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Appeal No. 07-1314 
 
Tax Type:  Salesperson License 
Tax Year:  2007 
 
Judge:  Marshall  
 

 
Presiding: 

Jan Marshall, Administrative Law Judge 
 

Appearances: 
For Petitioner: PETITIONER, Pro Se 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE,  Motor Vehicle Enforcement 

Division 
 

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 
 
 This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for Formal Hearing on January 

29, 2008.  Petitioner is appealing the Commission’s Order from the Initial Hearing is this matter 

revoking his salesperson license to sell motor vehicles.  Based on the testimony and evidence 

presented at the Formal Hearing, the Tax Commission hereby makes its: 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. On June 26, 1007, the Petitioner submitted a Motor Vehicle Salesperson Application 

(“application”) to the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division (“MVED”).   

2. Question number three of the application asks, “During the past 10 years, have you been 

convicted of any misdemeanors or felonies in Utah or any other state?”  Petitioner 

checked the box indicating “Yes,” and in the space provided, wrote the following: 

Federal Indictment, Possession Of A Restricted Firearm 
 

3. Petitioner was granted a salesperson license, and began working for COMPANY.   

4. Petitioner’s Utah Criminal History Report, dated September 6, 2007, was subsequently 

obtained and showed the following convictions within the last 10 years:  
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DATE  CONVICTION 

9/16/97  Criminal Mischief 

3/9/98  Possession of Marijuana 

4/22/98  Receiving Stolen Vehicle 

4/22/98  Theft by Receiving Stolen Property 

4/22/98  Use or Possession of Drug Paraphernalia 

4/22/98  Illegal Possession/Use of Controlled Substance 

2/18/00 Dangerous Drugs – Solicitation with Intent To Have Another 
Commit Offense    

12/3/01 Fraud – Unlawful Acquisition/Possession/Transfer  

12/3/01 Fraud – Falsely Make/Code/Sign Financial Trans 

2/12/07 Illegal Possession/Use of Controlled Substance 

5. Based on the number and nature of the convictions, and on Petitioner’s failure to disclose 

his criminal history on the application, MVED issued a letter dated October 16, 2007 

suspending Petitioner’s salesperson license.    

6. At the Formal Hearing, Petitioner testified that he did not intentionally mislead MVED 

by failing to disclose his criminal history.  Petitioner stated that he was unsure of the 

dates of the convictions because they occurred several years ago.  Further, he testified 

that he believed that because he listed what he considered to be his most severe 

conviction and provided a copy of his fingerprints with his application, that would be 

sufficient for the Division to determine his criminal history. 

7.  Petitioner’s employer is aware of Petitioner’s criminal past, and previously submitted a 

letter on Petitioner’s behalf that states that Petitioner “is by far one of the finest 

employees we have experienced in our work place…[and] is by far the best employee we 

could have.” 

8. Petitioner remains on probation for the 2007 Illegal Possession/Use of a Controlled 

Substance conviction. Petitioner testified that the conviction stems from a controlled 

substance belonging to another person being found in his vehicle.  Further, Petitioner 

stated that he has paid all fines, complied with all other terms of his probation, and 

anticipates being released from probation within the next month.  Petitioner did not 

provide any documentation from his probation officer to verify these assertions. 

9. For the division, RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE testified that the Division is 

required by Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209 to suspend Petitioner’s license because within the 

past 10 years, Petitioner has been convicted of crimes involving fraud, receiving a stolen 
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vehicle, and controlled substances.  In addition, he failed to disclose his criminal history 

on the application.  It is the Division’s position that Petitioner’s license should either be 

revoked or the suspension upheld.   

APPLICABLE LAW 

 The denial, suspension, and revocation of a salesperson license are governed by Utah 

Code Ann. §41-3-209 as follows: 

(1) If the administrator finds that an applicant is not qualified to 
receive a license, a license may not be granted. 

 
(2) (a)  If the administrator finds that there is reasonable cause 

to deny, suspend, or revoke a license issued under this 
chapter, the administrator shall deny, suspend, or revoke 
the license.   

 
(b) Reasonable cause for denial, suspension, or revocation 

of a license includes, in relation to the applicant or 
license holder or any of its partners, officers, or 
directors: 

 
(vi) making a false statement on any application for 

a license   
             under this chapter or for special license plates; 
(vii) a violation of any state or federal law involving 

motor vehicles; 
(viii) a violation of any state or federal law involving 

controlled substances; 
(x) a violation of any state or federal law involving 
fraud… 
 

Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209 (2007).   
  

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

 The Commission finds that the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division had reasonable 

cause to suspend Petitioner’s salesperson license.  Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209 mandates that a 

license “shall” be denied, revoked, or suspended for “reasonable cause” and provides that making 

a false statement on the application, a violation of state or federal law involving motor vehicles, a 

violation of state or federal law involving controlled substances, and a violation of state or federal 

law involving fraud all constitute “reasonable cause.” Petitioner has been convicted of a crime 

involving a motor vehicle, crimes involving controlled substances, and crimes involving fraud.  In 

addition, Petitioner failed to disclose his criminal history on his application.   
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DISCUSSION 

Although the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division had reasonable cause to suspend 

Petitioner’s salesperson license, the Commission may consider other factors, such as the passage 

of time since the most recent conviction, the payment of restitution, and the release from 

probation or parole.   In the past the Commission has consistently used clearing probation or 

parole as a general guideline to allow salesperson licenses to individuals who have been 

convicted of the crimes set forth in Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209.  Petitioner remains on probation 

for his February 2007 conviction involving a controlled substance.  Further, it is the 

Commission’s position that an applicant is required to disclose all felonies and misdemeanors for 

which the applicant was convicted within the past 10 years.  The Commission finds the Petitioner 

intentionally misrepresented his criminal history on his application, which facilitated the Division 

issuing a license to him when it may not have done so had the convictions been disclosed.   

DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing the Commission revokes the Petitioner’s salesperson license.  

Once Petitioner is released from probation, he may reapply for a salesperson license.  The 

Commission will then make a determination based on the facts and circumstances that exist at 

that time.  It is so ordered.   

 DATED this __________ day of ______________________, 2008. 

 
______________________________ 
Jan Marshall 
Administrative Law Judge 

 
 
BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _________________________, 2008. 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
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Notice of Appeal Rights:  You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request 
for Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §63-
46b-13.  A Request for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of 
law or fact.  If you do not file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order 
constitutes final agency action.  You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue 
judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-601 and §63-46b-13 et. 
seq. 
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