 2007, from the 4th 

District Court in Orem City that indicates that Petitioner successfully completed the “Prime for 

Life” course and probation through ARGUS.   

10.  Petitioner’s employer, DEALERSHIP, is aware of Petitioner’s criminal history as it 

was disclosed on Petitioner’s application and the employer is required to sign the application.   
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11.  For the division, RESPONDENT REP. 2 testified at the Formal Hearing that the 

Petitioner’s application was denied because Petitioner has been convicted of crimes involving a 

registerable sex offense under Utah Code Ann. §77-27-21.5 and a violation of a state or federal 

law involving a controlled substance.  The Division submitted verification that the Petitioner was 

in fact registered.  Further, RESPONDENT REP. 2 stated that the Division objects to the issuance 

of a license based on the relevant statutory authority; but acknowledges that the Commission has 

discretion in this matter. 

APPLICABLE LAW 

The denial, suspension, or revocation of a salesperson license is governed by Utah Code 

Ann. §41-3-209(2), as follows: 

(a) If the administrator finds that there is reasonable cause to 
deny, suspend, or revoke a license issued under this chapter, 
the administrator shall deny, suspend, or revoke the license. 

 
(b) Reasonable cause for denial, suspension, or revocation   

of a license includes, in relation to the applicant or license 
holder or any of its partners, officers, or directors: 
 

(viii)  a violation of any state or federal law involving 
controlled substances; 

 
(xi) a violation of any state or federal law   

involving a registerable sex offense under 
Section 77-27-21.5. 

 
Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209(2) (2007). 

 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

The Commission finds that the Division had reasonable cause to deny the Petitioner a 

motor vehicle salesperson license.  Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209(2)(b)(vi) provides that both a 

violation of a state or federal law involving a registerable sex offense and a violation of state law 

involving a controlled substance are reasonable cause to deny a license.  Petitioner has been 

convicted of second-degree felony for the sexual exploitation of a minor, a registerable sex 

offense; and a misdemeanor possession of a controlled substance/paraphernalia.   

Although the Division had reasonable cause to suspend the Petitioner’s license, the 

Commission may consider other factors, such as the passage of time since the most recent 

conviction, the payment of restitution, and termination of probation or parole.  It has been 

approximately two and one-half years since Petitioner’s most recent conviction.  In the past, the 

Commission has consistently used clearing parole or probation as a general guideline to allow 

salesperson licenses to individuals who are no longer on parole or probation.   
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Although Petitioner has been released from probation for both convictions, he remains on 

the sex offender registry.  The undersigned Commissioners are not aware of anything in the 

statute, or Commission policy that requires a person to be removed from the sex offender registry 

before being allowed to sell cars.  Further, in the past, the Commission has granted a salesperson 

license to other applicants on the Utah Sex Offender Registry.   

DECISION AND ORDER1 

Based on the foregoing the Commission abates the Division’s action and grants the 

Petitioner his motor vehicle salesperson license.  It is so ordered.   

DATED this _____ day of ____________________, 2008. 

 

              ___________________________ 
              Jan Marshall 
              Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this _____ day of ____________________, 2008.    
 
 
 
R. Bruce Johnson   Marc B. Johnson 
Commissioner   Commissioner 
 
Notice of Appeal Rights:  You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request 
for Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §63-
46b-13.  A Request for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of 
law or fact.  If you do not file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order 
constitutes final agency action.  You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue 
judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-601 and §63-46b-13 et. 
seq. 
 
JM/07-1362.fof 
 
 
 
 

                                                 
1 In the instance of a tie vote between the Commissioners, the decision is deemed to be in favor of the 
Petitioner.  See Utah Code Ann. §59-1-205. 
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DISSENT 

 We respectfully dissent from our colleagues.  In making its decision in this matter the Tax 

Commission must apply the law, which has been adopted by the legislature.  The applicable 

statute, Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209(2)(xi), makes it clear that Petitioner’s offense is cause for 

denial of the license.  The legislature has not given the Commission authority to consider 

mitigating factors and certainly the Commission does to have jurisdiction to review or reconsider 

the court’s decision that placed Petitioner on the registry in the first place.  The undersigned 

Commissioners conclude that Respondent’s interpretation of the statute is correct. It is our 

position that as long as Petitioner remains on the Utah Sex Offender Registry, Respondent should 

deny issuance of a salesperson license.   

 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 


