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BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
PETITIONER, 
 
 Petitioner, 
 
v. 
 
TAXPAYER SERVICES DIVISION OF THE 
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION,  
 
 Respondent.  
 

 
 
ORDER  

 
Appeal No.    07-0876 
 
Account No.  ##### 
Tax Type:      Sales Tax Penalty 
Tax Period:    1/07-3/07   
 
 
Judge:  Phan  
 

 
  
Presiding: 

Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge 
 

Appearances: 
For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1,  Supervisor Waiver Unit 
                                  RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, Tax Compliance Agent 
  

 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the provisions of 

Utah Code Sec. 59-1-502.5 on September 25, 2007.  Petitioner is appealing the penalty assessed for the late 

payment of sales tax for the first quarter of 2007.   The amount of the penalty was $$$$$ based on 10% of the 

tax due pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 59-1-401.      

 APPLICABLE LAW 

 The penalty for failure to pay tax due shall be the greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax for 

(a) failure to pay any tax, as reported on a timely filed return; (b) failure to pay any tax within 90 days of the 

due date of the return, if there was a late filed return subject to the penalty provided under Subsection (1)(a).  

Utah Code Sec. 59-1-401(2). 
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Interest on any underpayment, deficiency, or delinquency of any tax or fee administered by the 

commission shall be computed from the time the original return is due, excluding any filing or payment 

extensions, to the date the payment is received. Utah Code Sec. 59-1-402 (5). 

Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable cause shown the commission may 

waive, reduce or compromise any of the penalties or interest imposed under this part. Utah Code Sec. 59-1-

401(11). 

 DISCUSSION 

 Petitioner’s representative acknowledged that he had been late for periods prior to the one at 

issue in this matter for various reasons.  However, in this instance he felt the late payment was not his fault, but 

had been due to an error on the part of the employee he had hired to perform the accounts payable functions.  

Petitioner’s representative indicated that he had written and signed the check and this employee should have 

mailed it with the return.  However, it never was mailed.  Months later he found the unmailed return and the 

check for payment at the bottom of one of the stacks of papers in the employee’s office.   

Respondent’s representatives indicated this had been the thirteenth error on this account in the 

past seven years.  Based on this poor compliance history, Respondent had denied waiver of the penalty.   Seven 

of the errors had occurred in the three years immediately prior to the period at issue.  Respondent’s 

representatives also pointed out that the return itself had been filed by the due date.  It was the payment that 

was late.  

Interest is assessed when taxes are not paid or underpaid to compensate the state for the time 

value of money.  Interest is generally waived only in the event the Tax Commission, or Tax Commission 

employee error gave rise to the late payment or underpayment.  There was no basis presented for waiver of 

interest. 
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DECISION AND ORDER 

The fact that the prior delinquencies were due to error on the part of the principal owner of the 

business, while the newest delinquency was on the part of the employee hired to perform the accounts payable 

functions, although understandably frustrating to the principal owner, is not cause for waiver of the penalty 

considering the extensive history of the late filling and late payment for the business as a whole.   

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission finds that sufficient cause has not been shown to 

justify a waiver of the penalty or interest associated with Petitioner’s sales tax filing for the first quarter of 

2007.  It is so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and 

Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written 

request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall 

be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this __________ day of ______________________, 2007. 

 
____________________________________ 
Jane Phan 
Administrative Law Judge 
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BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _________________________, 2007. 

 

Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
 
NOTICE: Failure to pay the balance due as a result of this order within thirty days from the date hereon, unless 
a party requests a Formal Hearing within this period, may result in an additional penalty.  
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